$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Ocean Park Resort

3 stars
1905 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
361 reviews
Wonderful family vacation!

I couldn't have asked for a better stay, the staff were all so nice and helpful and everyone was so... See full review

  • Brooke full time mom
  • Jul 14, 2014
Great Place for Families with Pets

My wife found this hotel and it was a great choice! The rooms are nice and the beds sleep well. The... See full review

  • Kildron
  • Jun 2, 2013
Fully furnished oceanfront studios and suites in Myrtle Beach

With or without kids, couples find the Ocean Park Resort a convenient place to stay during a trip to Myrtle Beach. Close to Myrtle Beach State Park and the Boardwalk, the hotel offers all the comforts of a private beachside condo, including balconies that look out to the Atlantic and a full kitchen stocked with utensils, dishware and appliances. Families gather at the outdoor pool or the children's pool -- all within view of the ocean.

Highlights
  • Fully furnished two-, three- and four-bedroom suites
  • Children under 18 stay free
  • Spacious oceanfront sundeck, indoor and outdoor pools and a children's pool
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Residential amenities such as full kitchens and laundry
Rooms

Neutral-colored walls contrast with festive tropical bedding and drapes in rooms large enough for families and groups. Layouts at the Ocean Park Resort vary depending on the room, but every space has a full kitchen stocked with utensils, dishware, coffee maker and microwave. Sliding glass doors open to balconies equipped with chairs for taking in the blissful views. 

Recreation

Ocean Park Resort visitors gather at the beachside outdoor pool or soak up rays on the wooded sundeck. A jet spray shoots water from the center of the kiddie pool, a guaranteed hit with the kids while adults sit at the edge.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (14.3 mi/23 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Attractions
  • Franklin G Burroughs -- Simeon B Chapin Art Museum  (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park  (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Grand Strand (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • The Children's Museum (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach  (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Palace Theatre (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.7 mi/6 km)
Business

Business center

Policies and fees
  • The hotel, which is entirely smoke free, charges $150 for any room that requires a deep cleaning due to smoking.
  • Guests must be 21 to check in. The hotel also requires a valid photo ID and credit card to cover the room and any incidentals incurred during the stay.
  • Pets under 20 pounds and belonging to non-aggressive breeds are welcome at the property. The hotel charges $15 per night with a maximum of one pet per room. Pets must be on a leash in public areas and are not allowed in pool areas.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6707 -78.9045
Area served
Myrtle Beach, SC
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport(MYR)
Area description
Ocean Park Resort is located within 6 miles of the airport, family amusement parks, and Broadway at the Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Park Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Ocean Park Resort Rooms

Oceanfront One Bedroom
This non-smoking oceanfront suite features a separate bedroom with two queen size beds, a living room with a full-size Murphy bed, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, two flat screen televisions, and a private oceanfront balcony. For those guests traveling with dogs, the pet fee will be collected at check-in.
Standard Room
This non-smoking hotel room is equipped with two double beds, full bathroom, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and a private balcony. For those guests traveling with dogs, the pet fee will be collected at check-in.
Oceanfront Efficiency
This non-smoking oceanfront efficiency features two queen size beds, a fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom, and private oceanfront balcony. For those guests traveling with dogs, the pet fee will be collected at check-in.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.9 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.1 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.4 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.6 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.1 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.9 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.1 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 3.4 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 3.4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 3.4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 3.6 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 3.8 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.9 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 8.5 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 8.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Broadway at the Beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (361)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Park Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
361 out of 361
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
south carolina
Sep 28, 2009

not informed

book over the phone was not informed that this motel was for pets as well(wife have problem with pet hair)also room was not clean.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hospitality Employee
Atlanta, Ga
Jul 15, 2009

Horrible Experience

Yes, checked into 3 rooms...found hair in the first bed (sheets never changed). Huge hole in the ceiling...glass was filthy with fingerprints...second room smelt of pee...drains were clogged...more hair on the floor...and nobody was willing to do anything to rectify my situation. I spoke with the front desk multiple times and he was completely unwilling to be of any help besides change us to another filthy room. He did offer an upgrade but wanted me to pay extra, in past experiences such discusting situations calls for a free upgrade. THIS HOTEL NEEDS SERIOUS HELP! I have been in the hotel industry for 4 years and am currently the operations manager of a homewood suites in kennesaw ga. This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in my life and feel something should be done to rectify this situation, i simply gave up with the staff...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
doughboy438
North Caplina
May 30, 2013

Do not stay here!

Very rude front desk staff. Do not get room you booked! Old and outdated. Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Mar 2, 2008

Once was MORE than enough!

The only good thing about this hotel was that it is ocean front. The hot tub right outside our door, you couldn't even see the ocean. (The hot tub was only hot our first day.) This sliding glass door didn't lock. It had a sliding rod that didn't line up with the hole it was supposed to slide into. We told the desk it wouldn't lock and they sent someone to look at it. He said you need to wiggle it to get it to line up right. It took over an hour with 2 of us trying to wiggle it just right to get the rod to slide in. (By that time we were both covered with grease.) Where the rug in the room started, after the kitchen area, it was all frayed and pulling up. There were staples sticking up that my daughter stepped on in bare feet. They did come and covered it with duct tape. There were also staples sticking out of the back of one of the chairs at the table. They ripped a hole in my brand new shorts. The bathroom door also wouldn't close tight. They didn't do anything about that. They were dead roaches on the floor, both in the room and on the balcony. There was a sauna, but it didn't get hot. There were glasses in the cabinet with dried milk on the bottom. We wouldn't stay here again if they paid us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland
Oct 23, 2008

A great view, not much else

A premonition struck upon reaching the electronic sliding front door of the hotel which was plastered with a sign that said please close door. Okay, it was heavy and I closed the door and ran into the slacker dude at the front desk who quickly checked me in---to a room already occupied by an old woman retiree with two barking dogs that rushed me as I opened the door and quietly backed out before the screams began. Back down in the elevator that struggled to reach each floor like an Apollo moon landing-cept the buttons you pressed didn't light up. Another quick check in, but this time to a room where the door was jammed shut and wouldn't open-okay the elevator again and now I'm thinking is this ground hog day? The third time was the charm and the room was great if it was maybe 1950 when it would have been the rage of Myrtle beach-but now it's just old. The sheets were clean and the view of the ocean was like having a huge plasma screen tv in the middle of a shanty or faveljo. The staff was polite and pleasant and probably trying to make the best of a situation that management/ownership refuses to improve upon. -your fearsome traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Myrtle Beach SC
Jan 2, 2011

Average

Hotel is nice and a great location. Would not advise anyone to stay here if you have even a slight allergy to dogs. Recent diagnosis and never had a reaction until staying at this hotel. Doctor is sure it had to do with their carpet and previous guests with dogs in room. Trouble breathing in room, out on beach or away from hotel ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Nightlife only about 4 miles away.

Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted birthday traveler
Atlanta, GA
May 26, 2009

Worst Hotel Ever

This hotel was so bad that we cut our trip short and returned home early. On the night of the arrival there was a leak in the ceiling which we promptly informed staff about; however, not only did they refuse to change our room when there were other rooms available but they were rather nasty. The only action taken was to move the ceiling tiles giving us a birds eye view of the mold in the ceiling. While I do understand that things will happen the hotel has a duty to handle the matter in a satisfactory manner. This hotel failed miserably at that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Worst Conditions Ever Paid For
Rochester, MN
Aug 31, 2009

Never Again

We travel a lot and we've never, i mean never, been to a hotel like this. This place looked ok from the outside. When we walked in the front door it was like being swallowed by the house of horror!! The place smelled bad. I would describe it as old urine smell I guess. The elevators were wet and smelled even worse. We waled into our room and I was so disappointed. You walked into the kitchen which was very small. The fridge and the room door couldn't be opened at the same time. The bathroom was across from the kitchen sink. We didn't have enough utinsels for 4 people. There was tile and wall paper falling off the wall. some laying on the floor. Everytime you closed the bathroom door big chunks of dirt fell off. The patio furniture was broken. The dresser draws didn't close all the way and were in the walkway of the room. We had burnt out light bulbs as well.The drain in the shower was partially plugged and we stood in water as we showered. I complained but was told there was nothing they could do because I booked through orbitz. I had to ask for clean towels every day. I kept getting the response that they didn't have any. Had to wait for laundry. It didn't matter what time of the day it was. One day i found a huge bug in the bathroom!! This pushed me over the edge. I complained to desk staff for about the 10th time. They did finally get me a discount on the room. It was not near enough. The only reason we stayed was because we didn't have the money to pay for two places and because we are a military family and conditions in Iraq aren't that great either. However, we paid for the this place and I have never been so let down. I will think twice about planning another vacation through orbitz. So much for our family getaway. This hotel pretty much ruined it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryville, TN
Jun 14, 2009

Not so good.

This experience was not good. The rooms were nothing like what is shown on the web site. They were old and run down. We had a leak in our ceiling and they never would fix it. It was over the foot of the bed. Only one elevator working. No change machine in the laundry room. The air conditioner in the bedroom half worked. It was not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elysburg, PA
Oct 5, 2008

Worst Room in The Hotel?

I was very disappointed in my room. It has to be the worst room in the hotel. This is an ocean front hotel and I not only did not have an ocean front or ocean view, my room overlooked the generator! I asked about moving to another room and they wouldn't do it, even if I paid more. The bathroom was also not the cleanest and I had noticed that the toilet was extremely slow in going down. I notifed the desk clerk who contacted maint. via radio, but no one responded while I was there. On my last day there, the toilet overflowed making a mess. I called the desk and notified them. I was packing to leave and in the half hour that took, no one responded. I also did not have an ironing board or alarm clock in the room. I asked 6 times for an ironing board and had to wait 5 hours to get one. I was also told that none of the rooms have alarm clocks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Damon's jsut down the street.

Back to menu Return to top