$36 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 12, 2015 Check-out: Mar 13, 2015

Ocean Plaza

2 stars
View map of 1005 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
62 reviews
Awesome Trip

It was relaxing and affordable. Good value for price. Convenient location and amenities. See full review

  • MickeyGurl87
  • Dec 30, 2014
great place for family

Staff was very friendly and the room was nice. Great view of the ocean. Definitely using this hotel... See full review

  • Wendy A.
  • Feb 10, 2015
We are Oceanfront on the sparkling Atlantic Ocean. You will love Ocean Plazas convenient central location close to all of Myrtle Beaches famous family attractions and over 130 golf courses. Our newly remodeled rooms and attentive staff will assure your stay will be an enjoyable one. Whether your idea of a perfect Myrtle Beach vacation is playing golf sampling the exciting nightlife and star studded shows or just relaxing on the spectacular white sandy beach the Ocean Plaza is sure to please. All guests must be 18 to check-in unless traveling with a parent or legal guardian. At check-in we ask that all guests age 18 and over have a valid photo id with date of birth. Any guest ages 18 to 24 not with their parents are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit per person. The security deposit is refunded between 8.30am and 11.00am on the scheduled morning of check out pending a room inspection. Guests who are local are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit. Please call for cities considered local. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Ocean Plaza Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Sideview King Room - Sideview room with 1 King bed and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a full kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Oceanfront Double Room - Oceanfront room with 2 double beds a kitchen and a private balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Shower

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.8 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Plaza

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gkitch
Business
charlotte north carolina
Jul 22, 2012

Poor value

The staff at the front was excellent but after that it was all down hill. First the hotel cannot be located using a GPS. I thought my GPS was bad but I was informed at the front desk that no ones GPS could locate their property. After checking in we tried to open the door to the room and the key broke off in the lock. The maid service was awful.Often no towels/toi;et paper etc. Had to go to the front desk twice. After talking with several guest who were walk ins I learned that boooking in advance was a mistake. If I had just walked in off the street I could have had a better room at a cheaper price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Smokey Joe two
Business
knoxville tn
May 23, 2012

Not bad for the price

We read the other reviews and thought we might look somewheres else but stayed at the ocean plaza anyway. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was small but decent. Really needs an upgrade but for the price we were satisfied. The parking is really tight. But we managed to get in and out with no probelms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at Dennys twice while we stayed and had the best server. Bassam seemed to really like his job and the people he met.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
torg
Business
albemarle, nc
Apr 17, 2012

terrible letdown

this was, by far, the worst hotel i have ever booked we could not stay there for 5 minutes before i decided to leave and get another place to stay i don't k now why you would recommend such a dump for anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ocqtally
Business
Oak Creek, WI, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Spring break

Very affordable. The environment was relatable to myself: mostly college students. I would consider this place with my friends but not with my family. Clean rooms but no complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Bowery! Awesome burger's and the bartender was hilarious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Otis
Business
Wilmington, NC, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Ocean Plaza was a decent experience

Yes, Ocean Plaza was a pretty good place stay. Mind you, not the best, but not bad either. I liked the fact my room was clean and that it had a kitchenette in there. I had a problem with my remote and the front desk said they'd have maint. come look at it and even after I solved the problem and told the front desk about it, they still came by; great service. My two big strikes against them is no Wi-Fi and limited parking. Other than that, nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel was not far from Bus. 17 (Kings Hwy), so if you needed to jump on Bus. 17, you could. Plenty of places to eat and shopping as well. And if you wanted to check out the attractions on Ocean Blvd., you were a couple of miles from there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Greensboro NC
Apr 10, 2011

ocean plaza

I took one look at the room and checked out It was small poorly furnished and not at all what I wanted. I am still in the process of trying to get a refund

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florence sc
Mar 21, 2011

Not Satisfied

It was horrible. It was not what i signed up for. The pictures on the website were nothing like the actual place. I did not want to put my bags on the floor. I checked in and out within 10 mins. I was not pleased. The only good thing about it was I only live a hour away and was able go home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hopeyd
Business
Lancaster, SC
Oct 14, 2010

Not clean to my expectations

The appreance of the hotel is not too good or bad. It did not have an office so it was almost like it was abandomed. A few bugs in the room. Matresses looked stained. Sheets and pillows did not smell fresh. Found papers bedhind headboard that had been there since 2007, therefore not inspected or deeply cleaned. Not horrible though. Most of all hated the uncleanliness. Bed was awful, killed my back and I'm not old I am young.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Aug 1, 2010

Typical 2 star hotel

Hotel is in pretty bad shape. You get what you pay for here. We're a low maintenance couple so we were happy. Staff was friendly, but couldn't recommend any restaurants in the area. Everything could just use a fresh coat of paint. One plus, shower pressure was like being under a waterfall. perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
greensboro nc
May 10, 2010

ocean plaza

thankfully we did not stay in the motel very much, we had fun on the beach, at the aquarium, and shopping. the front desk woman was very rude and unhelpful, the rooms were dirty,and the place needs some renovations it looks like the place is falling apart. when we got there the fire alarm went off for 30 minutes for no reason. i will never stay at this place again it was one of the worst motel experiences ive ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top