$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Oceanfront Viking Motel

2 stars
1811 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
54 reviews
32nd Birthday Trip

Based on the price, pleasantly surprised how large the room was and excited it had a large... See full review

  • Josh Birthday Boy
  • Jun 28, 2014
I was somewhat leary of the great price

we arrived late and Had requested easy access to the room as my husband is disabled. this hotel... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 6, 2011
All the comforts of home great value rates awesome golf and entertainment packages and variety of accommodations are just part of a picture perfect vacation at the Oceanfront Viking Motel. We are OCEANFRONT and centrally located to all activities anyone could want while in Myrtle Beach. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Oceanfront Viking Motel Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront 2 Room Unit - Oceanfront 2 room unit with 3 queen beds full kitchen 2 TVs and a private balcony.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview 2 Room Unit - Sideview 2 room unit with 3 double beds and a kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Microwave
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceanfront Viking Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6717 -78.9034
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 2.10, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.7 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.9 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Oceanfront Viking Motel

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 54
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.4

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh Birthday Boy
Greensboro, NC
Jun 28, 2014

32nd Birthday Trip

Based on the price, pleasantly surprised how large the room was and excited it had a large kitchenette with a medium size refrigerator. I will definitely stay at the Oceanfront Viking Motel on future trips to Myrtle Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

BROADWAY AT THE BEACH!

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
columbia, south carolina
May 10, 2009

I guess you get what you pay for

Had a great time on the strip and shopping in the myrtle beach area. The hotel's in a decent location but it seems it's got the same furniture since about 1970. It's a decent hotel but it would have been nice to have better quality of ... just about everything. Even as simple as putting a fitted sheet on a bed it looks nicer and makes the customer feel like you care. Also they have a lot of hidden fees. For instance if you are under 25 be prepared in advanced to pay IN CASH ONLY a fifty dollar fee per person under 25 you can only get it back upon check out between 8am and 11am after your room has been checked. Also only get one key if you can help it, they're 25 dollars if lost (so is your parking pass) and if you plan on having guests make sure there's somewhere available about a block down their car will get towed if it doesn't have the decal and there's limited parking in front of the hotel, there's additional parking across the street but....you won't be able to see your vehicle at all from the hotel. and although its on the beach, most of the rooms face the center rather than actually (beach front) but you can still see the beach from pretty much all the rooms. decent hotel but...i wish i had gone ahead and paid a little more and stayed somewhere a bit nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Along the strip there are many places that do henna tattoos. Make sure the person giving you the tattoo gives you A COMPLETE ESTIMATE PLUS TAX PLUS WAX PLUS INK TYPE PLUS DESIGN. I had a rough time trying to get my money back when a 15 dollar henna ended up being about 32 dollars. make sure you're clear on what you're getting costs and that you and the salesperson are on the same page.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Abigol Mestre
Rockville, Maryland
Sep 8, 2009

Good Experience

Had a good experience with this hotel. Room lacked style and better smell. However since i was just looking for a place to sleep that was very near the ocean , tis place was perfect. The staff was nice, and had no problem with staying there for two night. Price was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
columbia, south carolina
May 10, 2009

I guess you get what you pay for

Had a great time on the strip and shopping in the myrtle beach area. The hotel's in a decent location but it seems it's got the same furniture since about 1970. It's a decent hotel but it would have been nice to have better quality of ... just about everything. Even as simple as putting a fitted sheet on a bed it looks nicer and makes the customer feel like you care. Also they have a lot of hidden fees. For instance if you are under 25 be prepared in advanced to pay IN CASH ONLY a fifty dollar fee per person under 25 you can only get it back upon check out between 8am and 11am after your room has been checked. Also only get one key if you can help it, they're 25 dollars if lost (so is your parking pass) and if you plan on having guests make sure there's somewhere available about a block down their car will get towed if it doesn't have the decal and there's limited parking in front of the hotel, there's additional parking across the street but....you won't be able to see your vehicle at all from the hotel. and although its on the beach, most of the rooms face the center rather than actually (beach front) but you can still see the beach from pretty much all the rooms. decent hotel but...i wish i had gone ahead and paid a little more and stayed somewhere a bit nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Along the strip there are many places that do henna tattoos. Make sure the person giving you the tattoo gives you A COMPLETE ESTIMATE PLUS TAX PLUS WAX PLUS INK TYPE PLUS DESIGN. I had a rough time trying to get my money back when a 15 dollar henna ended up being about 32 dollars. make sure you're clear on what you're getting costs and that you and the salesperson are on the same page.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Abigol Mestre
Rockville, Maryland
Sep 8, 2009

Good Experience

Had a good experience with this hotel. Room lacked style and better smell. However since i was just looking for a place to sleep that was very near the ocean , tis place was perfect. The staff was nice, and had no problem with staying there for two night. Price was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington, S.C.
Sep 6, 2009

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

When we arrived at the motel we were given a three hour delay before we were allowed to checkin. We had to go to a service station to change clothes. The hotel was offering on the marquis a $69 room rate for the same room I paid $92.01 a night for. They refused to talk to us about the difference in rates. I was charged a $20 key security fee which was not known. We were put in a smoking room and I had reservations for a non-smoking room. The desk told usa there were no non-smoking rooms. Since i have asthma and medical conditions that prevent me from resting in such a iscomfortable setting I was not able to sleep more than one hour interrrupted by breathing difficulties the first night. I asked for a refund and this was denied.I left early without spending the second night due to breathing difficulties inthis room. I called Orbitz on Sunday morning Sept 6, 2009 and was denied the rate change after the clerk told the Orbitz caller that rate changes had been made within the time of my stay. This representative also gathered information to support my early departure date but said he could not help me with my refund. I feel that Orbitz has failed in two areas (1) tpo reimburse me for the difference in rates of what other guests paid compared to what I paid and (2) failure to prvide me a non-smoking room as I requested and was promised in my reservation. I feel that Orbitz should seek a reduction from the $92.01 I paid down to $69 that other people paid and that I should be refunded the total $92.01 for my second night when I was not granted a room safe for my health.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 28, 2008

We were highly ...

We were highly disappointed in the dirt, bugs and hotel housekeeping staff. The only good feature was its right on the beach. it was our first time in Myrtle Beach and we learned a BIG lesson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington, S.C.
Sep 6, 2009

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

When we arrived at the motel we were given a three hour delay before we were allowed to checkin. We had to go to a service station to change clothes. The hotel was offering on the marquis a $69 room rate for the same room I paid $92.01 a night for. They refused to talk to us about the difference in rates. I was charged a $20 key security fee which was not known. We were put in a smoking room and I had reservations for a non-smoking room. The desk told usa there were no non-smoking rooms. Since i have asthma and medical conditions that prevent me from resting in such a iscomfortable setting I was not able to sleep more than one hour interrrupted by breathing difficulties the first night. I asked for a refund and this was denied.I left early without spending the second night due to breathing difficulties inthis room. I called Orbitz on Sunday morning Sept 6, 2009 and was denied the rate change after the clerk told the Orbitz caller that rate changes had been made within the time of my stay. This representative also gathered information to support my early departure date but said he could not help me with my refund. I feel that Orbitz has failed in two areas (1) tpo reimburse me for the difference in rates of what other guests paid compared to what I paid and (2) failure to prvide me a non-smoking room as I requested and was promised in my reservation. I feel that Orbitz should seek a reduction from the $92.01 I paid down to $69 that other people paid and that I should be refunded the total $92.01 for my second night when I was not granted a room safe for my health.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 28, 2008

We were highly ...

We were highly disappointed in the dirt, bugs and hotel housekeeping staff. The only good feature was its right on the beach. it was our first time in Myrtle Beach and we learned a BIG lesson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top