$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Ocean Park Resort

3 stars
1905 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
203 reviews
Wonderful family vacation!

I couldn't have asked for a better stay, the staff were all so nice and helpful and everyone was so... See full review

  • Brooke full time mom
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great Place for Families with Pets

My wife found this hotel and it was a great choice! The rooms are nice and the beds sleep well. The... See full review

  • Kildron
  • Jun 2, 2013
Fully furnished oceanfront studios and suites in Myrtle Beach

With or without kids, couples find the Ocean Park Resort a convenient place to stay during a trip to Myrtle Beach. Close to Myrtle Beach State Park and the Boardwalk, the hotel offers all the comforts of a private beachside condo, including balconies that look out to the Atlantic and a full kitchen stocked with utensils, dishware and appliances. Families gather at the outdoor pool or the children's pool -- all within view of the ocean.

Highlights
  • Fully furnished two-, three- and four-bedroom suites
  • Children under 18 stay free
  • Spacious oceanfront sundeck, indoor and outdoor pools and a children's pool
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Residential amenities such as full kitchens and laundry
Rooms

Neutral-colored walls contrast with festive tropical bedding and drapes in rooms large enough for families and groups. Layouts at the Ocean Park Resort vary depending on the room, but every space has a full kitchen stocked with utensils, dishware, coffee maker and microwave. Sliding glass doors open to balconies equipped with chairs for taking in the blissful views. 

Recreation

Ocean Park Resort visitors gather at the beachside outdoor pool or soak up rays on the wooded sundeck. A jet spray shoots water from the center of the kiddie pool, a guaranteed hit with the kids while adults sit at the edge.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (14.3 mi/23 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Attractions
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum  (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park  (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Grand Strand (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • The Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach  (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Palace Theatre (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/6 km)
Business

Business center

Policies and fees
  • The hotel, which is entirely smoke free, charges $150 for any room that requires a deep cleaning due to smoking.
  • Guests must be 21 to check in. The hotel also requires a valid photo ID and credit card to cover the room and any incidentals incurred during the stay.
  • Pets under 20 pounds and belonging to non-aggressive breeds are welcome at the property. The hotel charges $15 per night with a maximum of one pet per room. Pets must be on a leash in public areas and are not allowed in pool areas.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6707 -78.9045
Area served
Myrtle Beach, SC
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport(MYR)
Area description
Ocean Park Resort is located within 6 miles of the airport, family amusement parks, and Broadway at the Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Park Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Ocean Park Resort Rooms

Oceanfront One Bedroom
This non-smoking oceanfront suite features a separate bedroom with two queen size beds, a living room with a full-size Murphy bed, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, two flat screen televisions, and a private oceanfront balcony. For those guests traveling with dogs, the pet fee will be collected at check-in.
Standard Room
This non-smoking hotel room is equipped with two double beds, full bathroom, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and a private balcony. For those guests traveling with dogs, the pet fee will be collected at check-in.
Oceanfront Efficiency
This non-smoking oceanfront efficiency features two queen size beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, and private oceanfront balcony. For those guests traveling with dogs, the pet fee will be collected at check-in.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.9 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.1 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.4 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.6 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.9 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.1 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.4 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.6 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.8 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.9 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.5 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Broadway at the Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Park Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 203
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Jun 30, 2009

Oceanfront was nice....room not so nice

Upon arrival, desk staff pleasant and courteous. We were told that they had brand new elevators (however, one of them never functioned during our visit). The room was an oceanfront room as advertised. Beds were made and did have clean sheets. The television was adequate. The AC worked,but, its thermostat was either on or off (it took getting used to/but, it did function). There was a table and 2 chairs in the room. One of the chairs was seriously broken (for some reason, they had left the chair in the room?). The front door had a dead bolt and a chain lock (our chain lock's latch was damaged and had been torn from the wall). The bathroom had not been adequately cleaned upon arrival. Urine was evident on the toilet seat. There was also a urine odor near the sliding glass door of the room. Enough about the room. If you are looking for an Ocean Front room with below standard conditions/this room would be for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A nice par 3 golf course is a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryville, TN
Jun 14, 2009

Not so good.

This experience was not good. The rooms were nothing like what is shown on the web site. They were old and run down. We had a leak in our ceiling and they never would fix it. It was over the foot of the bed. Only one elevator working. No change machine in the laundry room. The air conditioner in the bedroom half worked. It was not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jldelaney
Toledo, OH
Aug 2, 2013

Don't Book this hotel!!

Where do I start!!?? 1. Initially I thought this was going to be a good location. PERFECT view of the beach, balcony, full size fridge, stove and sink. Starting off good, but then... 2. Shannon at the front desk had the nastiest attitude the entire time. Acted bothered to deal with us at all. 3. Dust bunnies hanging from the ceiling above the bed 4. Hair hanging from the bathroom vent 5. Sliding glass door handle broken 6. Alarm clock broken 7. Lobby computer was soooo slow! It took over an hour to print my boarding passes. Computer kept freezing and needing to be rebooted. 8. WAY too much chlorine in the pool and hot tub. It ate a hole in my swim suit after only one hour. 9. Pet friendly might seem nice for those with pets, but it's not so nice for those of us WITHOUT pets who have to listen to yippy dogs barking all night in the next room. 10. Worst of all, on day 2 of 5, we heard a gurgling in the kitchen sink. Went in to find sewage coming up out of the drain. It smelled like fecal matter. Called the front desk and when maintenance came in he told us they knew about it and was supposed to fix it but hadn't gotten to it yet. Asked him when it could be resolved and he didn't know. We had to leave the balcony door open all day (94 degrees out) and leave the room for the day because the stench was overpowering. By 10 p.m. when we came back, the smell was still lingering. They were booked full so couldn't move our room & we were stuck in that smell all night. In the morning I talked to the office manager, Michael Krempel who was unwilling to reimburse me ANY amount for the night of misery. He did fix the door and replace the clock, but when asked about the inconvenience of staying in a room that smelled like feces he said he couldn't do anything about that because I'd booked on a secondary site (O-rbitz) so it was out of his hands. He had a very arrogant attitude and was unwilling to do anything to show remorse for our experience. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pirates Voyage was a MUST see!! Skywheel was awesome! T.I.G.E.R.S. preserve/Preservation station - misleading. On their website it looks like you get to hold the animals and see all sorts of shows - not the case. That is only available if you pay the $250 admission price! The "free" admission is at a strip shopping center - 3 tigers behind glass. You can pay $80- to have your picture taken with a baby tiger that you hold for less than one minute. My 7 year old was heartbroken! Very misleading.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh
Jul 24, 2009

Not great

The room was dirty, bathroom sink and toilet were not working, trouble getting the room service. I will not stay at this hotel again, and would not recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pebbles n brooke
Florence, AZ
Jul 7, 2010

No good the deffinitly Bad and ugly!!!

Stayed at hotels that were less than this 3 star hotel and had wonderful staff and room. [...] (desk clerk) rudely hung up on me when I wanted to change my dates. It was confirmed that I would get the ocean view room I requested BUT DID NOT GET IT.Instead I got a room that overlooked a storage area of chemicals for the pool. Got in the room and coffee was broke told no maintenance was on until 9 am in the morning. I reported it them and never did got a new pot.Shower curtain fell out of the wall, and tissue box would not stay in.Had to go out to dunken donuts every day to get coffee. I think We had the worse room in the hotel. I WILL NEVER STAY IN THAT HOTEL AGAIN. DEFENITLY NOT A 3 STAR HOTEL IN MY BOOK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

DON'T STAY THERE THERE ARE MUCH NICER ONE NEAR THIS ONE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Sep 20, 2009

WOW! No not of the good type!

Well for the single good thing, It was a nice view from the 10th floor. We started on the 8th floor and soon as the door was opened, the strong smell of smoke hit us. This is supposed to be a "smoke free hotel", well that was not true. We were moved to the 10th floor which had no odor but the walls had been patched and not painted over and the bathroom door had been torn up on the inside (shreaded). This place invites pets and that is good but watch where you step. The beach in front of the hotel and the hotel grounds itself was littered with thousands of cig butts! Would never stay there again. Not worth the cheap price!!!This place need renovation or a better maint, staff! Beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
doughboy438
North Caplina
May 30, 2013

Do not stay here!

Very rude front desk staff. Do not get room you booked! Old and outdated. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Mar 2, 2008

Once was MORE than enough!

The only good thing about this hotel was that it is ocean front. The hot tub right outside our door, you couldn't even see the ocean. (The hot tub was only hot our first day.) This sliding glass door didn't lock. It had a sliding rod that didn't line up with the hole it was supposed to slide into. We told the desk it wouldn't lock and they sent someone to look at it. He said you need to wiggle it to get it to line up right. It took over an hour with 2 of us trying to wiggle it just right to get the rod to slide in. (By that time we were both covered with grease.) Where the rug in the room started, after the kitchen area, it was all frayed and pulling up. There were staples sticking up that my daughter stepped on in bare feet. They did come and covered it with duct tape. There were also staples sticking out of the back of one of the chairs at the table. They ripped a hole in my brand new shorts. The bathroom door also wouldn't close tight. They didn't do anything about that. They were dead roaches on the floor, both in the room and on the balcony. There was a sauna, but it didn't get hot. There were glasses in the cabinet with dried milk on the bottom. We wouldn't stay here again if they paid us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Worst Conditions Ever Paid For
Rochester, MN
Aug 31, 2009

Never Again

We travel a lot and we've never, i mean never, been to a hotel like this. This place looked ok from the outside. When we walked in the front door it was like being swallowed by the house of horror!! The place smelled bad. I would describe it as old urine smell I guess. The elevators were wet and smelled even worse. We waled into our room and I was so disappointed. You walked into the kitchen which was very small. The fridge and the room door couldn't be opened at the same time. The bathroom was across from the kitchen sink. We didn't have enough utinsels for 4 people. There was tile and wall paper falling off the wall. some laying on the floor. Everytime you closed the bathroom door big chunks of dirt fell off. The patio furniture was broken. The dresser draws didn't close all the way and were in the walkway of the room. We had burnt out light bulbs as well.The drain in the shower was partially plugged and we stood in water as we showered. I complained but was told there was nothing they could do because I booked through orbitz. I had to ask for clean towels every day. I kept getting the response that they didn't have any. Had to wait for laundry. It didn't matter what time of the day it was. One day i found a huge bug in the bathroom!! This pushed me over the edge. I complained to desk staff for about the 10th time. They did finally get me a discount on the room. It was not near enough. The only reason we stayed was because we didn't have the money to pay for two places and because we are a military family and conditions in Iraq aren't that great either. However, we paid for the this place and I have never been so let down. I will think twice about planning another vacation through orbitz. So much for our family getaway. This hotel pretty much ruined it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DE Mom of Three Boys
Milford, DE
Aug 20, 2014

Do not book this hotel

My family and I arrived and had to wait over 30 minutes for our room. After entering the room, it was very obvious that it had been spot cleaned. The carpets were full of dog hair, the bathroom sink was unclean and had a wet unwrapped soap in the basin, the tub had hair in and on it, cereal was stuck to the floor and the dresser was dusty and had hair on it. We called the front desk to complain and was told that room service would be up. After a second call 40 minutes later, someone arrived to vacuum the floor. The room smelled like wet dog afterwards. The worst part was that every towel and/or wash cloth contained long blond and/or black hairs...that didn't belong to anyone in my family. Our towels were exchanged daily and unbelievably had hair on them each day. I complained to the front desk and the manager told me that he couldn't adjust the room rate because I booked my accommodations through a third party. He would however, make sure that housekeeping paid special attention to my room. When my family and I arrived back to the room after a long day of sight seeing, to my surprise there were yet hairs again in/on the towels and tub. I took the towel to the front desk to complain. The attendant spoke with housekeeping to have them bring up "fresh" towels. When they arrived over 30 minutes later, the towels were in a plastic bag. Once again, after a long day of being out, I took a shower and opened a towel to find an embedded hair. The elevator was out of service one day and we had to walk down 9 flights of stairs after waiting 30 minutes for the only working elevator to stop on our floor. This is by far the worst hotel experience I have ever had and caution anyone not to make reservations here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Family fun is a short drive from hotel...water park, amusement park and hands on attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search