$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Ocean Plaza

2 stars
View map of 1005 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Plaza

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 1, 2010

Typical 2 star hotel

Hotel is in pretty bad shape. You get what you pay for here. We're a low maintenance couple so we were happy. Staff was friendly, but couldn't recommend any restaurants in the area. Everything could just use a fresh coat of paint. One plus, shower pressure was like being under a waterfall. perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
greensboro nc
May 10, 2010

ocean plaza

thankfully we did not stay in the motel very much, we had fun on the beach, at the aquarium, and shopping. the front desk woman was very rude and unhelpful, the rooms were dirty,and the place needs some renovations it looks like the place is falling apart. when we got there the fire alarm went off for 30 minutes for no reason. i will never stay at this place again it was one of the worst motel experiences ive ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
greensboro nc
May 10, 2010

ocean plaza

thankfully we did not stay in the motel very much, we had fun on the beach, at the aquarium, and shopping. the front desk woman was very rude and unhelpful, the rooms were dirty,and the place needs some renovations it looks like the place is falling apart. when we got there the fire alarm went off for 30 minutes for no reason. i will never stay at this place again it was one of the worst motel experiences ive ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nebraska
Mar 26, 2010

ocean plaza

room dirty floors needed some attention, had to ask for towels everyday never did see room service in the 5 day we were there. had to ask for toliet paper. was a short walk to beach there were no chairs and umbrella's for shade. day 2 they decided to change all the locks on the doors so you had to turn in old key and go to front desk to ask to get into room ALL day long. price adverstised on board outside said 24.00 per night which was cheaper then i was paying and didnt know about resort fees!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

boardway on the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Mar 4, 2010

Needs some improvements

I didn't like how I had to check-in at hotel next door bc office was closed at this location. I ended up paying $42 total (after resort fees) when the oceanfront hotel next door was offering rooms for $25. [...] The deadbolt on my door was broke and I couldn't lock it properly. I did love the front desk clerk, though the attitude of the manager on duty ruined that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern Virginia
Feb 23, 2010

well....

Friendly staff was saving grace for this place. The rooms were not dirty, but felt that way and needed updating alot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
high point,nc
Nov 22, 2009

perfect location with a perfect price

I had a very nice time at the beach it was the first time so the hotel was very imporant the view and the price was great couldn't ask for anything better i also like the fact that they have weekly rates also. very friendly staff great service at the check in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wilkes , nc
Oct 9, 2009

2009 bike week

trip was for 2009 fall bike ralley, room was clean and comfortable. nice and quiet just what we wanted. hotel is getting old but in pretty good shape. would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

flea market on us 17

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chester, sc
Sep 27, 2009

good price

There were very large cockroaches in the room at night, we killed two ourselves on different days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jeremi & areatha
Business
jefferson,ga
Jul 31, 2009

The Quiet Ocean Plaza

My fiancee and I received some good rest after a stressful work week. A personal balcony for us to enjoy the great weather. This experience was a whole lot of fun for the both of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Make use of the kitchen in your room; it will save you and your family a lot of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top