$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

5 stars
View map of 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time SC visitor
Business
Texas
Aug 1, 2011

Excellent experience

The Marina Inn at Grand Dunes was an excellent hotel with many great services. The private beach with umbrellas and lounge chairs as well as the food and drink cabana was wonderful. The shuttle service was readily available and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Jul 30, 2011

Marina Inn does not show up on GPS

The hotel was difficult to find, as it does not show up on GPS. There were 3 restaurant locations on site, but only one was open during the day, and it had a very limited menu. I think the hotel was nice, and very clean, however, undeserving of a five star rating. It certainly was not worth the 550.00 we spent for two nights. Sadly disappointed. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I would highly recommend the Waterscapes restaurant on the property of the hotel. The meal was exceptional.

Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 24, 2011

Very nice hotel & hospitality

Hotel was clean & above average. The staff was friendly and helpful. Golfing at Grand Dunes was a treat. No real negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Suggest the following places for food: Ruth's Chris Steak House - excellent service and superior beef (also conveniently on the property), Joe's Bar & Grille - casual but tasty meal, Aspen Grille - above average food, good service; kind of between Ruth's Chris & Joe's, and finally Bimini's - a local & very casual joint; a bit loud but good prices on a pretty decent selection of raw seafood as well as fried everything if you're into that.

Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oceanlove
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Jul 21, 2011

Great Family Hotel

The hotel was really nice. We had mixed feeling about not staying on the beach and seeing the ocean, but found that we loved the location of the Marina Inn. The private beach was less than one mile away and we didn't have to deal with the over crowd beach. The kids loved the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annville, PA
Jun 29, 2011

Wonderful getaway

Everything was perfect after we checked in. Little late with check in, past that beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Trip Family of 4
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2011

Don't stay anywhere else

I would stay no where else. This hotel had it all -gorgeous grounds, private beach, fun pool, kids activities and excellent dining. Each time we were near the strip of hotels on the beach, I was so thankful we were staying at the Marina Inn. Hotel was clean, but housekeeping was average - never had enough towels or all the sand wiped out of the tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Waterscapes restaurant in the hotel was top notch - we weren't expecting too much and were shocked at the delicious meal we had. Only planned on eating there for convenience, but went back since it was so good.

Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 27, 2011

Fabulous Getaway

The location was great, we had a great view over the water. The hotel was very clean, and the staff was friendly and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Apr 26, 2011

Nice Place

Nice hotel, quiet room. The beach is a couple of miles away. There is a hotel shuttle to the beach, but would recommend driving yourself so you can come and go as you please. The description of the hotel says "private beach", but it is not a private beach, it is a private entrance to a public beach. The hotel provides chairs and umbrellas for use at the beach, but you dont have to show ID or anything to use them, so I'm fairly certain there were people using them that weren't staying there. The beach is clean. Probably wouldn't recommend this place for people travelling with kids or those that want to be in walking distance to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely need a car to get around, except for the on-site dining, there are no restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsville, NY
Apr 25, 2011

Nice Facility

I was a little disppointed at the distance the Inn was from the beach and other attractions but with a car was able to get the most out of the area. I was dissapointed also with the staff, especailly the cleaning staff. The staff at the front desk was not very friendly or helpful. Concierge staff was not available much of the time. All that being said, the facility was very nice and we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Couple :)
Business
Lockport, NY
Apr 22, 2011

Absolutely wonderful time!

My husband and I wanted a nice hotel, good location and beautiful weather and we were granted all three wishes at the Marina Inn. We played golf for 3 days of our stay and the hotel staff could not be more accommodating with helping make our tee times and recommending where to play. The location is ideal for any activity. The Marina Inn is central to shopping, beach, and many choices for dining out. We are looking forward to our next vacation and will absolutely be staying at the Marina Inn. We miss it already!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top