$38 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Oceanfront Viking Motel

2 stars
1811 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
33 reviews
32nd Birthday Trip

Based on the price, pleasantly surprised how large the room was and excited it had a large... See full review

  • Josh Birthday Boy
  • Jun 28, 2014
I was somewhat leary of the great price

we arrived late and Had requested easy access to the room as my husband is disabled. this hotel... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 6, 2011
All the comforts of home great value rates awesome golf and entertainment packages and variety of accommodations are just part of a picture perfect vacation at the Oceanfront Viking Motel. We are OCEANFRONT and centrally located to all activities anyone could want while in Myrtle Beach. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceanfront Viking Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Oceanfront Viking Motel Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront 2 Room Unit - Oceanfront 2 room unit with 3 queen beds full kitchen 2 TVs and a private balcony.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview 2 Room Unit - Sideview 2 room unit with 3 double beds and a kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Microwave
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.7 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.9 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Oceanfront Viking Motel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4
Value:
3

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kent, Ohio
Apr 22, 2009

I wouldn't let my dog stay here!!!!!!!!

The hint was the sign behind the desk that said no refunds. The elevator ride to the 5th floor was like skydiving. We took it once then walked the steps. The room was awful it had sticky carpeting, and was smelly and dingy. I will sleep in my car the next time. We kept the door open to help with the smell. I tried not to touch anything. I had to tell my children that we would be out of the room as soon as the sun came up. What a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sayruh
Business
SC
Mar 17, 2009

Don't Stay Here!

To begin with, I guess you get what you pay for. I was very displeased with The Viking. When I first arrived, I learned that I had to be pay a $20 fee for my room keys which is completely rediculous. I've never had to pay a fee for room keys at any other hotel that I've stayed with. The room key fee was later replaced with a $50 fee because my younger brother was travelling with me. He's 19 and I'm 25...apparently I'm not adult enough to watch my brother. But, to be fair, they gave me the deposit back when we checked out. After all that, we had to do a room inventory check list to make sure we didn't get charged for damages that were already there. That's cool. But, the room was not really the cleanest room that I've seen and it smelled smoky and old. But, to top it off there was blood on one of my pillows. Then, all night long, we had people outside of our door fighting. At 3:00 am, I heard people downstairs being loud. I'm assuming they were having a party and in the rules that we had to sign, it clearly says that there is to be no loud noise after a certain time. Anyway, this place sucks! Don't go there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save your money and don't waste it on this motel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Julian
Jan 2, 2009

Family vacation

This was a nice motel that looked recently refurbished. The rooms were a nice relaxing color. Even though it was winter, it was great to relax walking on the beach. There are lots of restaurants around in walking distance and lots of great stuff for the kids to do. It was right on the beach and had an oceanview room. We had a relaxing and comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2008

family friendly

Oceanfront Viking hotel was a nice place on the waterway. We checked in on 8-21-08. We were happy with the size of the room. However, be forewarned you must bring your own alarm clock. It was fairly conveinant for all the things we wanted to do. Our only downfall was that we could not go on the Dolphin Cruise due to weather. We had a nice family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cumming, GA
Jul 24, 2008

My review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

the viking was very clean and the walk to the beach was very short. great vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

we enjoy the nigt life at myrtle beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 28, 2008

We were highly ...

We were highly disappointed in the dirt, bugs and hotel housekeeping staff. The only good feature was its right on the beach. it was our first time in Myrtle Beach and we learned a BIG lesson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taunton, MA
May 22, 2008

Bugs in my room

Let me say I was disappointed from the start. There are no services (room service, gym etc) the pool was not at all private, and located in the parking lot, oh parking was very limited. Some spaces were available across the street , but no cross walk on a very busy street. Then on the second day came the bugs.... Gross looking bugs, I am not a ug expert, but I thought they were roaches of some kind. I told the front desk, no offer to move us, only they would spray. Well I doubt they did because they kept coming. There were so many I invested in my own can of raid and went so far as to spray every article of clothing and suitcase before we left. So okay, can't control bugs 100% in the area as it is warmer and tropical, but the floors were so dirty my feet were black by the end of the night. Just plain gross!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 7, 2008

A deal for the money

We were very pleased to find an oceanfront efficiency for such a great price. It had a refrigerator, stove and sink and a coffee pot and toaster were supplied. Our sideview room still had a great view of the ocean and it overlooked the pool. It was a short walk to a restaurant. We also walked the beach to get to another restaurant at the nearest pier. The motel is older and needs to have the linoleum in the bathroom replaced, but it was clean and spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It is a short drive to all types of restaurants. We drove to a seafood buffet at Seafare for which the motel had discount coupons and also ate at the Spring Garden Restaurant just a block from the hotel. We enjoyed lunch and shopping at Broadway at the Beach even though it is a few blocks north.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 19, 2008

Good location

The Viking Motel is within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shops and is also right on the beach. Housekeeping was pleasant and my room was always clean and smelling fresh each day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you just want a quick bite like a hot dog or ice cream, the Fat Man's Dream is just a block down the street. This place has picnic tables outdoors where you can enjoy the fresh air and a hotdog served on gold platter by two pleasant seniors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 10, 2008

Very Friendly

The Viking was a comfortable and relaxing experience. the staff made you feel at home and the front desk person did everything she could do to help make my stay the best! the off season price was hard to beat anywhere and I will be back again very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

small amusement park within walking distance along with many shops and restaurants.. great experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top