$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Ocean Reef Resort

3 stars
7100 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
168 reviews
Outstanding

I have nothing to say but great service, food, amenities for the money. The location was perfect,... See full review

  • blake fan
  • Jan 17, 2015
Awesome weekend trip.

I visited one weekend to see a friend of mine. I used to go to this hotel when I was a child. Def... See full review

  • Cofer
  • Jan 14, 2015
Activities for the whole family and residential amenities

The Ocean Reef Resort boasts efficiencies and condos with full kitchens and plays an active role in entertaining its guests. Daily supervised children's activities engage the kids come summer, while a new water park wows with tipping buckets, water streams, fountains and oversized tiki statues. A tropical lounge sets the mood for outdoor cocktails. An-onsite sauna, fitness center and game room round out the leisure options.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront condos with refrigerators and microwaves
  • New Island Oasis water park
  • Supervised children's activities in summer
  • Game room, shuffleboard and oversized chess and checkers games
  • Outdoor dining and drinking plus a breakfast buffet
Rooms

Available as efficiencies, suites, parlors, condos and penthouses, rooms at the Ocean Reef Resort tend to extended-stay travelers with full kitchens, dishware, cookware and dining table. Private balconies boast side or full ocean views. Guests also can access Wi-Fi.

Recreation

Giant tiki statues watch over the new water park, a playful display that includes a shipwreck, perpetually sinking ship, giant tipping bucket, dripping palm trees and friendly sea serpent. The amusement ensues at the lazy river, which snakes indoors and outdoors under water curtains and mushrooms. During the summer, kids engage in supervised activities like craft making and pool contests. Adults relax in the sauna or grab a stool at the oceanfront Banana Boat Lounge. A full breakfast buffet fuels guests who like the convenience of dining out for at least one meal a day. The menu covers eggs multiple ways, fresh fruit, juices and bottomless cups of coffee.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (7.4 mi./11.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (7.6 mi./12.2 km)
Attractions
  • Carolina Opry (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (3.9 mi./6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (3.9 mi./6.3 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.9 mi./6.3 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach  (4.1 mi./6.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (4.1 mi./6.6 km)
  • Palace Theatre (4.3 mi./7 km)
  • Grand Strand (5.1 mi./8.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (6.6 mi./10.6 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (8.1 mi./13.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park  (8.5 mi./13.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 350 guests
  • Catering services
Policies and Fees
  • May Parking Restrictions:
  • Guest Vehicle Parking Information:
  • Ocean Reef Resort is issuing one parking pass per room, efficiency, two-room apartment or suite. Two parking passes are issued per three-bedroom Condo. Guests must display the Ocean Reef Resort parking pass at all times while parked on property.
  • Trailer Parking Information:
  • There are no trailers allowed on the property at any time. Loading and unloading of motorcycles is only permitted in the following places: 73rd Avenue North, adjacent to our overflow parking area, and 72nd Avenue, adjacent to Ocean Reef's parking deck. There are a plenty of Ocean Reef Resort employees at your disposal to assist in guiding you to the proper location. Trailer owners: Please contact the below secure storage facilities prior to arrival.
  • Motorcycle Parking Information:
  • Motorcycles can only park on the first floor of our garage near the front entrance and across the street in the parking garage. Motorcycles are not allowed through Ocean Reef Resort's garage at any time. At check-in, you will be provided ID tags for each motorcycle.
  • We strongly suggest that guests find alternative trailer parking before arriving due to high demand. If you would like to reserve off-site parking for your bikes and trailers, please utilize the information below:
  • Jamin' Leather: FREE - Located at 1220 Port Drive in Myrtle Beach, SC. Call (843) 294-1222 or (843) 839-5255 for info.
  • Uncle Bobs: Located at 600 Cannon Rd in Myrtle Beach, SC. Call (843) 626-3636 for info
  • Carolina Forrest Storage: Located behind Dicks Pawn on Highway 501in Carolina Forest. Call (843) 903-7060 for info.
  • Strand Storage: Located at 870 Frontage Rd E in Myrtle Beach, SC. Call (843) 626-5600 for info.
  • U-Haul: Located at 5604 S Kings Hwy in Myrtle Beach, SC. Call (843) 238-5701 for info.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Ocean Reef Resort Rooms

Angle Oceanfront Two Bedroom Condo
Our Angle Oceanfront Two Bedroom Condos are equipped with 1 King Bedroom with full bath, and 2 Double Beds in the second bedroom. The unit has one additional full bath in the common area. Each Bedroom and the Living room have their own Televisions. The unit also has a stackable washer and dryer. The living room has a private balcony and a sofa bed. The kitchen is equipped with a dining table with six chairs and full size appliances including a microwave oven, coffee pot, toaster, stove, garbage disposal, dishwasher, and refrigerator with ice maker. Basic cookware and dishware are provided. Also provided are an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. Wireless internet access available.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
The Oceanfront Efficiency Rooms have 2 Queen Beds, one television, private Oceanfront Balcony, small two top table, refrigerator, microwave, small stove, one basin sink, basic dishware and cookware, and a coffee pot. Also provided are an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. Wireless internet access is available.
Angle Oceanfront Three Bedroom Condo
The Angle Oceanfront Three Bedroom Condos are equipped with 1 King Bedroom with full bath, 1 Queen Bedroom, and 2 Double Beds in the third bedroom. The unit has one additional full bath in the common area. Each Bedroom and the Living room have their own Television. The unit also has a stackable washer and dryer. The living room has a private balcony and a sofa bed. The kitchen is equipped with a dining table with six chairs and full size appliances including a microwave oven, coffee pot, toaster, stove, garbage disposal, dishwasher, and refrigerator with ice maker. Basic cookware and dishware are provided. Also provided are an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. Wireless internet access is available.
Angle Oceanfront One Bedroom Condo
Our Angle Oceanfront One Bedroom Condos are equipped with 1 Bedroom with 2 Double Beds. The unit has one full bath in the common area. The Bedroom and the Living room have their own Televisions. The unit also has a stackable washer and dryer. The living room has a private balcony and a sofa bed. The kitchen is equipped with a dining table with four chairs and full size appliances including a microwave oven, coffee pot, toaster, stove, garbage disposal, dishwasher, and refrigerator with ice maker. Basic cookware and dishware are provided. Also provided are an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. Wireless internet access is available.
Oceanfront Double Room
The Oceanfront Double Rooms have 2 Queen Beds, one television, private Oceanfront Balcony, small two top table, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. Also provided are an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. Wireless internet access is available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Carolina Opry: 1.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 1.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.8 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 4.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 4.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 5.7 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 1.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 1.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.8 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 4.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 4.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 5.7 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 7.7 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 8 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 9 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 14.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Convention facilities offer: 4900 square feet of flexible meeting space, an array of breakout rooms - both large and small, 14 foot ceilings, banquets for 275, meetings for 440, phone lines and internet connections available in each meeting room, registration and pre-function area, oceanfront deck and lawn for casual dining and receptions, convention and catering staff to assist with conference planning, complete audio and visual services for all of your events needs and oceanfront dining room available for lunch and dinner functions.

Dining

Cafe Du Port
Cafe Du Port is located on the hotel property and serves breakfast as well as breakfast and lunch during the summer months.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Reef Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 168
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chudi
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

New Year's Day Trip

This hotel is very price friendly, its pretty cheap and a great place to stay. Overall, the hotel was great, only a few complains on the amenities some of the room's fixtures and fittings were a bit dated and rusty. The bathroom was very antique and the room service barely replaced all the towels and wash cloths on my second day there. The hotel does advertise free complimentary buffet breakfast, but that is not the case be prepared to pay for the breakfast and have a long wait for your meal. The rooms are a bit on the small side, and the beds are also relatively small. I would stay at this hotel again, but I would not recommend this as romantic get away. This would be an ideal place for a guys get away party. There are lots of attractions close by at the Boardwalk and near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Boardwalk by the beach is an ideal place lots to do for everyone. Several museums around and also several other attractions to include helicopter rides, for the helicopter rides it would be advisable to go during the day so that you can get your flight on video. Lots of places to shop on the boardwalk. The nightlife there is not all that its average at best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cofer
Business
Lynchburg, Va
Oct 26, 2014

Weekend Getaway

I used to stay here with my family when I was a child and always had fond memories of this resort. I decided now that I am much older that I would stay there since it was familiar. I was not disappointed. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. You cannot go wrong with this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The coast 2 coast driver
Business
Meridian, ID
Sep 21, 2014

would go back anytime

The front desk staff was superb. The beach just steps away. 3 pools. The room overlooked the ocean. It was everything I hoped for. My only "ding" was because there were few options for dining at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vicky Secrets
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 3, 2014

Great weekend

Really enjoyed my weekend getaway staying at this hotel...Room was clean, the staff were great, extra perks included. I Will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don Ron
Business
New York
Sep 25, 2013

Great stay

A great hotel right on the beach. Had no problems and the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Commerce Traveler
Business
Commerce, MI
Sep 2, 2013

Clean, large condo rooms

We stayed in a three bedroom condo unit, and it faced the beach. Very clean, large balcony, beds were good, rooms were large. Very nice pool, with water play area for small children. Elevators were fast. The parking lot is across the street, but it's a two lane street that is not very busy. Beach is a few steps from pool. Starbucks located in condo next to this one, which was nice. The only thing that was disappointing was we wanted to check out 2 hours after the 11 a.m. checkout and they would not let us, but they said that is their policy. Other than that, I would recommend this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brioffre
Business
québec ,Canada
Aug 21, 2013

Beautiful!

We stay 7 days and it was fine. The hotel was very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs Reed
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 8, 2012

Awesome Stay 2012!!!

I am always skeptical about some of the sketchy brach front hotels, but I have to say this one was a really nice property. From the staff to the cleanliness of the rooms. I am a stickler for a clean bathroom and I got just that...can't wait to start planning our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best "All You Can Eat" seafood buffet in town! -The Original Brnjamin's Calabash

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oceanworshiper
Business
Greensboro, North Carolina
Jul 6, 2012

Nothing Special, Needs updating.

The bed spreads were dirty. We went out and purchased blankets, so we wouldn't have to use the hotels. We did give our bed spreads to the cleaning person, clean ones were not returned. The tile floor looked dirty, after taking a towel and wiping it down, I saw how dirty it really was. Kitchen was ok. 2nd day the room seemed cleaner. Our room really needed updating. It was ok because we did spend most of our time out of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NC Margarita
Business
High Point, NC
Jun 8, 2010

Great Deal!

Wasn't sure how the room would be since we paid so little for it, but I was very pleased. Not only was it a great deal on an oceanfront room, but the room was very clean and had everything we expected. Stay was quiet even during bike week. Staff was very friendly and the grassy area next to the pool deck was very restful and a nice change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy drive to Broadway at the Beach and Restaurant Row.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top