$30 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Oceanfront Viking Motel

2 stars
View map of 1811 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceanfront Viking Motel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
3

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bloomin' gardens
Business
lockport,ny
May 1, 2009

u get what u pay for

Clean room, poor water pressure, scratchy towels. Whens the last time the exterior was painted?(old photos)and landscape? Good housekeeping doesn't end at the doorway, it starts at the curb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Abigol Mestre
Business
Rockville, Maryland
Sep 8, 2009

Good Experience

Had a good experience with this hotel. Room lacked style and better smell. However since i was just looking for a place to sleep that was very near the ocean , tis place was perfect. The staff was nice, and had no problem with staying there for two night. Price was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moolie
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Bas

Nothing like how pictures look. Could have been a whole lot better. Will not go bk ever again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jim Bob from VA
Business
Wise, VA
Mar 31, 2014

Hidden charges

When I got to the hotel I was charged $28 more than what I had already paid and a $50 security deposit. When you sign the sheet for your security deposit it says you can get it back between 8-11am on the day of checkout.WRONG! I had to wait until 20 minutes after 10 for an "inspector" that never showed up and the girl at the counter wouldn't check the room herself. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The tv is spotty at best, there's no wifi, a side-view room actually means no view, and the bathroom and kitchen are very out-dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JohnSeeing theUSA
Business
Erie, Pennsylvania
Aug 20, 2009

Oceanfront Viking Motel

First you must know that when I reserved the room on the phone I specificly noted that I would not arrive until after 11pm on 8/18/09. When we arrived at 11:15pm to check into the motel the lobby was closed and dark I went into the building to see if there was anyone to check us in. No one was around and lobby was locked It is difficult to rate a motel when the lobby is closed and no one is there to honor your reservation.So we ended up paying for a room we did not get. They had my cell number and could and should have called to see when our estimated arrival time would be and informing us where to go if the check in office and lobby were closed. What kind of motel closes it lobby/check in at night???????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beckley, WV
Mar 17, 2010

A bunch of thieves

These people are thieves.. total thieves.. stay miles away from this one.. if you see viking just turn back and leave... same for the Polynesian hotel... unfriendly and rude staff.. dirty room, dirty restroom, there were some bugs in my room i think.. it was horrible... its not even worth 39 buck.. trust me pay 10$ more and u can stay in super 8 or days inn or something... if i was the manager id price it 10$ per night.... or less... worst vacation of my life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

just don't stay here

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super bee
Business
mo.
May 22, 2012

north carolina getaway

The hotel was very old. The stove was rusty and burners bent out of shape. Beds were old and bos springs had holes in material. Bathtub was cracked. The door looked like it had been broken into. Very bad place. I would never go there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean was within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VETTEDAD
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Aug 7, 2011

"Stay Away"

This has to be the WORST Hotel that I have ever seen. The elevator didn't work, the room was FILTHY, even the walls were smeared with something that looked like feces. The floors were NASTY. I would definitely NOT recommend anyone to stay at this place EVER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

GO TO THE ORIGINAL BENJAMINS ON 17 BUSINESS, THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST TIME OF MY ENTIRE TRIP TO MYRTLE BEACH SC!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kent, Ohio
Apr 22, 2009

I wouldn't let my dog stay here!!!!!!!!

The hint was the sign behind the desk that said no refunds. The elevator ride to the 5th floor was like skydiving. We took it once then walked the steps. The room was awful it had sticky carpeting, and was smelly and dingy. I will sleep in my car the next time. We kept the door open to help with the smell. I tried not to touch anything. I had to tell my children that we would be out of the room as soon as the sun came up. What a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, S.C.
Sep 6, 2009

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

When we arrived at the motel we were given a three hour delay before we were allowed to checkin. We had to go to a service station to change clothes. The hotel was offering on the marquis a $69 room rate for the same room I paid $92.01 a night for. They refused to talk to us about the difference in rates. I was charged a $20 key security fee which was not known. We were put in a smoking room and I had reservations for a non-smoking room. The desk told usa there were no non-smoking rooms. Since i have asthma and medical conditions that prevent me from resting in such a iscomfortable setting I was not able to sleep more than one hour interrrupted by breathing difficulties the first night. I asked for a refund and this was denied.I left early without spending the second night due to breathing difficulties inthis room. I called Orbitz on Sunday morning Sept 6, 2009 and was denied the rate change after the clerk told the Orbitz caller that rate changes had been made within the time of my stay. This representative also gathered information to support my early departure date but said he could not help me with my refund. I feel that Orbitz has failed in two areas (1) tpo reimburse me for the difference in rates of what other guests paid compared to what I paid and (2) failure to prvide me a non-smoking room as I requested and was promised in my reservation. I feel that Orbitz should seek a reduction from the $92.01 I paid down to $69 that other people paid and that I should be refunded the total $92.01 for my second night when I was not granted a room safe for my health.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top