$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Ocean Park Resort

3 stars
View map of 1905 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Park Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Atlanta, GA
Sep 20, 2009

WOW! No not of the good type!

Well for the single good thing, It was a nice view from the 10th floor. We started on the 8th floor and soon as the door was opened, the strong smell of smoke hit us. This is supposed to be a "smoke free hotel", well that was not true. We were moved to the 10th floor which had no odor but the walls had been patched and not painted over and the bathroom door had been torn up on the inside (shreaded). This place invites pets and that is good but watch where you step. The beach in front of the hotel and the hotel grounds itself was littered with thousands of cig butts! Would never stay there again. Not worth the cheap price!!!This place need renovation or a better maint, staff! Beware.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
golfer and friends
Single
chicago, IL
Sep 18, 2009

Great Ocean front Area

The hotel was terrific, the only compliant I had was they keep the fitness center locked so that you have to go up to the front desk to get the keys. Close to many restuarants but far enough away from the downtown crush that the beach area is nice and quiet and few locals wander into the resort's pool areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovetheocean
Family
Rock Hill, SC
Sep 14, 2009

View can't be beat!

Our whole family loved this trip. The hotel's location right on the beach was wonderful. We had two one bedroom oceanfront rooms which suited our needs, however, we didn't get the adjoining rooms we requested, and they were pretty far apart. At least they were on the same floor. Our teenage son loved sleeping in the Murphy bed and waking up with the sun on his face. We really enjoyed beachcombing, the whirlpool, and all the adorable dogs. It is an older hotel so there were some cracks and stains but we enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
S.W. Ohio
Sep 9, 2009

Great place for pet lovers

OPR is classified as a 3 star hotel and that shoe fits pretty well. They accept pets which was my biggest factor and they have a large grassed area for dogs to "do their business". Only 2 elevators can be a pain in the butt when the hotel is busy. Room was decent,staff was friendly , most of the housekeepers did a good job.Air conditioners worked well butt gave off mildewy smell. Overall, as I stated above, it is probably one of the better "pet friendly" hotels and I would not hesitate to book there again if i was taking a pet. However if you are not taking a pet ,then this hotel is probably less than what you're looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Fayetteville, NC
Sep 8, 2009

Nice for the price

It was a nice place the room was just a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Asheboro, NC
Sep 7, 2009

Family Trip

The hotel was very pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NC
Sep 7, 2009

Myrtle Beach - Labor Day Weekend 2009

I was skeptical b/c of all the bad reviews, but the hotel room was decent, no complaints. My room was clean and very cold (which is the way we like it). It had a great view and a nice whirlpool. We didn't come to spend hours in our hotel room, so all we wanted was a nice room to sleep in and wanted a clean room, with some amenities, and a friendly staff. We got all of these things. It wasn't resort or luxury style living, but it was what we expected. We also were able to check in 2 hours early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucky Bill
Family
Angier NC
Sep 6, 2009

What a fun place to stay

This resort was very kind to families with pets. Three pools and great beach access and they provided pet care productsa as you entered the beach. We saw great fireworks from a pier down the beach on Saturday night- 8-10 minute show. Staff was very patient as were the other guests

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For breakfast, exit and turn left- Follow Ocean drive around to Kings rd (Bs 17) and everything comes up in first 15 blocks

Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Worst Conditions Ever Paid For
Family
Rochester, MN
Aug 31, 2009

Never Again

We travel a lot and we've never, i mean never, been to a hotel like this. This place looked ok from the outside. When we walked in the front door it was like being swallowed by the house of horror!! The place smelled bad. I would describe it as old urine smell I guess. The elevators were wet and smelled even worse. We waled into our room and I was so disappointed. You walked into the kitchen which was very small. The fridge and the room door couldn't be opened at the same time. The bathroom was across from the kitchen sink. We didn't have enough utinsels for 4 people. There was tile and wall paper falling off the wall. some laying on the floor. Everytime you closed the bathroom door big chunks of dirt fell off. The patio furniture was broken. The dresser draws didn't close all the way and were in the walkway of the room. We had burnt out light bulbs as well.The drain in the shower was partially plugged and we stood in water as we showered. I complained but was told there was nothing they could do because I booked through orbitz. I had to ask for clean towels every day. I kept getting the response that they didn't have any. Had to wait for laundry. It didn't matter what time of the day it was. One day i found a huge bug in the bathroom!! This pushed me over the edge. I complained to desk staff for about the 10th time. They did finally get me a discount on the room. It was not near enough. The only reason we stayed was because we didn't have the money to pay for two places and because we are a military family and conditions in Iraq aren't that great either. However, we paid for the this place and I have never been so let down. I will think twice about planning another vacation through orbitz. So much for our family getaway. This hotel pretty much ruined it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Park Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Charlotte, NC
Aug 25, 2009

Good deal for the price

This hotel was good for the price. It wasn't up to my standards when it came to cleanliness but I really can't complain. The railing on the balcony was not stable. There was rust in the bathroom and on the air conditioning system but other than that, I got what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from those all you can eat seafood buffets. They use cheap, imitation products. If you want real seafood (and who doesn't at the beach) go to a fine dining restaurant and pay the extra price.

Back to menu Return to top