Ocean Plaza

2 stars
1005 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
60 reviews
Beach Getaway

This hotel was pretty good I think for the cost. Room seemed clean and decent, was not very... See full review

  • Meg87
  • Aug 12, 2014
getaway

the hotel was ordinary, nothing too special about it. the room was very clean. there was a... See full review

  • sasibear
  • Jul 4, 2014
We are Oceanfront on the sparkling Atlantic Ocean. You will love Ocean Plazas convenient central location close to all of Myrtle Beaches famous family attractions and over 130 golf courses. Our newly remodeled rooms and attentive staff will assure your stay will be an enjoyable one. Whether your idea of a perfect Myrtle Beach vacation is playing golf sampling the exciting nightlife and star studded shows or just relaxing on the spectacular white sandy beach the Ocean Plaza is sure to please. All guests must be 18 to check-in unless traveling with a parent or legal guardian. At check-in we ask that all guests age 18 and over have a valid photo id with date of birth. Any guest ages 18 to 24 not with their parents are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit per person. The security deposit is refunded between 8.30am and 11.00am on the scheduled morning of check out pending a room inspection. Guests who are local are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit. Please call for cities considered local. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Ocean Plaza Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Sideview King Room - Sideview room with 1 King bed and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a full kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Oceanfront Double Room - Oceanfront room with 2 double beds a kitchen and a private balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Shower

Hotel Map

33.6788 -78.8953
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 2.83, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.8 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Plaza

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern Virginia
Feb 23, 2010

well....

Friendly staff was saving grace for this place. The rooms were not dirty, but felt that way and needed updating alot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
high point,nc
Nov 22, 2009

perfect location with a perfect price

I had a very nice time at the beach it was the first time so the hotel was very imporant the view and the price was great couldn't ask for anything better i also like the fact that they have weekly rates also. very friendly staff great service at the check in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wilkes , nc
Oct 9, 2009

2009 bike week

trip was for 2009 fall bike ralley, room was clean and comfortable. nice and quiet just what we wanted. hotel is getting old but in pretty good shape. would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

flea market on us 17

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chester, sc
Sep 27, 2009

good price

There were very large cockroaches in the room at night, we killed two ourselves on different days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jeremi & areatha
Business
jefferson,ga
Jul 31, 2009

The Quiet Ocean Plaza

My fiancee and I received some good rest after a stressful work week. A personal balcony for us to enjoy the great weather. This experience was a whole lot of fun for the both of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make use of the kitchen in your room; it will save you and your family a lot of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
angry al
Business
charlotte nc
Jul 27, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

DO NOT STAY HERE!! This hotel is a joke. First of all on orbitz, check in says 3pm and check out is at 12 noon. We arrive at the hotel at 3:15pm to find out that check in is actually at 4pm and check out is at 11am. So no surprise our room is not ready. We wait around and return at 3:50pm. Room is still not ready and maintenance is doing something. Girl at the desk was very nice and was trying to find out the problem. NO COMMUNICATION from maintenance staff so we had no idea what the hold up was or when our room would be ready. Hotel was booked so they couldn't just give us another room. We only were staying here because we decided to stay an extra day and couldn't stay at the place we were at the last couple of days because they were booked too. So it is now 5pm with no word on what is going on so we ask the girl at the desk if she could give us a refund. She finally gets a hold of a manager who says we have to ask orbitz about a refund and our room is now ready. Apparently it was ready at 4:30 but no one from maintenance ever called the front desk. We have had enough and left. I called orbitz and explained to them we were leaving and if we could get our money back. The gentleman was very nice and contacted the hotel to see if they would offer a refund. THE HOTEL REFUSED and said our room was ready for check in and they were holding it for us. Bottom line, this place does not care about customer service, retaining return visitors or just having good business practices. They didn't even apologize for the delay on their end. Further more while waiting we walked around the property and the stairwells smelled like pee, the rooms through the windows looked old, outdated and possibility dirty. This place should be demolished so someone could build a nicer hotel or rid myrtle beach of a horrible property. And the kicker is that the total after taxes was $150. What a joke. Orbitz should take them off their website!!!! If you decide to stay here you have been warned!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hoschton Ga.
Jul 26, 2009

My Stay

Overall It's an O.K. hotel It's an old building, but clean. My only complaint: The people upstairs sounded like they were dragging funiture around untill about 12 o'clock in the morning, every night. Oh, and it seemed like every 30 min. someone was stuffing another pizza coupon in the door. We had no problem with parking, but as I understand at certain times, you can't find parking at the hotel and have to park a block away. and walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you know where you are going, Avoid Kings Hwy., and Ocean Blvd. Try to use Hwy. 17 and then cut back over on one of the side roads closer to your destination. Traffic can be a nightmare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Athens, WV
Jun 28, 2009

Don't Do It

While the location of this motel was nice, the rest of it was terrible. The building was run down, it was dirty (our room wasn't even swept when we arrived). The two hot tubs only had room for two people at a time. While we were there the elevator broke down and we were on an upper floor. The light in our bathroom went out and stayed that way for several days. The bathtub didn't drain very well, which could have been from sand, but drano works wonders. I would not recommend this place to anyone!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
darli
Business
Illinois
Jun 4, 2009

Good location and price

We stayed one night. Toilet paper was absent. Room was damp smelling. Realizing it is right on the ocean and a ground floor room with the pool right outside it was understandable but still unpleasant. Beds were nice. The whole room could have used a little TLC but when maids don't check the Toilet Paper why would the rest of the room be any different than the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Grandmother
Business
Chattanooga, TN
May 21, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

My stay at Ocean Plaza was enjoyable. The room was clean and neat, I paid a few dollars extra for a balcony on the ocean and it was worth it. The beds were very comfortable, no sagging, etc. I've stayed in five star hotels that did not have beds that were as comfortable as these. Ocean Plaza is an older hotel and in spite of that it was clean and comfortable. I know I've mentioned clean twice but that is very important to me. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and there was always someone in the office if I had a question. It could use a few updates but then the price would probably increase. We had a great trip and enjoyed our stay at Ocean Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top