$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Ocean Plaza

2 stars
1005 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
88 reviews
getaway

the hotel was ordinary, nothing too special about it. the room was very clean. there was a... See full review

  • sasibear
  • Jul 4, 2014
perfect location with a perfect price

I had a very nice time at the beach it was the first time so the hotel was very imporant the view... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 22, 2009
We are Oceanfront on the sparkling Atlantic Ocean. You will love Ocean Plazas convenient central location close to all of Myrtle Beaches famous family attractions and over 130 golf courses. Our newly remodeled rooms and attentive staff will assure your stay will be an enjoyable one. Whether your idea of a perfect Myrtle Beach vacation is playing golf sampling the exciting nightlife and star studded shows or just relaxing on the spectacular white sandy beach the Ocean Plaza is sure to please. All guests must be 18 to check-in unless traveling with a parent or legal guardian. At check-in we ask that all guests age 18 and over have a valid photo id with date of birth. Any guest ages 18 to 24 not with their parents are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit per person. The security deposit is refunded between 8.30am and 11.00am on the scheduled morning of check out pending a room inspection. Guests who are local are required to pay a USD50 cash security deposit. Please call for cities considered local. Age Policy - Guests must be at least 23 years of age to check in without a parent or a legal guardian present. Reservations unknowingly booked for those less than 23 years of age will not be honored upon check-in.

Hotel Map

33.6788 -78.8953
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 2.83, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Plaza also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Ocean Plaza Rooms

Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Sideview King Room - Sideview room with 1 King bed and a small fridge.
Standard
Sideview Double Room with Kitchen - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a full kitchen.
Standard
Sideview Double Room - Sideview room with 2 double beds and a small fridge.
Standard
Oceanfront Double Room - Oceanfront room with 2 double beds a kitchen and a private balcony

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Shower

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 1.5 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.3 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.6 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.6 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.7 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.1 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 7.8 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.8 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Plaza

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria
Not Provided
Jul 12, 2011

I like it, all very good, no problems,

I like it, all very good, no problems, very nice, thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sasibear
maryland
Jul 4, 2014

getaway

the hotel was ordinary, nothing too special about it. the room was very clean. there was a functional kitchenette. the pool was nice. what would bring me back is the price and location. it was beach front and blocks from the amusment park. i would definitely recommend it if you want to go to the beach on a budget, just bring your clothes and groceries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ballsomething
Business
Charlotte
Jul 3, 2014

Hotel stay

There were big bugs there that made me very uncomfortable. Upon my arrival the room had sand in the carpet .....perhaps it hadn't been cleaned. I mentioned this upon checkout and the person at the desk said "oh, is their anything else"? I can say that I would recommend this hotel to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice place just a stroll from there called the Loco Gecko.

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MWen
NC
Jun 30, 2014

Good stay

You can't beat the location. Underground parking garage was very convenient, and the hotel is right on the beach. The staff was fairly friendly. Although it was a no-smoking room, our room did smell like smoke, however, it wasn't unbearable. All-in-all, I would definitely consider staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Piedmont three
piedmont, SC
Jun 24, 2014

Ocean Plaza

It was ok for the money. Front desk staff was not friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
can'tthinkofonethat'sfree
NC
Jun 13, 2014

It's fine

After I read all the horrible reviews about this hotel I was so terrified that it would be a total slum that I attempted to cancel my reservation in the last minute, but of course could not without losing money, so we followed through with the stay. OK so it's not the Ritz but it's not as bad as the reviews make it out to be either! The room wasn't fancy or new, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. It's true the towels and washcloths weren't Egyptian cotton, but they were clean and plentiful. The cons: the room did have a beer-y/smoke-y odor that hit us in the face when we first walked in. Because of the reviews we did expect the carpet to be filthy so we brought our houseshoes... and were glad that we did as the carpet was matted and hard. Still, all of the employees we encountered were friendly and helpful, even providing prompt attention when we informed the front desk that our tv remote was not working; they sent a maintenance man to replace it. The only thing I would do different if we stayed here again is to pay a little extra for an oceanfront room. And another negative of staying at the cheapest hotel you can find on the strip is that it attracts that kind of young party crowd. So if you want to be with a more refined/diginifed group, pay a little extra, we probably will for that reason next time too. Bottom line: location great, hotel fine. Don't let the reviews scare you, but if you're "hoity toity", it's not for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KeanaOSuperWomen
south carolina
Jun 6, 2014

money saving get away

The staff were ik the room was smelly and mildew when Iaskesd them to change the seats they didn't they just came and half made up the bed which was uncomfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
abdhr
Nc greensboro
Jun 1, 2014

Only the oceanview rooms are ok but othets not that much

The location is very nice and the pool both of them indoor and the outside pool are ok But oceansideview is not real oceansidevew its parking area views i changed the room becouse i can not view any things than the corridor or pathway Its ok anyway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Its ok about .8 mile of most of the dinning area ,and shopping , kidszone ,and nightlife

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
worldwide travel
Chicago
Apr 20, 2014

hovel

You only get what you pay for. Scratchy postage stamp towels, no hair dryer, 2 and 1/2 hangers literally. Dirty laundry left outside of elevator for 24 hours. Noisy children in the middle of the night. No kleenex. Hard pillows No Maid service. $28 surcharge to use pool. The pool was the only thing that was good. Not even 2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vick A Thom
Cleveland GA
Sep 2, 2013

It was a dump

The pictures that is posted for the Ocean Plaza should be false advertising. The place is old and out dated. When we checked in, bed had sand on bed spread. The place is worn out. It needs to be remodeled badly. The mattress needed to be replaced, it had dips in mattress. There were ants all over pool chairs and wall around pool. I reported to front desk and they said they were going to send out maintenance. They did nothing about it. I had rather sleep in my car. No wi-fi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

K & W Cafeteria / Great food and wonderful prices

Review of Ocean Plaza

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mustang Sallee
Business
Perry, GA
Aug 19, 2013

Horrible smell

This entire building, including the room, smelled like old fish grease, apparently wafting in from the "Award-Winning" restaurant on the property. I can't imagine what award it won because the food was edible; that's about the best that can be said about it. The noisy A/C ran all night and kept the room at a balmy 78 degrees or so, I killed 4 bugs, there was hair in the tub, black moldy gunk came from the shower head when I adjusted it, and the sink wouldn't drain. I checked out early the next morning, bought a bottle of Fabreeze to use on my clothes, (I didn't want to smell like grease), and moved to a different hotel. I will say the staff at the desk were great, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top