Jonathan Harbour

3 stars
2611 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
33 reviews
vacation

the room was spacious and the location was excellent See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 11, 2010
[...]

[...] See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 10, 2010
Beach style for families on a budget near attractions in Myrtle Beach
The casual Jonathan Harbour hotel occupies one of the widest, most serene parts of the 60-mile stretch encompassing the Grand Strand, but is still close enough to major destinations like Market Common, Broadway at the Beach and Family Kingdom Amusement and Water Park. Families are drawn to the indoor and outdoor pools, and comfortable rooms equipped with full kitchens and separate living and sleeping areas. Balconies invite guests to enjoy the ocean views.

Highlights
  • Close to Market Common, Hard Rock Amusement Park, Springmaid Pier and Broadway at the Beach
  • Indoor, outdoor and children's pools
  • Beach chairs, umbrellas and float rentals
  • Two- and three-room efficiencies with full kitchens and partial or full ocean views
  • Free parking

Rooms

Carpeted rooms show tropical flair via palm-printed bedding and coordinating framed prints. Layouts vary depending on the location of the room, with ocean views from either the side of the building or on the beachfront. All rooms at Jonathan Harbour come with lounge areas, full kitchens and dining room tables to accommodate family travelers.

Recreation
Whatever the weather, guests at Jonathan Harbour are able to take a swim. An open gate connecting the outdoor and indoor pools keeps the traffic free-flowing and the family out of the rain when weather does not cooperate. A children's pool allows kids to wade safely while parents bask in the sun from the edge. An enclosed Jacuzzi and fitness center offer more leisure time.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi./1.5 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi./18.5 km)
Attractions
  • Franklin G. Burroughs -- Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum  (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park  (1 mi./1.6 km)
  • Market Common (1.6 mi./2.5 km)
  • Grand Strand (3.3 mi./5.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (3.7 mi./6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (3.7 mi./6 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.7 mi./6 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (3.7 mi./6 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach  (3.9 mi./6.2 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (3.9 mi./6.2 km)
  • Palace Theatre (3.9 mi./6.3 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (4 mi./6.4 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (4 mi./6.4 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (4.1 mi./6.7 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (6.7 mi./10.9 km)
  • Carolina Opry (9.2 mi./14.8 km)

Policies and fees

Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6637 -78.913
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
South end of Ocean Blvd in Myrtle Beach – oceanfront at 27th Ave S and Ocean Blvd. 2 Miles from Family Kingdom.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jonathan Harbour also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Jonathan Harbour Rooms

Direct Oceanfront
Direct Oceanfront room is a two-room efficiency with one full bath. Room can sleep 4 with one queen bed and a sleeper sofa. Room has 2 TV's, a full kitchen and a balcony.
Side Oceanview
Sideview room is a 2 room suite with 2 double beds in the bedroom and a pullout sofa in the living room and includes 2 TV's, a full kitchen and balcony.
Limited Side Oceanview
Limited Side Ocean view is a 2 room suite with 2 double beds in the bedroom and a pullout sofa in the living room. Room includes 2 TV's, a full kitchen and balcony.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.7 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.8 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.7 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.8 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.2 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.1 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Jonathan Harbour

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 33
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.4

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Confirmation but not booked
Business
Myrtle beach, SC
Sep 26, 2010

confirmation but not booked

The hotel was nice and clean. I plan to take my 2 kids and their friends on the next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Straight shot on highway 17.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SW Michigan
Sep 25, 2010

Marginal

Hotel is a little run down. Parking across the street is not ideal. Even for the money there isn't much to recommend it. Not terrible, no single thing really poor, just doesn't add up to much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Aug 25, 2010

A little good, and a lot bad

I booked this hotel knowing it was an older one. However, it wasn't the age of this hotel that bothered me on our trip. The room was very spacious and had a nice side ocean view. The location is awesome. Most of the major attractions in Myrtle Beach are 10-20 minutes away. The housekeeper was HORRIBLE and completely lazy. Our first day, we asked for towels at 9:00 AM. We did not get towels till after 6 PM that night. She did not clean the room either, even though my wife and I were gone a majority of the day. The second day, she cleaned the room-kind of. Crumbs were left on the living room floor, a new roll of toilet paper was placed on the floors, not on the empty roll. I think all she did was make the bed and give us new towels. The third day, she did not clean the room again (again, my wife and I were gone most of the day. She had the chance). She did come around 6 PM and ask if we needed her to do anything. Um yes, to do your job, lazy! One of the reasons we booked this hotel was for the internet access. The internet access worked maybe 50 percent of the time, and half of this time it was insanely slow, taking 3 minutes to load one web page. Very annoying for us, since my wife needed the internet for a contract she is working on. The pool was an indoor/outdoor pool. The indoor portion was large, the outdoor portion was insanely small. There was two tiny hot tubs, one of which was never hot. The walls appear to be very thin here, as we could hear music one night, stomping and jumping one night, and a TV blaring the other night. Parking is across the street, which wasn't too bad. The roads were not extremely busy when we were there. While there was a full kitchen, the stove had uneven heating, which resulted in burnt food. There was only one fork in the silverware drawer. I didn't expect a full aresenal of kitchen ware, but the basics would have been nice. We won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RonnieH
Business
Ellenwood, GA
Aug 24, 2010

Nice having two rooms to spreadout

close to beach and I enjoyed having two rooms so as not to be confined to one room and full kitchen to cook if you did not feel like going out for one of your meals even though I do not like to cook when I am on vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon, MI
Jul 24, 2010

not so hot....

This was the dirtiest place I have ever stayed. each afternoon the housekeeping crew would take the garbage out and pile it in the hallway. the shortest amount of time was for up to six hours, the longest being almost 24. The hallway was open to the outside, and this may seem alright at first, but it was Mrtle Beach, and the temp. was over 90 each day. It was very close t othe ocean and thge view was great, but the view and smell of the trash over shadowed the beautiful ocean and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
McCormick, sC
Jul 22, 2010

only at best possible price

The location is good , however the rooms are sparsely furnished . You only get whatever the unit owner wants to furnish and they apparently are not required to supply a minimum in anything. We didn't even have chairs for our ocean view balcony .Exterior maintenance is non-existent; If you stay here,ity should be because the price is worth it . The pools are so small that it only takes a few kids in them and they are full .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 9, 2010

Myrtle Beach June/July 2010

When we first pulled up to the hotel I was a little worried. It does look a little dumpy on the outside compared to some of the surrounding bigger and more updated hotels in the area. We arrived early and couldn't check into the hotel but the girl at the front desk was very nice and gave us a parking pass so we could park and set up on the beach. Once we were able to check in we were very surprised at how big the rooms are. They span from one side of the hotel to the other and include a bedroom, kitchen, bathroom, large living room, and a balcony. We did have one issue while there. One night we came back late around 1:30 am and realized that our hotel key wouldn't work because it was in the same pocket as a magnet we bought. The front desk staff leaves at 11 and if there is an emergency there is a number to call that's taped to the front window. We called the number and the man that answered told us that he no longer works for the hotel and turned his keys in a few days earlier. He couldn't help us at all and there was no other number to reach anyone. After standing outside for almost 2 hours while it was raining a security guard finally woke up from his nap after we were pounding on the door to try and get someone's attention (we could see the keys were in the door so we knew there was someone somewhere). The next day we went down to the front desk and spoke with the manager about what happened. He agreed to give us half off the night, which we gladly accepted. Other than that, the cleaning staff was so nice and helpful, the rooms were huge and it was right on the beach. Some negatives are that the parking lot is across the street and you have to cross a very busy street to get to the hotel. Also, it's a good 3 mile walk to the strip where there is a lot of activity going on like the carnival, places to eat, bars, and concerts. Finally, the view from the rooms is not very pretty unless you have a full ocean view. On one side we had a view of a parking lot that had abandoned cars and on the other was a view of the sewage pumping station. Lesson learned, you get what you pay for. This was an inexpensive hotel, which is what we were looking for. Aside from the one issue, the hotel was actually better than we expected! I would recommend this to younger people looking for a cheap stay. I would not recommend this hotel to families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Anyone traveling to this area should definitely visit the Aquarium! It was the highlight of the trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mij and Squeet
Business
Bryson City, NC
Jun 26, 2010

Poor Value

Here is a review from someone that actually stayed there. Pros: They allowed a very early check-in time. Housekeeping was prompt and courteous. Beautiful ocean front views. Cons: Huge water leak in bathroom ceiling the first day. Flooded the sinks. It took over an hour for anyone to respond and then they just offered towels to allow US to clean up water. There excuse was it was an old building and sometimes the pipes leak...hmmm. TV went out the second day and it was over 24 hours before anyone came to fix it. Walls are super thin and fellow vacationers were not courteous. Constant slamming of doors, loud TV's and running of upstairs neighbors until 0200. Front desk was not helpful and stated they could not do anything about it. Parking is across road, unsecured and next to a run down establishment with all the problems that includes. Hotel is adjacent to beach access with people coming and going all hours. Beach access from hotel is limited from 8am til 10pm when they padlock the gates. If you want to go to the beach early in the morning you have to walk around the hotel, through the beach access parking lot to get to the beach. Gym equipment was outdated and substandard. Pool and jacuzzis were always overcrowded with children and children's pool was dirty in appearance. We have stayed in MB many times and this was one of the worst experiences. I queried other hotels in same area and rates were 20-40 dollars less a night for much better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heathibear
Business
Fayetteville,NC
Apr 18, 2010

Great Bargain!!!

Great rooms for the price, nothing fancy but clean, quiet and great access to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kdaniel
Business
NC
Jun 30, 2009

BAD

The room was dirt we were there 5 days they never cleaned are room once we ask a couple of time to clean it and they said no. The picture on the web site are very old and it does not look like that any more. Do not stay there is much nicer place that are the same price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top