$32 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Oceanfront Viking Motel

2 stars
View map of 1811 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
35 reviews
32nd Birthday Trip

Based on the price, pleasantly surprised how large the room was and excited it had a large... See full review

  • Josh Birthday Boy
  • Jun 28, 2014
I was somewhat leary of the great price

we arrived late and Had requested easy access to the room as my husband is disabled. this hotel... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 6, 2011
All the comforts of home great value rates awesome golf and entertainment packages and variety of accommodations are just part of a picture perfect vacation at the Oceanfront Viking Motel. We are OCEANFRONT and centrally located to all activities anyone could want while in Myrtle Beach. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceanfront Viking Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Oceanfront Viking Motel Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront 2 Room Unit - Oceanfront 2 room unit with 3 queen beds full kitchen 2 TVs and a private balcony.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview 2 Room Unit - Sideview 2 room unit with 3 double beds and a kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Microwave
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.7 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.9 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Oceanfront Viking Motel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
3

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Julian
Jan 2, 2009

Family vacation

This was a nice motel that looked recently refurbished. The rooms were a nice relaxing color. Even though it was winter, it was great to relax walking on the beach. There are lots of restaurants around in walking distance and lots of great stuff for the kids to do. It was right on the beach and had an oceanview room. We had a relaxing and comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 19, 2008

Good location

The Viking Motel is within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shops and is also right on the beach. Housekeeping was pleasant and my room was always clean and smelling fresh each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you just want a quick bite like a hot dog or ice cream, the Fat Man's Dream is just a block down the street. This place has picnic tables outdoors where you can enjoy the fresh air and a hotdog served on gold platter by two pleasant seniors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rockingham n c
Mar 6, 2011

I was somewhat leary of the great price

we arrived late and Had requested easy access to the room as my husband is disabled. this hotel went way beyond all expections to make it easy for my husband to get to our room. rge room was all it was stated to be and more. the staff could not have been better to deal with and the room wax spotless clean. easy access to the beach, I know we will use this hotel again and again for our trips to myrtle beach. i highly suggest to anyone traveling to myrtle to stay at this hotel for a great beach visit. [...]thank you viking motel [...] for a wonderful weekend for our grandsons birthday trip, it was simply perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Julian
Jan 2, 2009

Family vacation

This was a nice motel that looked recently refurbished. The rooms were a nice relaxing color. Even though it was winter, it was great to relax walking on the beach. There are lots of restaurants around in walking distance and lots of great stuff for the kids to do. It was right on the beach and had an oceanview room. We had a relaxing and comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 10, 2008

Very Friendly

The Viking was a comfortable and relaxing experience. the staff made you feel at home and the front desk person did everything she could do to help make my stay the best! the off season price was hard to beat anywhere and I will be back again very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

small amusement park within walking distance along with many shops and restaurants.. great experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 7, 2008

A deal for the money

We were very pleased to find an oceanfront efficiency for such a great price. It had a refrigerator, stove and sink and a coffee pot and toaster were supplied. Our sideview room still had a great view of the ocean and it overlooked the pool. It was a short walk to a restaurant. We also walked the beach to get to another restaurant at the nearest pier. The motel is older and needs to have the linoleum in the bathroom replaced, but it was clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It is a short drive to all types of restaurants. We drove to a seafood buffet at Seafare for which the motel had discount coupons and also ate at the Spring Garden Restaurant just a block from the hotel. We enjoyed lunch and shopping at Broadway at the Beach even though it is a few blocks north.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2007

No problem to stay for a couple of days.

Location is great. Staff was very attentive and willing to solve your requests. There was only one thing that we didn't like. All rooms are smoking. They explained that all their rooms were in fact smoking and they advertized it as non-smoking just because they deodorized them after each guest. It didn't remove the stench though. That was OK for me and my children but my wife denied to repeat that experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 16, 2007

Good value for the money.

A hotel on the ocean at Myrtle beach is nothing to sneeze at, but just like riding Grayhound, the fellow travelers left something to be desired. The walls were thin and the neighbors were loud. Hotel upkeep was not really what it should have been. We found a hair in the one double bed. Luckily we only needed one of the two. But again, for the budget traveler looking for a place to lay their head for the night in close proximity to all of the Myrtle Beach attractions, one really can't complain too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Public beach access is just off the hotel property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2008

family friendly

Oceanfront Viking hotel was a nice place on the waterway. We checked in on 8-21-08. We were happy with the size of the room. However, be forewarned you must bring your own alarm clock. It was fairly conveinant for all the things we wanted to do. Our only downfall was that we could not go on the Dolphin Cruise due to weather. We had a nice family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cumming, GA
Jul 24, 2008

My review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

the viking was very clean and the walk to the beach was very short. great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

we enjoy the nigt life at myrtle beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh Birthday Boy
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jun 28, 2014

32nd Birthday Trip

Based on the price, pleasantly surprised how large the room was and excited it had a large kitchenette with a medium size refrigerator. I will definitely stay at the Oceanfront Viking Motel on future trips to Myrtle Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

BROADWAY AT THE BEACH!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top