$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Ocean Plaza

2 stars
1005 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
60 reviews
Beach Getaway

This hotel was pretty good I think for the cost. Room seemed clean and decent, was not very... See full review

  • Meg87
  • Aug 12, 2014
getaway

the hotel was ordinary, nothing too special about it. the room was very clean. there was a... See full review

  • sasibear
  • Jul 4, 2014
We are Oceanfront on the sparkling Atlantic Ocean. You will love Ocean Plazas convenient central location close to all of Myrtle Beaches famous family attractions and over 130 golf courses. Our newly remodeled rooms and attentive staff will assure your stay will be an enjoyable one. Whether your idea of a perfect Myrtle Beach vacation is playing golf sampling the exciting nightlife and star studded shows or just relaxing on the spectacular white sandy beach the Ocean Plaza is sure to please. All guests must be 18 to check-in unless traveling with a parent or legal guardian. At check-in we ask that all guests age 18 and over have a valid photo id with date of birth. Any guest ages 18 to 24 not with their parents are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit per person. The security deposit is refunded between 8.30am and 11.00am on the scheduled morning of check out pending a room inspection. Guests who are local are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit. Please call for cities considered local. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Hotel Map

33.6788 -78.8953
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 2.83, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Ocean Plaza Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Sideview King Room - Sideview room with 1 King bed and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a full kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Oceanfront Double Room - Oceanfront room with 2 double beds a kitchen and a private balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Shower

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.8 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Plaza

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 60
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
4
Value:
2.6

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ballsomething
Business
Charlotte
Jul 3, 2014

Hotel stay

There were big bugs there that made me very uncomfortable. Upon my arrival the room had sand in the carpet .....perhaps it hadn't been cleaned. I mentioned this upon checkout and the person at the desk said "oh, is their anything else"? I can say that I would recommend this hotel to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice place just a stroll from there called the Loco Gecko.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mustang Sallee
Business
Perry, GA
Aug 19, 2013

Horrible smell

This entire building, including the room, smelled like old fish grease, apparently wafting in from the "Award-Winning" restaurant on the property. I can't imagine what award it won because the food was edible; that's about the best that can be said about it. The noisy A/C ran all night and kept the room at a balmy 78 degrees or so, I killed 4 bugs, there was hair in the tub, black moldy gunk came from the shower head when I adjusted it, and the sink wouldn't drain. I checked out early the next morning, bought a bottle of Fabreeze to use on my clothes, (I didn't want to smell like grease), and moved to a different hotel. I will say the staff at the desk were great, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Otis
Business
Wilmington, NC, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Ocean Plaza was a decent experience

Yes, Ocean Plaza was a pretty good place stay. Mind you, not the best, but not bad either. I liked the fact my room was clean and that it had a kitchenette in there. I had a problem with my remote and the front desk said they'd have maint. come look at it and even after I solved the problem and told the front desk about it, they still came by; great service. My two big strikes against them is no Wi-Fi and limited parking. Other than that, nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel was not far from Bus. 17 (Kings Hwy), so if you needed to jump on Bus. 17, you could. Plenty of places to eat and shopping as well. And if you wanted to check out the attractions on Ocean Blvd., you were a couple of miles from there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Mar 4, 2010

Needs some improvements

I didn't like how I had to check-in at hotel next door bc office was closed at this location. I ended up paying $42 total (after resort fees) when the oceanfront hotel next door was offering rooms for $25. [...] The deadbolt on my door was broke and I couldn't lock it properly. I did love the front desk clerk, though the attitude of the manager on duty ruined that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern Virginia
Feb 23, 2010

well....

Friendly staff was saving grace for this place. The rooms were not dirty, but felt that way and needed updating alot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top