$38 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 11, 2015 Check-out: Mar 13, 2015

Oceanfront Viking Motel

2 stars
1811 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
34 reviews
32nd Birthday Trip

Based on the price, pleasantly surprised how large the room was and excited it had a large... See full review

  • Josh Birthday Boy
  • Jun 28, 2014
I was somewhat leary of the great price

we arrived late and Had requested easy access to the room as my husband is disabled. this hotel... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 6, 2011
All the comforts of home great value rates awesome golf and entertainment packages and variety of accommodations are just part of a picture perfect vacation at the Oceanfront Viking Motel. We are OCEANFRONT and centrally located to all activities anyone could want while in Myrtle Beach. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceanfront Viking Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Oceanfront Viking Motel Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront 2 Room Unit - Oceanfront 2 room unit with 3 queen beds full kitchen 2 TVs and a private balcony.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview 2 Room Unit - Sideview 2 room unit with 3 double beds and a kitchen.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Microwave
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.3 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.3 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.7 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.9 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.4 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Oceanfront Viking Motel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4
Value:
3

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
June Traveler
Business
Knoxville, TN
Jun 4, 2010

Awesome location, Money's Worth Motel

Motel is in the perfect location, walked to the beach from our room, close to amusement park and restaurants. However, the manager of the Best Western Grand Stand next door was our first experience with people in South Carolina. We checked in with the not so friendly clerk at the Viking to face this guy. Apparently half ot the parking lot at the Viking belongs to the snooty Best Western Grand Stand. We had no where to park to unload our luggage, so we parked in one of the spaces marked for guest of the Best Western. The manager/owner whatever he was drives up in his Lexus SUV with his walkie talkie telling us we need to move, I explained we were only unloading our stuff and then we would move. He was very gruff, saying park parallel behind the cars over there. There was no one parked in any of his spaces, so I didn't see the big deal. It took us 5 minutes to put our things in our room and we were off to explore South Carolina. Our room was not fancy. Appliances are older, air conditioning was an air conditioner in the wall and there was black (i am asuming mold) in the white caulking around tub. We felt like the room was sufficient for what we needed. We were only in the room to shower and sleep, so it was a great price for what we got. It has to be hard to keep something clean that close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food at the Plantation Pancake House was wonderful, was not expensive and service was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beckley, WV
Mar 17, 2010

A bunch of thieves

These people are thieves.. total thieves.. stay miles away from this one.. if you see viking just turn back and leave... same for the Polynesian hotel... unfriendly and rude staff.. dirty room, dirty restroom, there were some bugs in my room i think.. it was horrible... its not even worth 39 buck.. trust me pay 10$ more and u can stay in super 8 or days inn or something... if i was the manager id price it 10$ per night.... or less... worst vacation of my life...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

just don't stay here

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CopterMXR
Business
Frederick, Md.
Oct 31, 2009

It was [*] Horible!!!!

Is there anything less than no a star rating?. The first room I got was Real bad. the lights and tv diddnt work, and the smell of mold and milksew hit me before i walked thrugh the door, i finaly got a light to work and realizwd that the foor was covered in mold and mildew. I went to get a diffrent room and the lady tried to tell me that the room smelled like that because they had just converted to all non smoking rooms, but i had to convince her that it was mold. and then the next room was a little better except for somthing was BITTING me ALL NIGHT LONG, i have bug bites all down my side from somthing in the bed, but hey for less than half the price of a diffrent motell at last minuet, id stil go somewhere else, i considered jest sleeping in my car. so sorry to rant but dont go to this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
gainesville ga
Oct 30, 2009

not too bad

not a place for kids, but if your just looking for a cheap relaxing stay i would have to say, its not the worst place i've ever been in. it could definately use some updating, but you also get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Abigol Mestre
Business
Rockville, Maryland
Sep 8, 2009

Good Experience

Had a good experience with this hotel. Room lacked style and better smell. However since i was just looking for a place to sleep that was very near the ocean , tis place was perfect. The staff was nice, and had no problem with staying there for two night. Price was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hampton, VA
Sep 7, 2009

Affordable Fun

My hotel stay was very enjoyable. I got everything I expected. The amenities were the only ones I needed for this trip. My trip to Myrtle Beach was mainly to visit friends so the hotel was mostly used for sleeping and showering. I would book at the Oceanfront Viking Hotel again. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, S.C.
Sep 6, 2009

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

When we arrived at the motel we were given a three hour delay before we were allowed to checkin. We had to go to a service station to change clothes. The hotel was offering on the marquis a $69 room rate for the same room I paid $92.01 a night for. They refused to talk to us about the difference in rates. I was charged a $20 key security fee which was not known. We were put in a smoking room and I had reservations for a non-smoking room. The desk told usa there were no non-smoking rooms. Since i have asthma and medical conditions that prevent me from resting in such a iscomfortable setting I was not able to sleep more than one hour interrrupted by breathing difficulties the first night. I asked for a refund and this was denied.I left early without spending the second night due to breathing difficulties inthis room. I called Orbitz on Sunday morning Sept 6, 2009 and was denied the rate change after the clerk told the Orbitz caller that rate changes had been made within the time of my stay. This representative also gathered information to support my early departure date but said he could not help me with my refund. I feel that Orbitz has failed in two areas (1) tpo reimburse me for the difference in rates of what other guests paid compared to what I paid and (2) failure to prvide me a non-smoking room as I requested and was promised in my reservation. I feel that Orbitz should seek a reduction from the $92.01 I paid down to $69 that other people paid and that I should be refunded the total $92.01 for my second night when I was not granted a room safe for my health.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JohnSeeing theUSA
Business
Erie, Pennsylvania
Aug 20, 2009

Oceanfront Viking Motel

First you must know that when I reserved the room on the phone I specificly noted that I would not arrive until after 11pm on 8/18/09. When we arrived at 11:15pm to check into the motel the lobby was closed and dark I went into the building to see if there was anyone to check us in. No one was around and lobby was locked It is difficult to rate a motel when the lobby is closed and no one is there to honor your reservation.So we ended up paying for a room we did not get. They had my cell number and could and should have called to see when our estimated arrival time would be and informing us where to go if the check in office and lobby were closed. What kind of motel closes it lobby/check in at night???????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbia, south carolina
May 10, 2009

I guess you get what you pay for

Had a great time on the strip and shopping in the myrtle beach area. The hotel's in a decent location but it seems it's got the same furniture since about 1970. It's a decent hotel but it would have been nice to have better quality of ... just about everything. Even as simple as putting a fitted sheet on a bed it looks nicer and makes the customer feel like you care. Also they have a lot of hidden fees. For instance if you are under 25 be prepared in advanced to pay IN CASH ONLY a fifty dollar fee per person under 25 you can only get it back upon check out between 8am and 11am after your room has been checked. Also only get one key if you can help it, they're 25 dollars if lost (so is your parking pass) and if you plan on having guests make sure there's somewhere available about a block down their car will get towed if it doesn't have the decal and there's limited parking in front of the hotel, there's additional parking across the street but....you won't be able to see your vehicle at all from the hotel. and although its on the beach, most of the rooms face the center rather than actually (beach front) but you can still see the beach from pretty much all the rooms. decent hotel but...i wish i had gone ahead and paid a little more and stayed somewhere a bit nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Along the strip there are many places that do henna tattoos. Make sure the person giving you the tattoo gives you A COMPLETE ESTIMATE PLUS TAX PLUS WAX PLUS INK TYPE PLUS DESIGN. I had a rough time trying to get my money back when a 15 dollar henna ended up being about 32 dollars. make sure you're clear on what you're getting costs and that you and the salesperson are on the same page.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smith Mom
Business
Greensboro, Indiana
May 4, 2009

you get what you pay for

It had an awesome view. It was an old hotel. Friendly staff. clean room. very quiet and peaceful for our first family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top