$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

3 stars
201 77th Ave North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
112 reviews
great motel

was a great experience love having the indoor pool and hot tub. was a cold and windy day but was... See full review

  • Debbie lolpo
  • May 7, 2013
Nice, Clean, Friendly

Well, I've had bad experiences in the past with hotels and so I asked to see the room first and... See full review

  • CLDF
  • Apr 28, 2014
Family-friendly amenities and oceanfront access at Myrtle Beach hotel

A private stretch of coastline fronts the Grande Shores Ocean condo-style hotel, which is near major golf courses, shops and attractions. Guests unwind in the myriad of water features available, including three pools, two lazy rivers and five Jacuzzis -- most within view of the Atlantic. Tropical-flavored rooms open to private balconies, while indoor amenities include kitchens and layouts for groups of any size. An on-site restaurant serves local catches and straightforward American grill fare.

Highlights
  • Three pools, two lazy rivers and five Jacuzzis
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Casual dining at Shoreline Café
  • Close to major Myrtle Beach attractions, golf and shopping
  • Spacious rooms with ocean views
Rooms

Amenities vary from room to room, but conveniences like free Wi-Fi, balconies with ocean views and tasteful tropical décor come standard at the Grande Shores Ocean Hotel. Some rooms are equipped with full kitchens -- complete with stoves, refrigerators and microwaves -- and dining tables. Guests also can request smoking rooms.

Features

Water features play a major role in entertaining the multitude of families, couples and business travelers who stay at the Grande Shores Ocean Hotel during the summer. The property covers three pools, two lazy rivers and five Jacuzzis -- some with ocean views. For traditional cardio, hit the fitness center or run along the beach. Shoreline Café provides a relaxed oceanfront setting for casual American dishes. Guests start their day at the breakfast buffet and move on to bigger flavors for lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Grand Strand Airport (7 mi./11.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (8 mi./12.8km)
Attractions
  • Carolina Opry (1.4 mi./2.3 km)
  • Dunes Golf and Beach Club (1.6 mi./2.6 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (4.1 mi./6.7 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (4.2 mi./6.8 km)
  • Children's Museum (4.2 mi./6.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.3 mi./6.9 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (4.5 mi./7.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (4.4 mi./7.1 km)
  • Palace Theatre (4.7 mi./7.6 km)
  • Grand Strand (5.5 mi./8.8 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (7 mi./11.2 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (8.4 mi./13.6 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (8.9 mi./14.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi
  • Meeting and conference rooms
  • Catering services

Hotel Map

33.7437 -78.8135
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 12.00, MI, N; New Hanover Intl Airport, (ILM), 75.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grande Shores Ocean Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Grande Shores Ocean Hotel Rooms

Standard
Oceanview 2 Queen effsmk sefv - 2 queen beds. 1 bath. Full kitchen with a stove. Refrigerator. Microwave. Coffee maker and private balcony. Rates based on 2 adults and 2 children occupying the room. Each additional person add 10 per night.
Suite
Ocean View DLX 2 Room Suite SMK SDLV - Queen bed. 2 baths. Full kitchen with a stove and refrigerator. Microwave and coffee maker. Large picture window. No balcony.
Suite
Ocean View Deluxe 2 Room Suite ns ndlv - 4 queen beds. 2 baths. Full kitchen with a stove. Refrigerator and microwave. Coffee maker. Large picture window. No balcony.
Standard
Ocean View 2 Queen Beds NS NRMV - Non smoking Ocean view room includes 2 queen sized bed 1 bath refrigerator. Coffee maker and private balcony. Rates based on 2 adults and 2 children occupying the room each additional person add 10 per night.
Standard
Pool View 2 Queen Efficiency nefp - Pool view. Non smoking. 2 queen beds. 1 bath. Full kitchen with a stove and refrigerator. Microwave and coffee maker. Balcony.
Standard
Ocean View 2 Queen eff ns nefv - 2 queen bed. 1 bath. Full kitchen with a stove. Refrigerator. Microwave. Coffee maker and private balcony. Rates based on 2 adults and 2 children occupying the room each additional person add 10 per night.
Standard
Oceanfront 2 Queen eff ns nefo - 2 queen beds. 1 bath. Full kitchen with a stove. Refrigerator. Microwave. Coffee maker and private balcony. Rates based on 2 adults and 2 children occupying the room each additional person add 10 per night.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanfront King Bed NS NRKO - Non smoking oceanfront room includes 1 king sized bed 1 bath refrigerator. Coffee maker and private balcony. Rates based on 2 adults and 2 children occupying the room each additional person add 10 per night.
Standard
Pool View King Bed NS NRKP - Non smoking oceanfront room includes 1 king sized bed 1 bath refrigerator. Coffee maker and private balcony. Rates based on 2 adults and 2 children occupying the room each additional person add 10 per night.
Standard
Oceanfront 2 Queen Beds NS NRMO - Non smoking Oceanfront room includes 2 queen sized bed 1 bath refrigerator. Coffee maker and private balcony. Rates based on 2 adults and 2 children occupying the room each additional person add 10 per night.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Children's activities
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • The Carolina Opry: 1.5 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 1.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 4.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.5 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.7 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.7 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 5.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 5.4 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 6.2 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 1.5 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 1.5 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 4.3 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 4.4 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.5 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4.6 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.7 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.7 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 5.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 5.4 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 6.2 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 8 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 8.5 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 8.5 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 9.5 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 14.6 mi

Dining

Shoreline Cafe
open daily 6a-9p Shoreline Cafe -provides diners with a friendly and comfortable casual dining experience right at the edge of the Atlantic Ocean. Focused on American fare the Shorelines menu ranges from delicious seafood and tender beef pork and chicken

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mtsoag
North Carolina, USA
Jan 3, 2012

NEW YEARS 2012

My hotel stay was pretty much excellent. Chris who worked the front desk at check-in was excellent. He went out of his way to get us checked in as soon as possible. The room had a bad spot on the floor, but the clean-up engineer came to room and took care of the problem. He went out of his way to make sure we were completely satisfied with his clean-up task. I loved the parking which was right outside the hotel room door. Will surely stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tamtams
Winston-Salem, nc
Jan 15, 2013

Average accommodations but great value

one bedroom oceanfront rooms need updating but view is fabulous and room was clean. Floors are uneven so have to be aware of that. Rooms on seventh floor and up are completely renovated and a lot nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway at the beach

Review of Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CraigF
Charlotte, NC
Nov 12, 2012

Fall Weekend

Though this hotel is old, everything was clean and pretty well kept. The view was breathtaking and being able to walk right onto the beach was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roths1ar
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Oct 14, 2012

Spring Break 2012

Had a great time here. Close enough to Myrtle Beach South that it was easy enough to learn our way around. Far enough to make you feel like you're on a beach vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

4 blocks away from the cheapest liquor store we could find!!

Review of Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grand Piano Lady
North Carolina
Jun 26, 2012

Nice room

The room was very comfortable with a great view. Staff was very cordial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet039
Charlotte, NC, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Great Family Getaway

I really enjoyed the view of the ocean from balcony. The kids really enjoyed the rooftop pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama DJ
Dayton, OH, USA
Mar 29, 2012

very good trip

we had a very pleasant stay at Ocean Shores. The weather was nice for March, so we were able to access all the pool areas, inside and out. The indoor pool was surprisingly warm which was nice for the cooler evenings. Our room was clean, we were able to park reasonably close in the garage on the same floor as our room, although the spots in the garage were a little tight. I personally like the location, as it is a little further north than the more popular areas, but that is where I prefer to stay. Overall very pleased, would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants inside and along the stretch of nearby hotels within walking distance are worth checking out.

Review of Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mtsoag
North Carolina, USA
Jan 3, 2012

NEW YEARS 2012

My hotel stay was pretty much excellent. Chris who worked the front desk at check-in was excellent. He went out of his way to get us checked in as soon as possible. The room had a bad spot on the floor, but the clean-up engineer came to room and took care of the problem. He went out of his way to make sure we were completely satisfied with his clean-up task. I loved the parking which was right outside the hotel room door. Will surely stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wv doc
Bluefield, WV, USA
Sep 22, 2011

My trip

The hotel was average, nothing special. The location was close to a few good eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wv doc
Bluefield, WV, USA
Sep 22, 2011

My trip

The hotel was average, nothing special. The location was close to a few good eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grande Shores Ocean Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silver Spring, Maryland
Jun 29, 2011

Great Stay

With so many mixed reviews about this location I honestly had no idea what to expect. I chose it primarily because of the great pricing that was available, and the fact that it was right on the beach. Although I was upset upon arrival at the late 4pm check in time, I must say that I am really pleased with my stay at this hotel. I was ecstatic to open my room door and see such a spacious area fully equipped with a small kitchen. The view from my windows were also stunning and relaxing to watch on a daily basis. On site there are a couple of pools to accommodate just about everyone in this huge! building. Location wise the hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the boardwalk which is fine because of so many restaurants/shops/grocery places scattered all over myrtle beach. The service from everyone employed at this location was great, and overall I had a great 5 night stay. The only thing that bothered me was the tight parking spaces made available, however it is FREE parking so I will take that. Besides that the hotel does seem a bit old, and in need of a renovation on the inside(nothing drastic). I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a vacation in Myrtle Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top