$36 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Ocean Plaza

2 stars
1005 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
60 reviews
Beach Getaway

This hotel was pretty good I think for the cost. Room seemed clean and decent, was not very... See full review

  • Meg87
  • Aug 12, 2014
getaway

the hotel was ordinary, nothing too special about it. the room was very clean. there was a... See full review

  • sasibear
  • Jul 4, 2014
We are Oceanfront on the sparkling Atlantic Ocean. You will love Ocean Plazas convenient central location close to all of Myrtle Beaches famous family attractions and over 130 golf courses. Our newly remodeled rooms and attentive staff will assure your stay will be an enjoyable one. Whether your idea of a perfect Myrtle Beach vacation is playing golf sampling the exciting nightlife and star studded shows or just relaxing on the spectacular white sandy beach the Ocean Plaza is sure to please. All guests must be 18 to check-in unless traveling with a parent or legal guardian. At check-in we ask that all guests age 18 and over have a valid photo id with date of birth. Any guest ages 18 to 24 not with their parents are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit per person. The security deposit is refunded between 8.30am and 11.00am on the scheduled morning of check out pending a room inspection. Guests who are local are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit. Please call for cities considered local. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Ocean Plaza Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Sideview King Room - Sideview room with 1 King bed and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a full kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Oceanfront Double Room - Oceanfront room with 2 double beds a kitchen and a private balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Shower

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.8 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Plaza

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Athens, WV
Jun 28, 2009

Don't Do It

While the location of this motel was nice, the rest of it was terrible. The building was run down, it was dirty (our room wasn't even swept when we arrived). The two hot tubs only had room for two people at a time. While we were there the elevator broke down and we were on an upper floor. The light in our bathroom went out and stayed that way for several days. The bathtub didn't drain very well, which could have been from sand, but drano works wonders. I would not recommend this place to anyone!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
greensboro nc
May 10, 2010

ocean plaza

thankfully we did not stay in the motel very much, we had fun on the beach, at the aquarium, and shopping. the front desk woman was very rude and unhelpful, the rooms were dirty,and the place needs some renovations it looks like the place is falling apart. when we got there the fire alarm went off for 30 minutes for no reason. i will never stay at this place again it was one of the worst motel experiences ive ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Greensboro NC
Apr 10, 2011

ocean plaza

I took one look at the room and checked out It was small poorly furnished and not at all what I wanted. I am still in the process of trying to get a refund

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
torg
Business
albemarle, nc
Apr 17, 2012

terrible letdown

this was, by far, the worst hotel i have ever booked we could not stay there for 5 minutes before i decided to leave and get another place to stay i don't k now why you would recommend such a dump for anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gkitch
Business
charlotte north carolina
Jul 22, 2012

Poor value

The staff at the front was excellent but after that it was all down hill. First the hotel cannot be located using a GPS. I thought my GPS was bad but I was informed at the front desk that no ones GPS could locate their property. After checking in we tried to open the door to the room and the key broke off in the lock. The maid service was awful.Often no towels/toi;et paper etc. Had to go to the front desk twice. After talking with several guest who were walk ins I learned that boooking in advance was a mistake. If I had just walked in off the street I could have had a better room at a cheaper price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Myrtle Beach 2013
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Jul 27, 2013

Bad customer service

The location of the hotel is great. Right on the beach, close to everything. The staff was rude. The lady that worked the front desk during the day was extremely rude. She Ate pizza during our check in. Talk with her mouth full and made us wait to take a personal call in which she used profanity. The staff spent the better part of the day smoking cigarettes on the steps up to each floor. Location is great! Management needs to train their staff or overhaul it. My visit was a family vacation. Every experience is an opportunity to learn. I used this trip as a way to show my kids how not to act when dealing with customers. We will return to the area but not this establishment unless management makes an effort to appreciate their customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dicks's Last Resort provided a great family experience. The servers were funny, engaging and made us feel welcome. We laughed and took many pictures. A must visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C Fayette
Business
Glens Falls New York
Aug 15, 2013

Not a Happy Customer with Ocean Plaza

we were not pleased at all with this hotel. As a matter of fact we only stayed 1 night and checked out and went to a super 8 in North Myrtle Beach. I would not stay there again. I found a couple of Bugs. The smell was disgusting, and it was very load until late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mustang Sallee
Business
Perry, GA
Aug 19, 2013

Horrible smell

This entire building, including the room, smelled like old fish grease, apparently wafting in from the "Award-Winning" restaurant on the property. I can't imagine what award it won because the food was edible; that's about the best that can be said about it. The noisy A/C ran all night and kept the room at a balmy 78 degrees or so, I killed 4 bugs, there was hair in the tub, black moldy gunk came from the shower head when I adjusted it, and the sink wouldn't drain. I checked out early the next morning, bought a bottle of Fabreeze to use on my clothes, (I didn't want to smell like grease), and moved to a different hotel. I will say the staff at the desk were great, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vick A Thom
Business
Cleveland GA
Sep 2, 2013

It was a dump

The pictures that is posted for the Ocean Plaza should be false advertising. The place is old and out dated. When we checked in, bed had sand on bed spread. The place is worn out. It needs to be remodeled badly. The mattress needed to be replaced, it had dips in mattress. There were ants all over pool chairs and wall around pool. I reported to front desk and they said they were going to send out maintenance. They did nothing about it. I had rather sleep in my car. No wi-fi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

K & W Cafeteria / Great food and wonderful prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
worldwide travel
Business
Chicago
Apr 20, 2014

hovel

You only get what you pay for. Scratchy postage stamp towels, no hair dryer, 2 and 1/2 hangers literally. Dirty laundry left outside of elevator for 24 hours. Noisy children in the middle of the night. No kleenex. Hard pillows No Maid service. $28 surcharge to use pool. The pool was the only thing that was good. Not even 2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top