$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Dunes Village Resort

4 stars
5300 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
221 reviews
Smiles

This was a trip for my daughters 12th bday and the moment we pulled up and she saw the pools so... See full review

  • Chuckgirl
  • Oct 20, 2014
Awesome Hotel

The hotel has everything you need for a trip to Myrtle Beach. It is located right on the beach, is... See full review

  • GreatBaron
  • Oct 19, 2014
Spacious condos with ocean views and full kitchens in Myrtle Beach

A sprawling indoor water park -- the largest of its kind in Myrtle Beach at 30,000 square feet -- fuels endless hours in the lazy river, Silly Submarine and waterslides at the Dunes Village Resort. Visitors are spoiled with other amenities, too, like spa treatments in the private cabana and patio dining at the Captain's Cafe, an offshoot of the award-winning Sea Captain's House. Fully-furnished condos enable guests to cook at home and lounge on the balcony to take in the peaceful tides below.

Highlights
  • 30,000-square-foot indoor water park
  • Oceanfront restaurants
  • Stylish condos with ocean views
  • Tennis and basketball courts, foosball table, billiards and ping pong
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Yellow, red and green are grounding colors for these one-, two-, three- and four-bedroom condos. Kitchens allow Dunes Village Resort guests the option of cooking at home on the electric stove, warming up food in the microwave and keeping it in the refrigerator. Sliding glass doors with floor-to-ceiling windows offer views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Features

The Dunes Village Resort keeps the whole family entertained with a 250-foot lazy river, four water slides, Jacuzzis and adorable touches like a Silly Submarine equipped with water spouts. Summer activities include craft making for the kids, pool games and treasure hunts. Parents turn to foosball, basketball and tennis courts and ping pong.

Dining

At the Captain's Cafe, an offshoot of the award-winning Sea Captain's House, diners indulge in the signature dishes while taking in the ocean setting from the patio or window-side tables. The Admiral's Room delivers beach vistas, along with a hearty breakfast buffet. Visitors count on Seattle's Best Coffee Shop to sate their java and pastry fix.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (5.9 mi./9.5 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (9.1 mi./14.6 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.2 mi./3.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (2.2 mi./3.5 km)
  • Children's Museum (2.2 mi./3.5 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (2.2 mi./3.6 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Palace Theatre (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (5.2 mi./8.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park  (6.8 mi./11 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (7.1 mi./11.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • Starting 1 January 2015, smoking will only be allowed in designated areas adjacent to the property. Smoking will not be allowed on balconies and public areas. Smoking inside the units will result to a $250 USD penalty charge. 

  • Trailers are not allowed to park overnight at the resort. The property offers alternative offsite trailer parking locations.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.724 -78.8422
Area served
Myrtle Beach.
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport.
Area description
Dunes Village Resort has proximity to Myrtle Beach Convention Center, Downtown Myrtle Beach, Pavilion Amusement Park, Myrtle Waves Water Park, Ripley's Aquarium and Butterfly Pavilion.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dunes Village Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Dunes Village Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Oceanfront Suite
This room offers 2 Queens, Murphy bed and sofa sleeper with cable TV, DVD player, efficiency kitchen, full bath, dressing area and private balcony.
One Bedroom Oceanfront Studio
This room offers 1 King and sofa sleeper with cable TV, DVD player, efficiency kitchen, full bath, dressing area and private balcony.
One Bedroom Oceanfront 2 Queen
This room offers 1 king, murphy bed and sofa sleeper with cable TV, DVD player, efficiency kitchen, full bath, dressing area and private balcony.
Two Bedroom Angle Oceanfront
This room offers 1 king, 2 Queens and sofa sleeper with cable TV, DVD player, efficiency kitchen, full bath, dressing area and private balcony.
Deluxe Studio Oceanfront - 2 Double Beds
Accommodates up to 4 guests in this 484 sqft Oceanfront Double Studio. As you enter the room you'll have a kitchenette equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, stove and granite counter tops. The guestroom is beautifully decorated with two queen size beds, loveseat, and the dining area. This room also comes with 2 TV's, 2 DVD players so everyone can watch what they want. You can also enjoy your coffee in the morning while watching the sun rise on your own private balcony.
Deluxe Studio - Oceanfront 1 King Bed and 1 Sleeper Sofa
Accommodates up to 4 guests in this 468 sqft Oceanfront King Studio. As you enter the room you'll have a kitchenette equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, stove and granite counter tops. The guestroom is beautifully decorated with a king size bed, queen size sleeper sofa, and the dining area. This room also comes with 2 TV's, 2 DVD players so everyone can watch what they want. You can also enjoy your coffee in the morning while watching the sun rise on your own private balcony.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.5 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 3.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 3.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 3.4 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.5 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 3.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 3.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 3.4 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 6.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 7.3 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.5 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 12.6 mi

Dining

Captain's Caf restaurant
Welcome to the Captain's Cafe. Sit back and relax into one of life's most wonderous pleasures. Surrounded by our breath taking view of the ocean, you'll sample mouth-watering foods from Crab Cakes to Award Winning She-Crab Soup, to our Shrimp Salad. For friendly attentive service, come dine with us. HOURS: Lunch: 11AM-3PM | Dinner: 4PM-10PM TO GO MEALS AND ROOM DELIVERY IS AVAILABLE EXT. 4027 LOCATED IN THE PALMETTO BUILDING
Perk's Up Coffee Shop
Now Proudly serving Starbucks. Start your morning right with a delicious cup of coffee from Perk's Up Coffee Shop. For our younger guests, there is a variety of juices. Enjoy a light breakfast including pastries, muffins, bagels, cookies, and Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. HOURS: 6AM-8PM LOCATED IN THE PALMETTO BUILDING
Cabana Tiki Bar
Don't want to leave the beautiful sunny weather for a drink or a bite to eat? The oceanfront Cabana Tiki Bar is the answer to all of your wishes.Try our Signature Bucket List: Peach Fuzz Buzz, Dunes Blue Lemonade or the VooDoo Juice. HOURS: SEASONAL/WEATHER LOCATED ON THE PALMETTO POOL DECK
Admirals Room
Start your morning off right with an oceanfront breakfast at the Admiral's Room Restaurant. Enjoy a full breakfast buffet including a homemade waffle station. NEW FOR 2014 Chef-made Omelet Station. HOURS: 7AM-11AM LOCATED IN THE PALMS BUILDING

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (221)

Ratings and reviews for Dunes Village Resort

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Two adults seven kids
Business
Bluffton, SC
Dec 2, 2013

Spend your money somewhere else

I had both a 3br and 2br room over the holiday weekend. Imagine walking over 4 clear bags of garbage into a room that smells like fried food. Did it. Both toilets leaked audibly and flushed intermittently the whole time. Paint on the balcony ceiling fell on my head. Housekeeping visited my room and folded the kleenex.... but left the wet towels, beds unmade, and full garbage where it was. The lights flickered the when on due to a bad connection in the switch. I was promised two rooms on the 14th floor on the phone last week but was given a "we're sorry" (but we're powerless to help) and two rooms on the lowest floor instead. Notice the other reviewers saying the maintenance staff was helpful???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 18, 2007

condoms in the bathroom

The dunes Hotel was very unorganized and the room was not really fit to stay in. When we checked in we found out we didn't have internet access in our room and called the front desk. It was quite awhile before somebody came and they found out it wasn't built into the room. Later we found out that we didn't have hot water and a few people came to check it out and fixed it because the pipes were not installed right. There was also a lot of people walking around in the halls who weren't customers, some of them could have been construction workers because they were still doing work but there was an awful lot of people roaming around. When we finally took a shower I found a used condom behind the door in the bathroom, earlier when we first came in I saw pubic hair and a used bar a soap. After calling about the condom they didn't want to see it and did not want to be bothered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Consumer Wisdom
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 25, 2011

Not Consumer Friendly

I have stayed at Dunes Village several times. With upcoming hurricane warnings Dunes Village is unwilling to refund deposits. This shows they are not consumer friendly and are williing to make a buck in any way possible. How Greedy can you get!!!! We are all in an economic recession not just the hotels. To make a consumer continue to pay for a room they will not use due to hurricane warnings it just un-excusable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
1newbernPT
Business
North Carolina, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Not what I expected

Read the reviews and was convinced I had chosen a good "resort" hotel to take my family on a little getaway to Myrtle Beach. Location was at the beach and the amenities were just as advertised so that wasn't a problem. Got to the hotel and wasn't for sure which tower I was staying in but I ended up staying in the (P) tower. First impression when I got out of the elevator to walk down this long hallway to my room was that I didn't really feel safe. The hallway was dimly lit and I felt like I had checked into a bad motel in a bad part of town or something. Anyway got inside the room and I have to say it was clean, king size bed, mini stove, fridge, microwave, cabinets, fold out couch, etc...Bathroom had one-ply toilet paper, the towels were thin and some still had yellow stains on them that didn't quite wash out. And you have to go down and get the shampoo and conditioner from guest services.The blanket on the bed was a thin cover not a duvet which my wife complained was very "itchy." View was nice overlooking pool and you can see the beach. Two flat screen televisions for our viewing pleasure. Wi-fi in room didn't work too well. Had to go down to the lobby to get a good connection. Came back from our outing the following day and the cleaning service didn't wipe the dining table, left the trash can open and the trash liner on the bedside table. We're we suppose to do that? We were checking out the next morning and put the privacy sign on our door and around 9am the cleaning lady come knocking at our door asking if we were checking out this morning. I wanted to say, "Excuse me, don't you see the sign? And why are you asking me? Shouldn't you know? Or if you don't know, why don't ask the front desk? Don't come bothering me when I'm still trying to sleep and check out isn't for another 2 hours." But I didn't because I decided to write this review instead. When I checked out the lady at the counter asked me,"How was your stay?" And I said,"It was alright." And she just left it at that. It seemed like customer service was not in the forefront of her mind. Not what I expect from a "resort" hotel. She could have asked me "How could we have your stay better?" Or "What were the things you didn't like about your stay so your next stay will be more enjoyable?" "How about some darn 2-ply toilet paper!!!" If you're going to call yourself a "resort" hotel at least train your staff to make your customers feel like they didn't come all this way and spend all this money and feel like I could've got the same thing staying at a regular hotel and could've spent a lot less money. By the way, they also charge you about $17 dollars for hotel fees. Definitely not coming back to this place. Parking is across the street in a parking deck which is kind of a pain. This is my first review ever so I hope when people read this it will be insightful as well as helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nuyawwka
Business
nyc
Sep 27, 2013

Good night. Sleep tight. Don't let ...

Stayed at the Palmetto building. Moldy pillowcase was reported to front desk and replaced. Woke up next day with red welts. Didn't think much of it until the condition worsened. Did an internet search and found Dunes Village had been listed on the Bed Bug Registry. Too late to change rooms but made it a point to tell management at checkout. They sent maintenance to inspect and shortly thereafter told me no bed bugs were found. In summary, I recommend Dunes' guests thoroughly inspect their bedding, especially when traveling with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jun 22, 2009

Yuk

They did not have our reservation when we arrived at 1 pm. We had a confirmation number but that did not help. They told us to check back at 3 pm and there should be a room available. They told us they were sold out the night before. The bathroom had mold and the microwave was full of bacon grease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BettyBeck
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Sep 16, 2014

Ideal for families with young children

Let me start by saying the staff was delightful! Everyone was lovely and extremely helpful. The view is spectacular! The draw to this place is really the water features... Children love it. I was personally looking forward to the hot tubs which i found to be lackluster. If you have children though, they'd be occupied for hours and hours. There were issues with our room from the start that pretty much continued the entire time.. And that bed was like sleeping on a cement floor! We got very little sleep and always woke up with back pain... Which really put a damper on the entire experience. We fought over who got to sleep on the couch because even that was more comfortable than the bed. Honestly, if the bed was comfortable i think my entire view of this place would be different. The spa prices were absurd so we never even got to go there... A massage or facial would have been lovely but not for hundreds of dollars. When i go somewhere i look for luxury, comfort and relaxation.... That's not what I found here. But if you have a family and your main focus is your children, this is for you! It wasn't all bad, but I wouldn't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler85
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Oct 13, 2014

Not the best but not the worst

The only thing I liked about this hotel was the indoor water park. If you have young children, it it a life saver. Other than that, nothing special about this hotel. The staff wasn't rude but wasn't nice either. The hotel is ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queak
Business
Wilmington, NC
Feb 24, 2014

Improvements on cleanliness and parking.

It was an 'ok' hotel experience due to the lack of attention to cleanliness and parking issues. I loved the ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It is best, if staying at the Dunes Village Resort, to pay the $10/day for parking if you are planning to be coming back and forth to the hotel during your stay there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe Portyrata
Business
Midlothian, Va
Feb 18, 2014

CHAOS

Elevator buttons were broken.Had to go up in order to go down for the weekend.Had to ask for soap for the room and sheets not changed for 4 days.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Many things to do in the immediate area .All of which have coupons available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top