$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Ocean Reef Resort

3 stars
7100 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
149 reviews
Weekend Getaway

I used to stay here with my family when I was a child and always had fond memories of this resort.... See full review

  • Cofer
  • Oct 26, 2014
PLEASANT SURPRISE!

The wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Reef. The staff members were great and the... See full review

  • carolinaboy
  • Oct 12, 2014
Activities for the whole family and residential amenities

The Ocean Reef Resort boasts efficiencies and condos with full kitchens and plays an active role in entertaining its guests. Daily supervised children's activities engage the kids come summer, while a new water park wows with tipping buckets, water streams, fountains and oversized tiki statues. A tropical lounge sets the mood for outdoor cocktails. An-onsite sauna, fitness center and game room round out the leisure options.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront condos with refrigerators and microwaves
  • New Island Oasis water park
  • Supervised children's activities in summer
  • Game room, shuffleboard and oversized chess and checkers games
  • Outdoor dining and drinking plus a breakfast buffet
Rooms

Available as efficiencies, suites, parlors, condos and penthouses, rooms at the Ocean Reef Resort tend to extended-stay travelers with full kitchens, dishware, cookware and dining table. Private balconies boast side or full ocean views. Guests also can access Wi-Fi.

Recreation

Giant tiki statues watch over the new water park, a playful display that includes a shipwreck, perpetually sinking ship, giant tipping bucket, dripping palm trees and friendly sea serpent. The amusement ensues at the lazy river, which snakes indoors and outdoors under water curtains and mushrooms. During the summer, kids engage in supervised activities like craft making and pool contests. Adults relax in the sauna or grab a stool at the oceanfront Banana Boat Lounge. A full breakfast buffet fuels guests who like the convenience of dining out for at least one meal a day. The menu covers eggs multiple ways, fresh fruit, juices and bottomless cups of coffee.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (7.4 mi./11.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (7.6 mi./12.2 km)
Attractions
  • Carolina Opry (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (3.9 mi./6.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (3.9 mi./6.3 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.9 mi./6.3 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach  (4.1 mi./6.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (4.1 mi./6.6 km)
  • Palace Theatre (4.3 mi./7 km)
  • Grand Strand (5.1 mi./8.2 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (6.6 mi./10.6 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (8.1 mi./13.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park  (8.5 mi./13.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 350 guests
  • Catering services
Policies and Fees
  • May Parking Restrictions:
  • Guest Vehicle Parking Information:
  • Long Bay is issuing one parking pass per room, efficiency, two-room apartment or suite. Two parking passes are issued per three-bedroom Condo. Guests must display the Long Bay Resort parking pass at all times while parked on property.
  • Trailer Parking Information:
  • There are no trailers allowed on the property at any time. Loading and unloading of motorcycles is only permitted in the following places: 73rd Avenue North, adjacent to our overflow parking area, and 72nd Avenue, adjacent to Ocean Reef's parking deck. There are a plenty of Long Bay Resort employees at your disposal to assist in guiding you to the proper location. Trailer owners: Please contact the below secure storage facilities prior to arrival.
  • Motorcycle Parking Information:
  • Motorcycles can only park on the first floor of our garage near the front entrance and across the street in the parking garage. Motorcycles are not allowed through Long Bay Resort's garage at any time. At check-in, you will be provided ID tags for each motorcycle.
  • We strongly suggest that guests find alternative trailer parking before arriving due to high demand. If you would like to reserve off-site parking for your bikes and trailers, please utilize the information below:
  • Jamin' Leather: FREE - Located at 1220 Port Drive in Myrtle Beach, SC. Call (843) 294-1222 or (843) 839-5255 for info.
  • Uncle Bobs: Located at 600 Cannon Rd in Myrtle Beach, SC. Call (843) 626-3636 for info
  • Carolina Forrest Storage: Located behind Dicks Pawn on Highway 501in Carolina Forest. Call (843) 903-7060 for info.
  • Strand Storage: Located at 870 Frontage Rd E in Myrtle Beach, SC. Call (843) 626-5600 for info.
  • U-Haul: Located at 5604 S Kings Hwy in Myrtle Beach, SC. Call (843) 238-5701 for info.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.7401 -78.8199
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport, Grand Strand Airport
Area description
Year after year visitors return to the Myrtle Beach area, also known as the Grand Strand, to enjoy our 60 miles of beautiful coastline, and experience the splendid multitude and diversity of our attractions. Days full of shopping, dining, golfing, and live entertainment may be right up your alley. But, there is much more, fishing opportunities abound, whether you prefer to stay on land and cast off from one of the seven piers that line our coastline, or take the deep sea challenge through one of the Grand Strand's many fishing charters. The Grand Strand conveniently boasts nearly 1,700 eateries serving up all sorts of delectable cuisine, including some of the world's finest seafood. After dinner take advantage of the area's nightlife and entertainment offering everything from popular nightclubs to quiet walks along moonlit ocean piers. Make sure to take in a show at one of our 11 live-entertainment theaters hosting big-name performers, country music concerts, and Broadway revues.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Ocean Reef Resort Rooms

Angle Oceanfront Two Bedroom Condo
Our Angle Oceanfront Two Bedroom Condos are equipped with 1 King Bedroom with full bath, and 2 Double Beds in the second bedroom. The unit has one additional full bath in the common area. Each Bedroom and the Living room have their own Televisions. The unit also has a stackable washer and dryer. The living room has a private balcony and a sofa bed. The kitchen is equipped with a dining table with six chairs and full size appliances including a microwave oven, coffee pot, toaster, stove, garbage disposal, dishwasher, and refrigerator with ice maker. Basic cookware and dishware are provided. Also provided are an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. Wireless internet access available.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
The Oceanfront Efficiency Rooms have 2 Queen Beds, one television, private Oceanfront Balcony, small two top table, refrigerator, microwave, small stove, one basin sink, basic dishware and cookware, and a coffee pot. Also provided are an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. Wireless internet access is available.
Angle Oceanfront Three Bedroom Condo
The Angle Oceanfront Three Bedroom Condos are equipped with 1 King Bedroom with full bath, 1 Queen Bedroom, and 2 Double Beds in the third bedroom. The unit has one additional full bath in the common area. Each Bedroom and the Living room have their own Television. The unit also has a stackable washer and dryer. The living room has a private balcony and a sofa bed. The kitchen is equipped with a dining table with six chairs and full size appliances including a microwave oven, coffee pot, toaster, stove, garbage disposal, dishwasher, and refrigerator with ice maker. Basic cookware and dishware are provided. Also provided are an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. Wireless internet access is available.
Angle Oceanfront One Bedroom Condo
Our Angle Oceanfront One Bedroom Condos are equipped with 1 Bedroom with 2 Double Beds. The unit has one full bath in the common area. The Bedroom and the Living room have their own Televisions. The unit also has a stackable washer and dryer. The living room has a private balcony and a sofa bed. The kitchen is equipped with a dining table with four chairs and full size appliances including a microwave oven, coffee pot, toaster, stove, garbage disposal, dishwasher, and refrigerator with ice maker. Basic cookware and dishware are provided. Also provided are an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. Wireless internet access is available.
Oceanfront Double Room
The Oceanfront Double Rooms have 2 Queen Beds, one television, private Oceanfront Balcony, small two top table, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. Also provided are an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer. Wireless internet access is available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Carolina Opry: 1.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 1.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.8 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 4.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 4.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 5.7 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 1.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 1.8 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.6 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.7 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.8 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 4.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 4.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 5.7 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 7.7 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 8 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 9 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.1 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 14.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our Convention facilities offer: 4900 square feet of flexible meeting space, an array of breakout rooms - both large and small, 14 foot ceilings, banquets for 275, meetings for 440, phone lines and internet connections available in each meeting room, registration and pre-function area, oceanfront deck and lawn for casual dining and receptions, convention and catering staff to assist with conference planning, complete audio and visual services for all of your events needs and oceanfront dining room available for lunch and dinner functions.

Dining

Cafe Du Port
Cafe Du Port is located on the hotel property and serves breakfast as well as breakfast and lunch during the summer months.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (149)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Reef Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danyiell
Brooklyn, NY
May 26, 2012

Great family vacation

I had a wonderful experience at this resort. The staff was great and helpful. The view of the beach from the balcony was beautiful. I would stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scooter317
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 17, 2012

Decent place, just needs updated

Staff were very friendly in all encounters. Great oceanfront location, rooms just need some updating and attention. Air conditioner was a little noisy and would turn on/off about every two minutes, which made sleeping difficult. Decor is late 80's tropical, which some people might be in to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you look at all the coupon books before you go shopping for ANYTHING. We missed out on some good deals on beach chairs and umbrellas since we didn't look through the books first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Becky
Business
Michigan
Sep 16, 2012

Perfect Place To Stay!

This is our second time at Ocean Reef. We love the tropical atmosphere and interior decorating. The breakfast buffet was a great value and very tasty. We were on the 12th floor, ocean front and the view was awesome! The beds were comfortable, plenty of towels and very clean rooms. They even provide laundry facilitites for guests to use. The only wishes we had were that they would serve lunch on a daily basis either in the restaurant or at the outside grill and provide a media-business center or desks in the rooms with computer outlets. Other than that, we give this hotel resort an A+ and we will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Grab up as many different coupon booklets that you can get. Most hotels and restaurants have them. Not all of the booklets have the same coupons which is why I suggest that you get different booklets. Also, look for the early-bird coupons for some of the seafood buffet restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redskin Fan
Business
Wake Forest, NC
Sep 2, 2012

Great hotel for families

We stayed in a 3-bed condo on the 9th floor. We had a great view of the ocean and could even hear the waves during the night. The condo was very spacious with 3 rooms and 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen. The kitchen could've been stocked better, but we were able to stay in and cook a few nights. One thing that we didn't like was when people would smoke on their balcony, especially if they were below you, you'd be inhaling the smoke. Not fun, when you have small children. The hotel has a great pool area...our kids loved the kiddie pool and the slide. We ate breakfast once down in the cafe, and I don't know if they were understaffed, but our waitress brought us coffee and then we never saw her again. We ended up eating breakfast in our condo the rest of the time. I would recommend atleast one more blanket on the beds (there was one sheet and the rough-feeling comforter# to cover with. The hotel was in close proximity to a lot of stuff we did #the aquarium, Broadway on the Beach, mini-golf, the Boardwalk, restaurants, Tanger Outlets). Overall, this was a great place to stay. We'd stay there again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tee R.
Business
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jul 27, 2012

Great Couples Retreat

It was a very relaxing and enjoyable experience.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fishing, try the 2nd Street Pier, there's free parking and also a restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karen from Evans GA
Business
Evans, GA
Jul 9, 2012

Ocean Reef Resort

This hotel is located next to the beach. From the balcony, you can enjoy viewing the ocean if you select the ocean view room (75% of the rooms are facing ocean, only 25% are partially facing the ocean.) The hotel badly needs to renovation. All the furniture, bedding, bathroom curtain are too old and need to be replaced. The pool is fantastic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs Reed
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jul 8, 2012

Awesome Stay 2012!!!

I am always skeptical about some of the sketchy brach front hotels, but I have to say this one was a really nice property. From the staff to the cleanliness of the rooms. I am a stickler for a clean bathroom and I got just that...can't wait to start planning our next trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best "All You Can Eat" seafood buffet in town! -The Original Brnjamin's Calabash

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oceanworshiper
Business
Greensboro, North Carolina
Jul 6, 2012

Nothing Special, Needs updating.

The bed spreads were dirty. We went out and purchased blankets, so we wouldn't have to use the hotels. We did give our bed spreads to the cleaning person, clean ones were not returned. The tile floor looked dirty, after taking a towel and wiping it down, I saw how dirty it really was. Kitchen was ok. 2nd day the room seemed cleaner. Our room really needed updating. It was ok because we did spend most of our time out of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tee R.
Business
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Jun 19, 2012

Perfect Couples Getaway

We had an oceanfront room, with double queen beds, the bathroom was a little small but nice. We had a great view of the ocean. It was pretty quiet and just a relaxing experience. The staff was friendly and courteous. This was my first visit to Myrtle Beach and my boyfriend recommended this hotel. It was an awesome choice we had a good time. We went to the pool, relaxed on the lazy river, and got on that awesome water slide. I would visit Ocean Reef Resort my next visit to MB without a doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you like to fish check out the 2nd Ave Pier. There's also a restaurant adjoined to the Pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of Cowgirls
Business
Alabama
Jun 9, 2012

Great Stay at Ocean Reef

This was our first visit to Ocean Reef & we will return! We stayed in a Deluxe Oceanfront Room for 6 nights. The room was clean and well equipped. The staff was pleasant and our room was kept clean. The pools were well cared for and our kids loved the new water slide! We probably got our money's worth on the slide alone! We will definately return next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leslie D
Business
Kentucky
Jun 4, 2012

Average

It was an average hotel but it was in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top