$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Oceanfront Viking Motel

2 stars
1811 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
54 reviews
32nd Birthday Trip

Based on the price, pleasantly surprised how large the room was and excited it had a large... See full review

  • Josh Birthday Boy
  • Jun 28, 2014
I was somewhat leary of the great price

we arrived late and Had requested easy access to the room as my husband is disabled. this hotel... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 6, 2011
All the comforts of home great value rates awesome golf and entertainment packages and variety of accommodations are just part of a picture perfect vacation at the Oceanfront Viking Motel. We are OCEANFRONT and centrally located to all activities anyone could want while in Myrtle Beach. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Oceanfront Viking Motel Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront 2 Room Unit - Oceanfront 2 room unit with 3 queen beds full kitchen 2 TVs and a private balcony.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview 2 Room Unit - Sideview 2 room unit with 3 double beds and a kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Microwave
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceanfront Viking Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6717 -78.9034
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 2.10, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.7 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.9 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Oceanfront Viking Motel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 54
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One day to make reservati
Virginia
Jun 9, 2014

Viking

It wasn't bad. Rooms are big enough, everything worked. Not a bad place if you're on a budget, want to be on the beach and aren't picky. It would've been nice to have an earlier check in time but there are plenty of places to kill some time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pop's Place bar

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
gainesville ga
Oct 30, 2009

not too bad

not a place for kids, but if your just looking for a cheap relaxing stay i would have to say, its not the worst place i've ever been in. it could definately use some updating, but you also get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
gainesville ga
Oct 30, 2009

not too bad

not a place for kids, but if your just looking for a cheap relaxing stay i would have to say, its not the worst place i've ever been in. it could definately use some updating, but you also get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Taunton, MA
May 22, 2008

Bugs in my room

Let me say I was disappointed from the start. There are no services (room service, gym etc) the pool was not at all private, and located in the parking lot, oh parking was very limited. Some spaces were available across the street , but no cross walk on a very busy street. Then on the second day came the bugs.... Gross looking bugs, I am not a ug expert, but I thought they were roaches of some kind. I told the front desk, no offer to move us, only they would spray. Well I doubt they did because they kept coming. There were so many I invested in my own can of raid and went so far as to spray every article of clothing and suitcase before we left. So okay, can't control bugs 100% in the area as it is warmer and tropical, but the floors were so dirty my feet were black by the end of the night. Just plain gross!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Taunton, MA
May 22, 2008

Bugs in my room

Let me say I was disappointed from the start. There are no services (room service, gym etc) the pool was not at all private, and located in the parking lot, oh parking was very limited. Some spaces were available across the street , but no cross walk on a very busy street. Then on the second day came the bugs.... Gross looking bugs, I am not a ug expert, but I thought they were roaches of some kind. I told the front desk, no offer to move us, only they would spray. Well I doubt they did because they kept coming. There were so many I invested in my own can of raid and went so far as to spray every article of clothing and suitcase before we left. So okay, can't control bugs 100% in the area as it is warmer and tropical, but the floors were so dirty my feet were black by the end of the night. Just plain gross!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 7, 2008

A deal for the money

We were very pleased to find an oceanfront efficiency for such a great price. It had a refrigerator, stove and sink and a coffee pot and toaster were supplied. Our sideview room still had a great view of the ocean and it overlooked the pool. It was a short walk to a restaurant. We also walked the beach to get to another restaurant at the nearest pier. The motel is older and needs to have the linoleum in the bathroom replaced, but it was clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It is a short drive to all types of restaurants. We drove to a seafood buffet at Seafare for which the motel had discount coupons and also ate at the Spring Garden Restaurant just a block from the hotel. We enjoyed lunch and shopping at Broadway at the Beach even though it is a few blocks north.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 7, 2008

A deal for the money

We were very pleased to find an oceanfront efficiency for such a great price. It had a refrigerator, stove and sink and a coffee pot and toaster were supplied. Our sideview room still had a great view of the ocean and it overlooked the pool. It was a short walk to a restaurant. We also walked the beach to get to another restaurant at the nearest pier. The motel is older and needs to have the linoleum in the bathroom replaced, but it was clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It is a short drive to all types of restaurants. We drove to a seafood buffet at Seafare for which the motel had discount coupons and also ate at the Spring Garden Restaurant just a block from the hotel. We enjoyed lunch and shopping at Broadway at the Beach even though it is a few blocks north.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 16, 2007

Good value for the money.

A hotel on the ocean at Myrtle beach is nothing to sneeze at, but just like riding Grayhound, the fellow travelers left something to be desired. The walls were thin and the neighbors were loud. Hotel upkeep was not really what it should have been. We found a hair in the one double bed. Luckily we only needed one of the two. But again, for the budget traveler looking for a place to lay their head for the night in close proximity to all of the Myrtle Beach attractions, one really can't complain too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Public beach access is just off the hotel property.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 16, 2007

Good value for the money.

A hotel on the ocean at Myrtle beach is nothing to sneeze at, but just like riding Grayhound, the fellow travelers left something to be desired. The walls were thin and the neighbors were loud. Hotel upkeep was not really what it should have been. We found a hair in the one double bed. Luckily we only needed one of the two. But again, for the budget traveler looking for a place to lay their head for the night in close proximity to all of the Myrtle Beach attractions, one really can't complain too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Public beach access is just off the hotel property.

Back to menu Return to top