$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Ocean Plaza

2 stars
1005 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
88 reviews
getaway

the hotel was ordinary, nothing too special about it. the room was very clean. there was a... See full review

  • sasibear
  • Jul 4, 2014
perfect location with a perfect price

I had a very nice time at the beach it was the first time so the hotel was very imporant the view... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 22, 2009
We are Oceanfront on the sparkling Atlantic Ocean. You will love Ocean Plazas convenient central location close to all of Myrtle Beaches famous family attractions and over 130 golf courses. Our newly remodeled rooms and attentive staff will assure your stay will be an enjoyable one. Whether your idea of a perfect Myrtle Beach vacation is playing golf sampling the exciting nightlife and star studded shows or just relaxing on the spectacular white sandy beach the Ocean Plaza is sure to please. All guests must be 18 to check-in unless traveling with a parent or legal guardian. At check-in we ask that all guests age 18 and over have a valid photo id with date of birth. Any guest ages 18 to 24 not with their parents are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit per person. The security deposit is refunded between 8.30am and 11.00am on the scheduled morning of check out pending a room inspection. Guests who are local are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit. Please call for cities considered local. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Hotel Map

33.6788 -78.8953
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 2.83, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Ocean Plaza Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Sideview King Room - Sideview room with 1 King bed and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a full kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Oceanfront Double Room - Oceanfront room with 2 double beds a kitchen and a private balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Shower

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.8 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Plaza

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 88
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MWen
NC
Jun 30, 2014

Good stay

You can't beat the location. Underground parking garage was very convenient, and the hotel is right on the beach. The staff was fairly friendly. Although it was a no-smoking room, our room did smell like smoke, however, it wasn't unbearable. All-in-all, I would definitely consider staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
can'tthinkofonethat'sfree
NC
Jun 13, 2014

It's fine

After I read all the horrible reviews about this hotel I was so terrified that it would be a total slum that I attempted to cancel my reservation in the last minute, but of course could not without losing money, so we followed through with the stay. OK so it's not the Ritz but it's not as bad as the reviews make it out to be either! The room wasn't fancy or new, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. It's true the towels and washcloths weren't Egyptian cotton, but they were clean and plentiful. The cons: the room did have a beer-y/smoke-y odor that hit us in the face when we first walked in. Because of the reviews we did expect the carpet to be filthy so we brought our houseshoes... and were glad that we did as the carpet was matted and hard. Still, all of the employees we encountered were friendly and helpful, even providing prompt attention when we informed the front desk that our tv remote was not working; they sent a maintenance man to replace it. The only thing I would do different if we stayed here again is to pay a little extra for an oceanfront room. And another negative of staying at the cheapest hotel you can find on the strip is that it attracts that kind of young party crowd. So if you want to be with a more refined/diginifed group, pay a little extra, we probably will for that reason next time too. Bottom line: location great, hotel fine. Don't let the reviews scare you, but if you're "hoity toity", it's not for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KeanaOSuperWomen
south carolina
Jun 6, 2014

money saving get away

The staff were ik the room was smelly and mildew when Iaskesd them to change the seats they didn't they just came and half made up the bed which was uncomfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vick A Thom
Cleveland GA
Sep 2, 2013

It was a dump

The pictures that is posted for the Ocean Plaza should be false advertising. The place is old and out dated. When we checked in, bed had sand on bed spread. The place is worn out. It needs to be remodeled badly. The mattress needed to be replaced, it had dips in mattress. There were ants all over pool chairs and wall around pool. I reported to front desk and they said they were going to send out maintenance. They did nothing about it. I had rather sleep in my car. No wi-fi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

K & W Cafeteria / Great food and wonderful prices

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C Fayette
Glens Falls New York
Aug 15, 2013

Not a Happy Customer with Ocean Plaza

we were not pleased at all with this hotel. As a matter of fact we only stayed 1 night and checked out and went to a super 8 in North Myrtle Beach. I would not stay there again. I found a couple of Bugs. The smell was disgusting, and it was very load until late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iwahstore
Thomasville, NC
Oct 27, 2012

The place to ourselves in the off-season.

If you don't mind checking in at the motel next door and not being able to use the elevator, then this place is the place to go in the off-season. You see, the office at Ocean Plaza is closed during weekdays during off-season. If you don't mind checking in at the motel next door you'll have the entire place to yourself. That means peace and quiet! Walking distance of 2 blocks to restaurants on Hwy 17 and several places to eat within blocks right on Ocean Blvd too. We will be going back to Ocean Plaza!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two pancake restaurants for breakfast just 2 blocks away!

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Seaside lady
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Aug 13, 2012

myrtle beach getaway

Easy to find, but lacks quality compared to surrounding hotels. Needs updating, beds were hard, indoor pool area needs facelift and cable goes out off and on. Would not recommend, spend your money somewhere else if you want to stay somewhere decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gkitch
charlotte north carolina
Jul 22, 2012

Poor value

The staff at the front was excellent but after that it was all down hill. First the hotel cannot be located using a GPS. I thought my GPS was bad but I was informed at the front desk that no ones GPS could locate their property. After checking in we tried to open the door to the room and the key broke off in the lock. The maid service was awful.Often no towels/toi;et paper etc. Had to go to the front desk twice. After talking with several guest who were walk ins I learned that boooking in advance was a mistake. If I had just walked in off the street I could have had a better room at a cheaper price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smokey Joe two
knoxville tn
May 23, 2012

Not bad for the price

We read the other reviews and thought we might look somewheres else but stayed at the ocean plaza anyway. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was small but decent. Really needs an upgrade but for the price we were satisfied. The parking is really tight. But we managed to get in and out with no probelms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at Dennys twice while we stayed and had the best server. Bassam seemed to really like his job and the people he met.

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ocqtally
Oak Creek, WI, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Spring break

Very affordable. The environment was relatable to myself: mostly college students. I would consider this place with my friends but not with my family. Clean rooms but no complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Bowery! Awesome burger's and the bartender was hilarious.

Back to menu Return to top