$40 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

Oceanfront Viking Motel

2 stars
1811 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
33 reviews
32nd Birthday Trip

Based on the price, pleasantly surprised how large the room was and excited it had a large... See full review

  • Josh Birthday Boy
  • Jun 28, 2014
I was somewhat leary of the great price

we arrived late and Had requested easy access to the room as my husband is disabled. this hotel... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 6, 2011
All the comforts of home great value rates awesome golf and entertainment packages and variety of accommodations are just part of a picture perfect vacation at the Oceanfront Viking Motel. We are OCEANFRONT and centrally located to all activities anyone could want while in Myrtle Beach. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Hotel Map

33.6717 -78.9034
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 2.10, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceanfront Viking Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Oceanfront Viking Motel Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront 2 Room Unit - Oceanfront 2 room unit with 3 queen beds full kitchen 2 TVs and a private balcony.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview 2 Room Unit - Sideview 2 room unit with 3 double beds and a kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Microwave
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.7 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.9 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Oceanfront Viking Motel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 33
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4
Value:
2.8

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rockingham n c
Mar 6, 2011

I was somewhat leary of the great price

we arrived late and Had requested easy access to the room as my husband is disabled. this hotel went way beyond all expections to make it easy for my husband to get to our room. rge room was all it was stated to be and more. the staff could not have been better to deal with and the room wax spotless clean. easy access to the beach, I know we will use this hotel again and again for our trips to myrtle beach. i highly suggest to anyone traveling to myrtle to stay at this hotel for a great beach visit. [...]thank you viking motel [...] for a wonderful weekend for our grandsons birthday trip, it was simply perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Julian
Jan 2, 2009

Family vacation

This was a nice motel that looked recently refurbished. The rooms were a nice relaxing color. Even though it was winter, it was great to relax walking on the beach. There are lots of restaurants around in walking distance and lots of great stuff for the kids to do. It was right on the beach and had an oceanview room. We had a relaxing and comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2007

No problem to stay for a couple of days.

Location is great. Staff was very attentive and willing to solve your requests. There was only one thing that we didn't like. All rooms are smoking. They explained that all their rooms were in fact smoking and they advertized it as non-smoking just because they deodorized them after each guest. It didn't remove the stench though. That was OK for me and my children but my wife denied to repeat that experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2008

family friendly

Oceanfront Viking hotel was a nice place on the waterway. We checked in on 8-21-08. We were happy with the size of the room. However, be forewarned you must bring your own alarm clock. It was fairly conveinant for all the things we wanted to do. Our only downfall was that we could not go on the Dolphin Cruise due to weather. We had a nice family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cumming, GA
Jul 24, 2008

My review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

the viking was very clean and the walk to the beach was very short. great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

we enjoy the nigt life at myrtle beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Dec 30, 2007

CHEAP

You get what you pay for.. You get a bed a/c tv. It by the ocean.. I wouldn't recommand it if you had kids.. Washer/dryer older I am.. RUST DIRT.. The hall ways stink of smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

1 - 2 miles away dennys. No close dining around.. WITHOUT a car it hopeless. Taxis over price they take you around town.. 1 mile from airport cost 15$.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smith Mom
Business
Greensboro, Indiana
May 4, 2009

you get what you pay for

It had an awesome view. It was an old hotel. Friendly staff. clean room. very quiet and peaceful for our first family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stjfbb dad
Business
western ny
May 19, 2014

beach and baseball

overall location good but poor parking, staff not overly friendly or attentive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tone K.
Business
OHIO
Jul 23, 2013

Ok for the price.

We just got back from a 4 night stay in the Viking Motel on July 23rd in Myrtle Beach, SC.The motel room was suprisingly clean with two queen size beds and a dining table for 3 people. The bed was comfortable with no signs of bed buds or other critters in the room. The room did not have a microwave oven, hairdryer or iron which are a few amenities I was used too. The oven was very slow in heating up food but overall the room was nice and the AC was cold as ice. The room service was ok as well. Now the outside of the motel was real the issue. It's right on the beach front which is nice but, parking is very limited and additional parking is across the street from the motel. The outside looks like a run down building and the pool is very small. I guess because of the cheap price it was so popular which attracted all kinds of people. The people in the Best Western Hotel right next door called the Viking Motel the Ghetto. I couldn't agree with them more due to the appearance. For the money the room was nice but for nicer hotel I will pay extra next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
June Traveler
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 4, 2010

Awesome location, Money's Worth Motel

Motel is in the perfect location, walked to the beach from our room, close to amusement park and restaurants. However, the manager of the Best Western Grand Stand next door was our first experience with people in South Carolina. We checked in with the not so friendly clerk at the Viking to face this guy. Apparently half ot the parking lot at the Viking belongs to the snooty Best Western Grand Stand. We had no where to park to unload our luggage, so we parked in one of the spaces marked for guest of the Best Western. The manager/owner whatever he was drives up in his Lexus SUV with his walkie talkie telling us we need to move, I explained we were only unloading our stuff and then we would move. He was very gruff, saying park parallel behind the cars over there. There was no one parked in any of his spaces, so I didn't see the big deal. It took us 5 minutes to put our things in our room and we were off to explore South Carolina. Our room was not fancy. Appliances are older, air conditioning was an air conditioner in the wall and there was black (i am asuming mold) in the white caulking around tub. We felt like the room was sufficient for what we needed. We were only in the room to shower and sleep, so it was a great price for what we got. It has to be hard to keep something clean that close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food at the Plantation Pancake House was wonderful, was not expensive and service was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top