$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 13, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

5 stars
View map of 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
knight7x
Business
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Jul 10, 2014

About my stay at the Marina Inn

For the price I paid, the hotel wasn't near what I expected. Originally when I reserved through an online booking site, I was told by the customer service that the hotel was right on the beach. Turns out that the hotel has shuttles that go back and forth to the beach which is a mile away. The hotel provides chairs, umbrellas, and towels at the beach but on busy days, you would have to get there really early (as early as 7 or 8 am) for a chance to reserve a couple of chairs and an umbrella. I was there from Thursday to Tuesday, and I remember on Friday and Saturday we had to wait for couple of hours to get a hold of some towels. Regarding the room, there was a big stain on the bed's comforter. It took 2 days to clean that. The communication between the staff members is very poor. One of the days the room service did not leave clean towels in the room. Another day they missed the soap and shampoo. Then when I requested anything on the phone, like room towels or soap, it took the staff forever to deliver them. And when these items were delivered, we had two different staff personnel at two different times delivering the items. You definitely need a car to get anywhere from the hotel. don't expect that you can just walk anywhere. The hotel is about 10 to 15 driving minutes away form Broadway and about 20 minutes from boardwalk. I have to mention that one good thing was that my room was upgraded to a suite because when I arrived as they had no more regular rooms left. Also, for all of the troubles I had to go through, I called the manager and she gave me a voucher for one complementary breakfast and she refunded the $99 hotel fees. I was still unhappy with the choice I made for this hotel because I spent 6 days of my vacation time at work and my expectations were higher. Also, and to be fair, the staff members including the manager were nice and polite. No one at this hotel was rude. So that was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LHB71
Business
North Carolina
Jul 10, 2014

Great experience

We recently went on a family vacation and stayed at the Marina Inn @ Grand Dunes and had an awesome time. I gave been to Myrtle Beach many times and stayed at a lot of nice hotels but this by far was the best! I plan to return real soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smith Family Fun
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 8, 2014

Another Fantastic Stay!

This was our second time staying at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. Both vacations have been no short of amazing, and we always look forward to coming back. The pool terrace is so incredibly relaxing, and the private beach access is superb! The customer service is always top notch. Already planning a trip for May 2015 for our 5 Year Wedding Anniversary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle2332
Business
Dalton, GA
Jul 8, 2014

Such a great stay

Super comfy rooms and great amenities. Perfect hotel for couples. Jet ski and boat rentals right next door. Shopping/food all within 10 minutes. Broadway at the beach and the actual beach within 15 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to try the dolphin tour on the jet skis, be sure to go EARLY around 8-10am or else you won't see you any :(

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meme Parker
Business
Cameron, NC
Jul 7, 2014

Great place to stay

My overall experience at this resort was a good one. The grounds are amazingly beautiful and the rooms are very pretty as well. If I could offer suggested improvements I'd mention that the staff could be more friendly. Also the reception area is a bit confusing. There's no order; I was overlooked by the staff and while two other families walked in after me and were assisted while I waited. Nonetheless, I'd return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Tanger outlet is within 4 miles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CrossfitSC
Business
Lexington SC
Jun 19, 2014

Great discount for business trip

Very nice hotel for the price. Overnight business trip to MB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nononickname
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
May 27, 2014

Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

I had both good and bad experiences here. Check in was terrible. We did arrive early and was told they were booked but would call us when a room was ready. We explored Myrtle beach and came back 4 hours later. The same women with the blond hair said a room should be ready anytime now so we told her we would go to the pool and wait. Two hours later my husband spoke to the manage and he got us a room immediatly. As my husband walked by the lady who never contacted us she told him she was just about to call us. I was not happy. One hand towel & one bath towel had stains on it and only one bar of soap wias in the bathroom. The second day athe house keeper closed our door but it wasn't locked shut. It took hours before the wash clothes and had towel were cleaned and brough to our room. I flet like I wasted $400 staying here and could have done better. I will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Carolina Roadhouse has the best ribs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hillmanbass
Business
Mytle Beach
Apr 16, 2014

Great

The second time we have stayed here excellent all around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
It's
Business
Greensboro
Mar 17, 2014

Great place

Couldn't be better really nice clean and quite only heard an occasional door slam

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denny T
Business
Manning, SC
Mar 13, 2014

Real neat place

Great room, wonderful view of intercostal waterway and marina. All rooms have this view. Heated outside pool was a comfortable temperature. We negoIated a late checkout which was appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bonefish restaurant was great, the mussels from the appetizer menu is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top