Jonathan Harbour

3 stars
2611 S. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
61 reviews
vacation

the room was spacious and the location was excellent See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 11, 2010
vacation

the room was spacious and the location was excellent See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 11, 2010
Beach style for families on a budget near attractions in Myrtle Beach
The casual Jonathan Harbour hotel occupies one of the widest, most serene parts of the 60-mile stretch encompassing the Grand Strand, but is still close enough to major destinations like Market Common, Broadway at the Beach and Family Kingdom Amusement and Water Park. Families are drawn to the indoor and outdoor pools, and comfortable rooms equipped with full kitchens and separate living and sleeping areas. Balconies invite guests to enjoy the ocean views.

Highlights
  • Close to Market Common, Hard Rock Amusement Park, Springmaid Pier and Broadway at the Beach
  • Indoor, outdoor and children's pools
  • Beach chairs, umbrellas and float rentals
  • Two- and three-room efficiencies with full kitchens and partial or full ocean views
  • Free parking

Rooms

Carpeted rooms show tropical flair via palm-printed bedding and coordinating framed prints. Layouts vary depending on the location of the room, with ocean views from either the side of the building or on the beachfront. All rooms at Jonathan Harbour come with lounge areas, full kitchens and dining room tables to accommodate family travelers.

Recreation
Whatever the weather, guests at Jonathan Harbour are able to take a swim. An open gate connecting the outdoor and indoor pools keeps the traffic free-flowing and the family out of the rain when weather does not cooperate. A children's pool allows kids to wade safely while parents bask in the sun from the edge. An enclosed Jacuzzi and fitness center offer more leisure time.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi./1.5 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.5 mi./18.5 km)
Attractions
  • Franklin G. Burroughs -- Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum  (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park  (1 mi./1.6 km)
  • Market Common (1.6 mi./2.5 km)
  • Grand Strand (3.3 mi./5.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (3.7 mi./6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (3.7 mi./6 km)
  • Children's Museum (3.7 mi./6 km)
  • Myrtle Waves Water Park (3.7 mi./6 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach  (3.9 mi./6.2 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (3.9 mi./6.2 km)
  • Palace Theatre (3.9 mi./6.3 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (4 mi./6.4 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (4 mi./6.4 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (4.1 mi./6.7 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (6.7 mi./10.9 km)
  • Carolina Opry (9.2 mi./14.8 km)

Policies and fees

Guests must be 25 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Jonathan Harbour Rooms

Direct Oceanfront
Direct Oceanfront room is a two-room efficiency with one full bath. Room can sleep 4 with one queen bed and a sleeper sofa. Room has 2 TV's, a full kitchen and a balcony.
Side Oceanview
Sideview room is a 2 room suite with 2 double beds in the bedroom and a pullout sofa in the living room and includes 2 TV's, a full kitchen and balcony.
Limited Side Oceanview
Limited Side Ocean view is a 2 room suite with 2 double beds in the bedroom and a pullout sofa in the living room. Room includes 2 TV's, a full kitchen and balcony.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jonathan Harbour also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6637 -78.913
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport
Area description
South end of Ocean Blvd in Myrtle Beach – oceanfront at 27th Ave S and Ocean Blvd. 2 Miles from Family Kingdom.

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.7 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.8 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 1.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 2.8 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.7 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 3.8 mi
  • Palace Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.2 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.1 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 8 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.2 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.2 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Jonathan Harbour

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston SC
Oct 10, 2010

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honaker, VA
Jul 14, 2010

Some good and some bad

The stay was good in that it was cheap and on the beach with enough room for my needs. It was in a good location. It had a kitchenette which I wanted and did not have to pay an arm and a leg to have. It also had a pool and hot tub for relaxing after a long day out and about. That would be the good. The bad is the condition of the room was not great and the kitchenette was dirty and did not have any dish soap to wash your dishes. There were also bits of food left in the drawer with the utensils. The beds were old and not very comfortable and the sheets were in bad shape. The biggest problem I had was with the cleaning staff. They were very rude to me about getting towels and we had to call the front desk to finally get them to bring us more after I dropped off our dirty ones. As my husband kept telling me you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Jul 11, 2010

Jonathan Harbour

The room was very spacious and the layout was great. But it was in need of some repairs. The air conditioning did not work well. The linens were not very clean looking; carpets were very stained. Has a good location, close to the beach. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Family Kingdom, close but not to close to the other attractions. Close to HWY 17 and all of the eateries.

Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Jul 11, 2010

Jonathan Harbour

The room was very spacious and the layout was great. But it was in need of some repairs. The air conditioning did not work well. The linens were not very clean looking; carpets were very stained. Has a good location, close to the beach. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Family Kingdom, close but not to close to the other attractions. Close to HWY 17 and all of the eateries.

Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 9, 2010

Myrtle Beach June/July 2010

When we first pulled up to the hotel I was a little worried. It does look a little dumpy on the outside compared to some of the surrounding bigger and more updated hotels in the area. We arrived early and couldn't check into the hotel but the girl at the front desk was very nice and gave us a parking pass so we could park and set up on the beach. Once we were able to check in we were very surprised at how big the rooms are. They span from one side of the hotel to the other and include a bedroom, kitchen, bathroom, large living room, and a balcony. We did have one issue while there. One night we came back late around 1:30 am and realized that our hotel key wouldn't work because it was in the same pocket as a magnet we bought. The front desk staff leaves at 11 and if there is an emergency there is a number to call that's taped to the front window. We called the number and the man that answered told us that he no longer works for the hotel and turned his keys in a few days earlier. He couldn't help us at all and there was no other number to reach anyone. After standing outside for almost 2 hours while it was raining a security guard finally woke up from his nap after we were pounding on the door to try and get someone's attention (we could see the keys were in the door so we knew there was someone somewhere). The next day we went down to the front desk and spoke with the manager about what happened. He agreed to give us half off the night, which we gladly accepted. Other than that, the cleaning staff was so nice and helpful, the rooms were huge and it was right on the beach. Some negatives are that the parking lot is across the street and you have to cross a very busy street to get to the hotel. Also, it's a good 3 mile walk to the strip where there is a lot of activity going on like the carnival, places to eat, bars, and concerts. Finally, the view from the rooms is not very pretty unless you have a full ocean view. On one side we had a view of a parking lot that had abandoned cars and on the other was a view of the sewage pumping station. Lesson learned, you get what you pay for. This was an inexpensive hotel, which is what we were looking for. Aside from the one issue, the hotel was actually better than we expected! I would recommend this to younger people looking for a cheap stay. I would not recommend this hotel to families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Anyone traveling to this area should definitely visit the Aquarium! It was the highlight of the trip!

Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen from Israel
Charlotte NC
Jun 29, 2010

Nice Family hotel

We play in the Kids pool and go to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shay shay
NC
Jun 28, 2010

The good, the bad and the really ugly

The location was good. I really did not like the fact that there was soo much chlorine in the hot tub that it turned my swim suit cover up brown and it was black. It was destroyed and that was my second time geting to wear it. I do not think the room was worth the price that we paid because the room needs some upgrades done to it. The staff were great and the air was cold enough to freeze you. LOL! But it was a good view from the side and other than the room and pool area needing an upgrade everything else was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shay shay
NC
Jun 28, 2010

The good, the bad and the really ugly

The location was good. I really did not like the fact that there was soo much chlorine in the hot tub that it turned my swim suit cover up brown and it was black. It was destroyed and that was my second time geting to wear it. I do not think the room was worth the price that we paid because the room needs some upgrades done to it. The staff were great and the air was cold enough to freeze you. LOL! But it was a good view from the side and other than the room and pool area needing an upgrade everything else was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mij and Squeet
Bryson City, NC
Jun 26, 2010

Poor Value

Here is a review from someone that actually stayed there. Pros: They allowed a very early check-in time. Housekeeping was prompt and courteous. Beautiful ocean front views. Cons: Huge water leak in bathroom ceiling the first day. Flooded the sinks. It took over an hour for anyone to respond and then they just offered towels to allow US to clean up water. There excuse was it was an old building and sometimes the pipes leak...hmmm. TV went out the second day and it was over 24 hours before anyone came to fix it. Walls are super thin and fellow vacationers were not courteous. Constant slamming of doors, loud TV's and running of upstairs neighbors until 0200. Front desk was not helpful and stated they could not do anything about it. Parking is across road, unsecured and next to a run down establishment with all the problems that includes. Hotel is adjacent to beach access with people coming and going all hours. Beach access from hotel is limited from 8am til 10pm when they padlock the gates. If you want to go to the beach early in the morning you have to walk around the hotel, through the beach access parking lot to get to the beach. Gym equipment was outdated and substandard. Pool and jacuzzis were always overcrowded with children and children's pool was dirty in appearance. We have stayed in MB many times and this was one of the worst experiences. I queried other hotels in same area and rates were 20-40 dollars less a night for much better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mij and Squeet
Bryson City, NC
Jun 26, 2010

Poor Value

Here is a review from someone that actually stayed there. Pros: They allowed a very early check-in time. Housekeeping was prompt and courteous. Beautiful ocean front views. Cons: Huge water leak in bathroom ceiling the first day. Flooded the sinks. It took over an hour for anyone to respond and then they just offered towels to allow US to clean up water. There excuse was it was an old building and sometimes the pipes leak...hmmm. TV went out the second day and it was over 24 hours before anyone came to fix it. Walls are super thin and fellow vacationers were not courteous. Constant slamming of doors, loud TV's and running of upstairs neighbors until 0200. Front desk was not helpful and stated they could not do anything about it. Parking is across road, unsecured and next to a run down establishment with all the problems that includes. Hotel is adjacent to beach access with people coming and going all hours. Beach access from hotel is limited from 8am til 10pm when they padlock the gates. If you want to go to the beach early in the morning you have to walk around the hotel, through the beach access parking lot to get to the beach. Gym equipment was outdated and substandard. Pool and jacuzzis were always overcrowded with children and children's pool was dirty in appearance. We have stayed in MB many times and this was one of the worst experiences. I queried other hotels in same area and rates were 20-40 dollars less a night for much better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Jonathan Harbour

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanan
Nokesville, VA
Apr 19, 2010

Overall a good experience

I was a little concerned that I didn't have ocean front view, but the view from the side of the building was spectacular. I also was expecting a 'room' and got an apartment--quite a pleasant surprise. I actually booked another night because I didn't want to leave--even though the paint was chipping on the balcony; and, dishes were random--not matching glasses, etc. Great pool and access to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

McDonalds at the end of the street-otherwise most of the dining was on the main boulevard and a little ways (by car) from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top