$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Oceanfront Viking Motel

2 stars
View map of 1811 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceanfront Viking Motel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
June Traveler
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 4, 2010

Awesome location, Money's Worth Motel

Motel is in the perfect location, walked to the beach from our room, close to amusement park and restaurants. However, the manager of the Best Western Grand Stand next door was our first experience with people in South Carolina. We checked in with the not so friendly clerk at the Viking to face this guy. Apparently half ot the parking lot at the Viking belongs to the snooty Best Western Grand Stand. We had no where to park to unload our luggage, so we parked in one of the spaces marked for guest of the Best Western. The manager/owner whatever he was drives up in his Lexus SUV with his walkie talkie telling us we need to move, I explained we were only unloading our stuff and then we would move. He was very gruff, saying park parallel behind the cars over there. There was no one parked in any of his spaces, so I didn't see the big deal. It took us 5 minutes to put our things in our room and we were off to explore South Carolina. Our room was not fancy. Appliances are older, air conditioning was an air conditioner in the wall and there was black (i am asuming mold) in the white caulking around tub. We felt like the room was sufficient for what we needed. We were only in the room to shower and sleep, so it was a great price for what we got. It has to be hard to keep something clean that close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food at the Plantation Pancake House was wonderful, was not expensive and service was good.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbia, south carolina
May 10, 2009

I guess you get what you pay for

Had a great time on the strip and shopping in the myrtle beach area. The hotel's in a decent location but it seems it's got the same furniture since about 1970. It's a decent hotel but it would have been nice to have better quality of ... just about everything. Even as simple as putting a fitted sheet on a bed it looks nicer and makes the customer feel like you care. Also they have a lot of hidden fees. For instance if you are under 25 be prepared in advanced to pay IN CASH ONLY a fifty dollar fee per person under 25 you can only get it back upon check out between 8am and 11am after your room has been checked. Also only get one key if you can help it, they're 25 dollars if lost (so is your parking pass) and if you plan on having guests make sure there's somewhere available about a block down their car will get towed if it doesn't have the decal and there's limited parking in front of the hotel, there's additional parking across the street but....you won't be able to see your vehicle at all from the hotel. and although its on the beach, most of the rooms face the center rather than actually (beach front) but you can still see the beach from pretty much all the rooms. decent hotel but...i wish i had gone ahead and paid a little more and stayed somewhere a bit nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Along the strip there are many places that do henna tattoos. Make sure the person giving you the tattoo gives you A COMPLETE ESTIMATE PLUS TAX PLUS WAX PLUS INK TYPE PLUS DESIGN. I had a rough time trying to get my money back when a 15 dollar henna ended up being about 32 dollars. make sure you're clear on what you're getting costs and that you and the salesperson are on the same page.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bloomin' gardens
Business
lockport,ny
May 1, 2009

u get what u pay for

Clean room, poor water pressure, scratchy towels. Whens the last time the exterior was painted?(old photos)and landscape? Good housekeeping doesn't end at the doorway, it starts at the curb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Abigol Mestre
Business
Rockville, Maryland
Sep 8, 2009

Good Experience

Had a good experience with this hotel. Room lacked style and better smell. However since i was just looking for a place to sleep that was very near the ocean , tis place was perfect. The staff was nice, and had no problem with staying there for two night. Price was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moolie
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Bas

Nothing like how pictures look. Could have been a whole lot better. Will not go bk ever again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jim Bob from VA
Business
Wise, VA
Mar 31, 2014

Hidden charges

When I got to the hotel I was charged $28 more than what I had already paid and a $50 security deposit. When you sign the sheet for your security deposit it says you can get it back between 8-11am on the day of checkout.WRONG! I had to wait until 20 minutes after 10 for an "inspector" that never showed up and the girl at the counter wouldn't check the room herself. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The tv is spotty at best, there's no wifi, a side-view room actually means no view, and the bathroom and kitchen are very out-dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JohnSeeing theUSA
Business
Erie, Pennsylvania
Aug 20, 2009

Oceanfront Viking Motel

First you must know that when I reserved the room on the phone I specificly noted that I would not arrive until after 11pm on 8/18/09. When we arrived at 11:15pm to check into the motel the lobby was closed and dark I went into the building to see if there was anyone to check us in. No one was around and lobby was locked It is difficult to rate a motel when the lobby is closed and no one is there to honor your reservation.So we ended up paying for a room we did not get. They had my cell number and could and should have called to see when our estimated arrival time would be and informing us where to go if the check in office and lobby were closed. What kind of motel closes it lobby/check in at night???????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beckley, WV
Mar 17, 2010

A bunch of thieves

These people are thieves.. total thieves.. stay miles away from this one.. if you see viking just turn back and leave... same for the Polynesian hotel... unfriendly and rude staff.. dirty room, dirty restroom, there were some bugs in my room i think.. it was horrible... its not even worth 39 buck.. trust me pay 10$ more and u can stay in super 8 or days inn or something... if i was the manager id price it 10$ per night.... or less... worst vacation of my life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

just don't stay here

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super bee
Business
mo.
May 22, 2012

north carolina getaway

The hotel was very old. The stove was rusty and burners bent out of shape. Beds were old and bos springs had holes in material. Bathtub was cracked. The door looked like it had been broken into. Very bad place. I would never go there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean was within walking distance.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VETTEDAD
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Aug 7, 2011

"Stay Away"

This has to be the WORST Hotel that I have ever seen. The elevator didn't work, the room was FILTHY, even the walls were smeared with something that looked like feces. The floors were NASTY. I would definitely NOT recommend anyone to stay at this place EVER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

GO TO THE ORIGINAL BENJAMINS ON 17 BUSINESS, THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST TIME OF MY ENTIRE TRIP TO MYRTLE BEACH SC!

Back to menu Return to top