$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Dunes Village Resort

4 stars
View map of 5300 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Dunes Village Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MYrtle B bound road trip
Business
E. Rutherford, New Jersey
Apr 21, 2014

Family Springbreak vacation!

Overall experience was great! Staff needs to be familiar with hotel amenities & locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungTraveler 08
Business
North Carolina
May 6, 2014

Nice Place Bad Parking

The hotel is very nice. Parking is horrible. Staff is friendly. There were tons of things to do for the kids. Although the bed that my daughter was in was covered with hair and we found random items that previous guest had left in the suite. I had housekeeping come and replace the linen on my daughter's bed. We bought cleaning supplies and cleaned the room just to make sure it was clean. There was a washer and dryer which was good for wet pool clothes. There is direct access to the beach from the hotel. The hotel is very busy during check in and check out times. You can't park in front of the hotel you only can unload and load with 15min parking .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the local grocery store or Walmart which is right up the road to stock up on kids snack and food so that you won't spend a lot eating out at restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super papa super dad
Business
USA
May 8, 2014

Fantastic vacation

Good hotel, would stay again, ESP with younger kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alucard113
Business
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
May 8, 2014

Dunes Resort

When we first checked in we notice that a few items in the room needed to be fixed, when we told the staff they were more than helpful with getting us a new room they were kind and professional and we will definitely be coming back to stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VaPRIEST
Business
suffolk, VA
Jun 10, 2014

vacation

Great location and A++ hotel...will be returning soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
southend staycationers
Business
murrells inlet, sc
Jun 9, 2014

Super Friendly Staff

Great experience, there was always someone nearby to answer any questions. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danville,VA
Jun 23, 2009

Summer Vaction

Overall our stay was very good. We really enjoyed the pools. There were a lot of hot tubs, two indoor pools, two lazy rivers, two outdoor pools, four water slides, and plenty of nifty water features for kids. There's also some pool tables, and huge chess and checker boards which are a lot of fun. They have several wash off points for sand, including an indoor shower you can rinse off at before getting into pool. The hotel complex is huge, and there are a lot of people everywhere. However, this wasn't a drawback for us. There's so many different pools to play in, you don't feel overcrowded. The beach is well up kept, and under very good supervision. I felt really safe, the lifeguard pulled us out of ocean for a school of fish passing by as precaution. Knowing that someone was really watching made our days in the water even more carefree. The water was very nice, and low tide is the best time to be in the water. The hotel itself is located about a 15 min drive from the main strip, which also wasn't too much of a drawback for us. It was nice, and the hotel activities made up for the drive. The only real complaint I have were the mattresses. We both have slept on better. Not to say you can't sleep, but you just would expect more from such spacious rooms, and such a nice place. The hotel staff was a mix. We had a few younger guys that didn't even seem to know where they were, and then some very nice, polite, well-rounded staff that were very helpful. Overall we were pleased. Parking is located across the street, but it's not really a pain to get to. No problems there. There are several spots of brochures for activities and events going on. We would recommend Medieval Times for families or couples wanting a really relaxing and enjoyable experience. It's a bit pricey, but it's worth it. If you'd like a drink, we found Fat Tuesdays on the Boardwalk very enjoyable (and reasonably priced!), as well as the hotel's bar (a bit pricey but you don't have to worry about getting back if you get carried away). For a seafood buffet, the Captain George's is good, but not a good as some other Captain George's I've been too. So if you've ever ate there, I'd might venture for another buffet. The Alligator Adventure is nice, but don't go in expecting a full zoo. They advert tigers and zebras, of which they have one each. If you like alligators it's really amazing. We enjoyed ourselves, and you get a second day pass, so you can split it up over two days during the week to get more activities in. We didn't, but the flexibility might be nice for those with small children. The rides on the strip are EXPENSIVE. Would recommend just going to the Freestyle park, or buying a ticket to Family Kingdom. Otherwise, you will pay about the same for ONE ride. Not really a value of savings. The parking meters are the way to go for a walk on the strip. You'll save a ton if you bring some quarters. Overall the hotel was very nice, and we enjoyed our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RCK1
Business
Pittsburgh Pa
Sep 4, 2011

Perfect for a young family.

Perfect for Beach fun. People with young families can especially enjoy this Hotel. There are a lot of activies for children. The facility is well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacob P.
Business
NY, NY
Jan 31, 2010

fun, comfy, but more $ than you think

This hotel is located right on the beach, which is amazing. We had a room in the Palmetto Tower which was fantastic and overlooked the ocean. I would highly recommend the oceanfront rooms if it's within budget. The rooms (one queen) are spacious, there are two TVs, a kitchen area stocked with plates, silverware and glasses, a stove and microwave, 2 TVs, a comfy bathroom with a tub, and another sink near the bed. There is a balcony with blocked off walls so it's just you and the ocean. We were on the 6th floor which I think is the highest floor with this arrangement, floors higher up can see other balconies from their balcony.One of the best parts was the HEATED pools which makes even our January trip amazing. The kiddie indoor pool is in the Palmetto Tower and the more older kid/adult one is in the Palm Tower. There is a heated lazy river outside as well as a heated hottub, and two non-heated pools. It was 40 degrees outside and the lazy river was AMAZING outside!The hotel is near a few restaurants (Aspen Grill, Chilis, Melting Pot) but we didn't have a car so we didn't go too far. I liked the quietness which I've been told is particular to the winter only (summer it's really busy).The only thing I didn't like were a few "hidden fees". [...]and then the breakfast was so expensive it should be considered a hidden fee. With no other plausible options (since we didn't have a car) we ended up paying $25 for a very simple buffet breakfast for two. There are two waffle makers, though, always a plus.Finally, the room just made us melt out of comfort. Incredibly comfortable.Overall, it was fantastic and I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Melting Pot is a relatively expensive and business casual type place, but totally worth it! It was tons of fun as we had never done fondue before. Try it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exp'd traveler
Business
Summerville, SC
Apr 25, 2009

Nice stay but

While the location and the room itself were great and I would recomend for a family get away indoor pools with water sildes etc be wary that when they saw I had booked with Orbitz my room # was changed. I still had ocean view balcony room on the first floor BUT was moved right next to the hotel kitchen and the laundry room which made for a noisy stay and at 5:30 you could smell them preparing for the breakfast buffet. They also have great access to the beach. The staff was not rude but they were not friendly either. Parking is across the street in a parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Indoor pools and water sildes this would be great place to stay with tweens and younger if you want both the beach and pool time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top