$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Dunes Village Resort

4 stars
View map of 5300 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dunes Village Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EKU parent
Business
McDonough, GA, USA
May 15, 2014

visited Myrtle Beach for the first time

This hotel is awesome! The room was clean, comfortable, and the view from the balcony was just amazing! The staff was attentive and friendly. This is a great hotel for both couples and families. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located right on the beach

Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jun 24, 2011

Great stay!!

Last year we were not impressed with our hotel and were nervous to book again. However, this hotel was sooooo much better! The water park had lots of slides (4) two lazy rivers, three hot tubs (maybe more) and many pools. My kids did not want to leave the water park and my son(age 2) never got bored which is really surprising. Although there was lots for little kids to do, I also saw teens and older kids having a blast as well. There is a pool bar with delicious drinks an two restaurants. We didn't visit them though b/c we tried to save money by eating in. It was easy to do b/c our room had a full kitchen stocked with everything we needed. My only complaint was that the outside waterpark bathrooms were nasty. I would recommend using the bathroom before going out because once there was no toilet paper and looked like someone threw up in the toliet. Honestly though they did a great job keeping everything else clean. We will go back next year!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danville,VA
Jun 23, 2009

Summer Vaction

Overall our stay was very good. We really enjoyed the pools. There were a lot of hot tubs, two indoor pools, two lazy rivers, two outdoor pools, four water slides, and plenty of nifty water features for kids. There's also some pool tables, and huge chess and checker boards which are a lot of fun. They have several wash off points for sand, including an indoor shower you can rinse off at before getting into pool. The hotel complex is huge, and there are a lot of people everywhere. However, this wasn't a drawback for us. There's so many different pools to play in, you don't feel overcrowded. The beach is well up kept, and under very good supervision. I felt really safe, the lifeguard pulled us out of ocean for a school of fish passing by as precaution. Knowing that someone was really watching made our days in the water even more carefree. The water was very nice, and low tide is the best time to be in the water. The hotel itself is located about a 15 min drive from the main strip, which also wasn't too much of a drawback for us. It was nice, and the hotel activities made up for the drive. The only real complaint I have were the mattresses. We both have slept on better. Not to say you can't sleep, but you just would expect more from such spacious rooms, and such a nice place. The hotel staff was a mix. We had a few younger guys that didn't even seem to know where they were, and then some very nice, polite, well-rounded staff that were very helpful. Overall we were pleased. Parking is located across the street, but it's not really a pain to get to. No problems there. There are several spots of brochures for activities and events going on. We would recommend Medieval Times for families or couples wanting a really relaxing and enjoyable experience. It's a bit pricey, but it's worth it. If you'd like a drink, we found Fat Tuesdays on the Boardwalk very enjoyable (and reasonably priced!), as well as the hotel's bar (a bit pricey but you don't have to worry about getting back if you get carried away). For a seafood buffet, the Captain George's is good, but not a good as some other Captain George's I've been too. So if you've ever ate there, I'd might venture for another buffet. The Alligator Adventure is nice, but don't go in expecting a full zoo. They advert tigers and zebras, of which they have one each. If you like alligators it's really amazing. We enjoyed ourselves, and you get a second day pass, so you can split it up over two days during the week to get more activities in. We didn't, but the flexibility might be nice for those with small children. The rides on the strip are EXPENSIVE. Would recommend just going to the Freestyle park, or buying a ticket to Family Kingdom. Otherwise, you will pay about the same for ONE ride. Not really a value of savings. The parking meters are the way to go for a walk on the strip. You'll save a ton if you bring some quarters. Overall the hotel was very nice, and we enjoyed our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RCK1
Business
Pittsburgh Pa
Sep 4, 2011

Perfect for a young family.

Perfect for Beach fun. People with young families can especially enjoy this Hotel. There are a lot of activies for children. The facility is well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacob P.
Business
NY, NY
Jan 31, 2010

fun, comfy, but more $ than you think

This hotel is located right on the beach, which is amazing. We had a room in the Palmetto Tower which was fantastic and overlooked the ocean. I would highly recommend the oceanfront rooms if it's within budget. The rooms (one queen) are spacious, there are two TVs, a kitchen area stocked with plates, silverware and glasses, a stove and microwave, 2 TVs, a comfy bathroom with a tub, and another sink near the bed. There is a balcony with blocked off walls so it's just you and the ocean. We were on the 6th floor which I think is the highest floor with this arrangement, floors higher up can see other balconies from their balcony.One of the best parts was the HEATED pools which makes even our January trip amazing. The kiddie indoor pool is in the Palmetto Tower and the more older kid/adult one is in the Palm Tower. There is a heated lazy river outside as well as a heated hottub, and two non-heated pools. It was 40 degrees outside and the lazy river was AMAZING outside!The hotel is near a few restaurants (Aspen Grill, Chilis, Melting Pot) but we didn't have a car so we didn't go too far. I liked the quietness which I've been told is particular to the winter only (summer it's really busy).The only thing I didn't like were a few "hidden fees". [...]and then the breakfast was so expensive it should be considered a hidden fee. With no other plausible options (since we didn't have a car) we ended up paying $25 for a very simple buffet breakfast for two. There are two waffle makers, though, always a plus.Finally, the room just made us melt out of comfort. Incredibly comfortable.Overall, it was fantastic and I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Melting Pot is a relatively expensive and business casual type place, but totally worth it! It was tons of fun as we had never done fondue before. Try it out.

Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exp'd traveler
Business
Summerville, SC
Apr 25, 2009

Nice stay but

While the location and the room itself were great and I would recomend for a family get away indoor pools with water sildes etc be wary that when they saw I had booked with Orbitz my room # was changed. I still had ocean view balcony room on the first floor BUT was moved right next to the hotel kitchen and the laundry room which made for a noisy stay and at 5:30 you could smell them preparing for the breakfast buffet. They also have great access to the beach. The staff was not rude but they were not friendly either. Parking is across the street in a parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Indoor pools and water sildes this would be great place to stay with tweens and younger if you want both the beach and pool time.

Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazy with 3 boys!!!
Business
durham NC
Jun 22, 2009

what a wonderful family vacation

I am a single mother with 3 children. My kids had a wonderful time!Believe it or not, it was very restful for me because of the water slides! I felt very safe and I felt safe leaving my children to play!! I was there by the pool if they needed me but they were so entertained, they didn't need me!!! Wow I got to relax!!! Great room and close to everything,but yet not too busy with crowds!!! My only complaint! I didn't like the price for the valet parking!! When you come back after a long day at the beach, the last thing you want to do is carry a 4 yr old that is tired and crumpy! But other than that it was a great time for the money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

Ok for Family trip

It's an okay place to stay, If you want to be close to downtown 54th ave N is too far. I was told I would be in walking distance to the shopping mall and on the strip, yeah only if you planned on power walking. Overall nice hotel if you want to take a family vacation for the pool and water park, you cant go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fast food and Bars are close by.

Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fmily with toddler
Business
Detroit
May 18, 2014

Great place with a few downsides

This hotel is actually very good but it had a few downsides that I disliked. I would still come back and suggest it. Pros: Nice, comfortable, big rooms, great facilities and water park, great beach, great value for the price. Cons: The restaurant is not kids friendly as they do not allow high chairs on the patio. In order to eat outside we had to go elsewhere They allow smoking on the balcony. For us as non-smokers it was pretty disgusting to smell the smoke from other balconies in the evening. They only change sheets every three days even when they are dirty unless you explicitly request it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Dec 24, 2010

A night at the Dunes

We were there only one night, so we didn't take advantage of the facilities; however there was lots to do for families with children. Great water parks in two buildings!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Carolina Road House and Liberty Tavern were great places for adults.

Back to menu Return to top