$37 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Oceanfront Viking Motel

2 stars
View map of 1811 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceanfront Viking Motel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.1

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jim Bob from VA
Single
Wise, VA
Mar 31, 2014

Hidden charges

When I got to the hotel I was charged $28 more than what I had already paid and a $50 security deposit. When you sign the sheet for your security deposit it says you can get it back between 8-11am on the day of checkout.WRONG! I had to wait until 20 minutes after 10 for an "inspector" that never showed up and the girl at the counter wouldn't check the room herself. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The tv is spotty at best, there's no wifi, a side-view room actually means no view, and the bathroom and kitchen are very out-dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super bee
Family
mo.
May 22, 2012

north carolina getaway

The hotel was very old. The stove was rusty and burners bent out of shape. Beds were old and bos springs had holes in material. Bathtub was cracked. The door looked like it had been broken into. Very bad place. I would never go there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean was within walking distance.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VETTEDAD
Family
Fayetteville, NC
Aug 7, 2011

"Stay Away"

This has to be the WORST Hotel that I have ever seen. The elevator didn't work, the room was FILTHY, even the walls were smeared with something that looked like feces. The floors were NASTY. I would definitely NOT recommend anyone to stay at this place EVER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

GO TO THE ORIGINAL BENJAMINS ON 17 BUSINESS, THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST TIME OF MY ENTIRE TRIP TO MYRTLE BEACH SC!

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
rockingham n c
Mar 6, 2011

I was somewhat leary of the great price

we arrived late and Had requested easy access to the room as my husband is disabled. this hotel went way beyond all expections to make it easy for my husband to get to our room. rge room was all it was stated to be and more. the staff could not have been better to deal with and the room wax spotless clean. easy access to the beach, I know we will use this hotel again and again for our trips to myrtle beach. i highly suggest to anyone traveling to myrtle to stay at this hotel for a great beach visit. [...]thank you viking motel [...] for a wonderful weekend for our grandsons birthday trip, it was simply perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
June Traveler
Family
Knoxville, TN
Jun 4, 2010

Awesome location, Money's Worth Motel

Motel is in the perfect location, walked to the beach from our room, close to amusement park and restaurants. However, the manager of the Best Western Grand Stand next door was our first experience with people in South Carolina. We checked in with the not so friendly clerk at the Viking to face this guy. Apparently half ot the parking lot at the Viking belongs to the snooty Best Western Grand Stand. We had no where to park to unload our luggage, so we parked in one of the spaces marked for guest of the Best Western. The manager/owner whatever he was drives up in his Lexus SUV with his walkie talkie telling us we need to move, I explained we were only unloading our stuff and then we would move. He was very gruff, saying park parallel behind the cars over there. There was no one parked in any of his spaces, so I didn't see the big deal. It took us 5 minutes to put our things in our room and we were off to explore South Carolina. Our room was not fancy. Appliances are older, air conditioning was an air conditioner in the wall and there was black (i am asuming mold) in the white caulking around tub. We felt like the room was sufficient for what we needed. We were only in the room to shower and sleep, so it was a great price for what we got. It has to be hard to keep something clean that close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food at the Plantation Pancake House was wonderful, was not expensive and service was good.

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CopterMXR
Business
Frederick, Md.
Oct 31, 2009

It was [*] Horible!!!!

Is there anything less than no a star rating?. The first room I got was Real bad. the lights and tv diddnt work, and the smell of mold and milksew hit me before i walked thrugh the door, i finaly got a light to work and realizwd that the foor was covered in mold and mildew. I went to get a diffrent room and the lady tried to tell me that the room smelled like that because they had just converted to all non smoking rooms, but i had to convince her that it was mold. and then the next room was a little better except for somthing was BITTING me ALL NIGHT LONG, i have bug bites all down my side from somthing in the bed, but hey for less than half the price of a diffrent motell at last minuet, id stil go somewhere else, i considered jest sleeping in my car. so sorry to rant but dont go to this place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
gainesville ga
Oct 30, 2009

not too bad

not a place for kids, but if your just looking for a cheap relaxing stay i would have to say, its not the worst place i've ever been in. it could definately use some updating, but you also get what you pay for!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Abigol Mestre
Friends
Rockville, Maryland
Sep 8, 2009

Good Experience

Had a good experience with this hotel. Room lacked style and better smell. However since i was just looking for a place to sleep that was very near the ocean , tis place was perfect. The staff was nice, and had no problem with staying there for two night. Price was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Hampton, VA
Sep 7, 2009

Affordable Fun

My hotel stay was very enjoyable. I got everything I expected. The amenities were the only ones I needed for this trip. My trip to Myrtle Beach was mainly to visit friends so the hotel was mostly used for sleeping and showering. I would book at the Oceanfront Viking Hotel again. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Lexington, S.C.
Sep 6, 2009

Review of Oceanfront Viking Motel

When we arrived at the motel we were given a three hour delay before we were allowed to checkin. We had to go to a service station to change clothes. The hotel was offering on the marquis a $69 room rate for the same room I paid $92.01 a night for. They refused to talk to us about the difference in rates. I was charged a $20 key security fee which was not known. We were put in a smoking room and I had reservations for a non-smoking room. The desk told usa there were no non-smoking rooms. Since i have asthma and medical conditions that prevent me from resting in such a iscomfortable setting I was not able to sleep more than one hour interrrupted by breathing difficulties the first night. I asked for a refund and this was denied.I left early without spending the second night due to breathing difficulties inthis room. I called Orbitz on Sunday morning Sept 6, 2009 and was denied the rate change after the clerk told the Orbitz caller that rate changes had been made within the time of my stay. This representative also gathered information to support my early departure date but said he could not help me with my refund. I feel that Orbitz has failed in two areas (1) tpo reimburse me for the difference in rates of what other guests paid compared to what I paid and (2) failure to prvide me a non-smoking room as I requested and was promised in my reservation. I feel that Orbitz should seek a reduction from the $92.01 I paid down to $69 that other people paid and that I should be refunded the total $92.01 for my second night when I was not granted a room safe for my health.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top