$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Dunes Village Resort

4 stars
5300 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
232 reviews
Smiles

This was a trip for my daughters 12th bday and the moment we pulled up and she saw the pools so... See full review

  • Chuckgirl
  • Oct 20, 2014
Awesome Hotel

The hotel has everything you need for a trip to Myrtle Beach. It is located right on the beach, is... See full review

  • GreatBaron
  • Oct 19, 2014
Spacious condos with ocean views and full kitchens in Myrtle Beach

A sprawling indoor water park -- the largest of its kind in Myrtle Beach at 30,000 square feet -- fuels endless hours in the lazy river, Silly Submarine and waterslides at the Dunes Village Resort. Visitors are spoiled with other amenities, too, like spa treatments in the private cabana and patio dining at the Captain's Cafe, an offshoot of the award-winning Sea Captain's House. Fully-furnished condos enable guests to cook at home and lounge on the balcony to take in the peaceful tides below.

Highlights
  • 30,000-square-foot indoor water park
  • Oceanfront restaurants
  • Stylish condos with ocean views
  • Tennis and basketball courts, foosball table, billiards and ping pong
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Yellow, red and green are grounding colors for these one-, two-, three- and four-bedroom condos. Kitchens allow Dunes Village Resort guests the option of cooking at home on the electric stove, warming up food in the microwave and keeping it in the refrigerator. Sliding glass doors with floor-to-ceiling windows offer views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Features

The Dunes Village Resort keeps the whole family entertained with a 250-foot lazy river, four water slides, Jacuzzis and adorable touches like a Silly Submarine equipped with water spouts. Summer activities include craft making for the kids, pool games and treasure hunts. Parents turn to foosball, basketball and tennis courts and ping pong.

Dining

At the Captain's Cafe, an offshoot of the award-winning Sea Captain's House, diners indulge in the signature dishes while taking in the ocean setting from the patio or window-side tables. The Admiral's Room delivers beach vistas, along with a hearty breakfast buffet. Visitors count on Seattle's Best Coffee Shop to sate their java and pastry fix.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (5.9 mi./9.5 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (9.1 mi./14.6 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.2 mi./3.5 km)
  • Ripley's Aquarium (2.2 mi./3.5 km)
  • Children's Museum (2.2 mi./3.5 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (2.2 mi./3.6 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Palace Theatre (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (2.9 mi./4.7 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (5.2 mi./8.3 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park  (6.8 mi./11 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (7.1 mi./11.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • Starting 1 January 2015, smoking will only be allowed in designated areas adjacent to the property. Smoking will not be allowed on balconies and public areas. Smoking inside the units will result to a $250 USD penalty charge. 

  • Trailers are not allowed to park overnight at the resort. The property offers alternative offsite trailer parking locations.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dunes Village Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Dunes Village Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Oceanfront Suite
This room offers 2 Queens, Murphy bed and sofa sleeper with cable TV, DVD player, efficiency kitchen, full bath, dressing area and private balcony.
One Bedroom Oceanfront Studio
This room offers 1 King and sofa sleeper with cable TV, DVD player, efficiency kitchen, full bath, dressing area and private balcony.
One Bedroom Oceanfront 2 Queen
This room offers 1 king, murphy bed and sofa sleeper with cable TV, DVD player, efficiency kitchen, full bath, dressing area and private balcony.
Two Bedroom Angle Oceanfront
This room offers 1 king, 2 Queens and sofa sleeper with cable TV, DVD player, efficiency kitchen, full bath, dressing area and private balcony.
Deluxe Studio Oceanfront - 2 Double Beds
Accommodates up to 4 guests in this 484 sqft Oceanfront Double Studio. As you enter the room you'll have a kitchenette equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, stove and granite counter tops. The guestroom is beautifully decorated with two queen size beds, loveseat, and the dining area. This room also comes with 2 TV's, 2 DVD players so everyone can watch what they want. You can also enjoy your coffee in the morning while watching the sun rise on your own private balcony.
Deluxe Studio - Oceanfront 1 King Bed and 1 Sleeper Sofa
Accommodates up to 4 guests in this 468 sqft Oceanfront King Studio. As you enter the room you'll have a kitchenette equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, stove and granite counter tops. The guestroom is beautifully decorated with a king size bed, queen size sleeper sofa, and the dining area. This room also comes with 2 TV's, 2 DVD players so everyone can watch what they want. You can also enjoy your coffee in the morning while watching the sun rise on your own private balcony.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.5 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 3.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 3.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 3.4 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 4 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 2.1 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 2.1 mi
  • MagiQuest: 2.2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 2.5 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 2.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 2.7 mi
  • Palace Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 2.9 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 3.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 3.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 3.4 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 6.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 6.3 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.6 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 7.3 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.5 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 12.6 mi

Dining

Captain's Caf restaurant
Welcome to the Captain's Cafe. Sit back and relax into one of life's most wonderous pleasures. Surrounded by our breath taking view of the ocean, you'll sample mouth-watering foods from Crab Cakes to Award Winning She-Crab Soup, to our Shrimp Salad. For friendly attentive service, come dine with us. HOURS: Lunch: 11AM-3PM | Dinner: 4PM-10PM TO GO MEALS AND ROOM DELIVERY IS AVAILABLE EXT. 4027 LOCATED IN THE PALMETTO BUILDING
Perk's Up Coffee Shop
Now Proudly serving Starbucks. Start your morning right with a delicious cup of coffee from Perk's Up Coffee Shop. For our younger guests, there is a variety of juices. Enjoy a light breakfast including pastries, muffins, bagels, cookies, and Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. HOURS: 6AM-8PM LOCATED IN THE PALMETTO BUILDING
Cabana Tiki Bar
Don't want to leave the beautiful sunny weather for a drink or a bite to eat? The oceanfront Cabana Tiki Bar is the answer to all of your wishes.Try our Signature Bucket List: Peach Fuzz Buzz, Dunes Blue Lemonade or the VooDoo Juice. HOURS: SEASONAL/WEATHER LOCATED ON THE PALMETTO POOL DECK
Admirals Room
Start your morning off right with an oceanfront breakfast at the Admiral's Room Restaurant. Enjoy a full breakfast buffet including a homemade waffle station. NEW FOR 2014 Chef-made Omelet Station. HOURS: 7AM-11AM LOCATED IN THE PALMS BUILDING

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (232)

Ratings and reviews for Dunes Village Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alucard113
Business
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
May 8, 2014

Dunes Resort

When we first checked in we notice that a few items in the room needed to be fixed, when we told the staff they were more than helpful with getting us a new room they were kind and professional and we will definitely be coming back to stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VaPRIEST
Business
suffolk, VA
Jun 10, 2014

vacation

Great location and A++ hotel...will be returning soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
southend staycationers
Business
murrells inlet, sc
Jun 9, 2014

Super Friendly Staff

Great experience, there was always someone nearby to answer any questions. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danville,VA
Jun 23, 2009

Summer Vaction

Overall our stay was very good. We really enjoyed the pools. There were a lot of hot tubs, two indoor pools, two lazy rivers, two outdoor pools, four water slides, and plenty of nifty water features for kids. There's also some pool tables, and huge chess and checker boards which are a lot of fun. They have several wash off points for sand, including an indoor shower you can rinse off at before getting into pool. The hotel complex is huge, and there are a lot of people everywhere. However, this wasn't a drawback for us. There's so many different pools to play in, you don't feel overcrowded. The beach is well up kept, and under very good supervision. I felt really safe, the lifeguard pulled us out of ocean for a school of fish passing by as precaution. Knowing that someone was really watching made our days in the water even more carefree. The water was very nice, and low tide is the best time to be in the water. The hotel itself is located about a 15 min drive from the main strip, which also wasn't too much of a drawback for us. It was nice, and the hotel activities made up for the drive. The only real complaint I have were the mattresses. We both have slept on better. Not to say you can't sleep, but you just would expect more from such spacious rooms, and such a nice place. The hotel staff was a mix. We had a few younger guys that didn't even seem to know where they were, and then some very nice, polite, well-rounded staff that were very helpful. Overall we were pleased. Parking is located across the street, but it's not really a pain to get to. No problems there. There are several spots of brochures for activities and events going on. We would recommend Medieval Times for families or couples wanting a really relaxing and enjoyable experience. It's a bit pricey, but it's worth it. If you'd like a drink, we found Fat Tuesdays on the Boardwalk very enjoyable (and reasonably priced!), as well as the hotel's bar (a bit pricey but you don't have to worry about getting back if you get carried away). For a seafood buffet, the Captain George's is good, but not a good as some other Captain George's I've been too. So if you've ever ate there, I'd might venture for another buffet. The Alligator Adventure is nice, but don't go in expecting a full zoo. They advert tigers and zebras, of which they have one each. If you like alligators it's really amazing. We enjoyed ourselves, and you get a second day pass, so you can split it up over two days during the week to get more activities in. We didn't, but the flexibility might be nice for those with small children. The rides on the strip are EXPENSIVE. Would recommend just going to the Freestyle park, or buying a ticket to Family Kingdom. Otherwise, you will pay about the same for ONE ride. Not really a value of savings. The parking meters are the way to go for a walk on the strip. You'll save a ton if you bring some quarters. Overall the hotel was very nice, and we enjoyed our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RCK1
Business
Pittsburgh Pa
Sep 4, 2011

Perfect for a young family.

Perfect for Beach fun. People with young families can especially enjoy this Hotel. There are a lot of activies for children. The facility is well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacob P.
Business
NY, NY
Jan 31, 2010

fun, comfy, but more $ than you think

This hotel is located right on the beach, which is amazing. We had a room in the Palmetto Tower which was fantastic and overlooked the ocean. I would highly recommend the oceanfront rooms if it's within budget. The rooms (one queen) are spacious, there are two TVs, a kitchen area stocked with plates, silverware and glasses, a stove and microwave, 2 TVs, a comfy bathroom with a tub, and another sink near the bed. There is a balcony with blocked off walls so it's just you and the ocean. We were on the 6th floor which I think is the highest floor with this arrangement, floors higher up can see other balconies from their balcony.One of the best parts was the HEATED pools which makes even our January trip amazing. The kiddie indoor pool is in the Palmetto Tower and the more older kid/adult one is in the Palm Tower. There is a heated lazy river outside as well as a heated hottub, and two non-heated pools. It was 40 degrees outside and the lazy river was AMAZING outside!The hotel is near a few restaurants (Aspen Grill, Chilis, Melting Pot) but we didn't have a car so we didn't go too far. I liked the quietness which I've been told is particular to the winter only (summer it's really busy).The only thing I didn't like were a few "hidden fees". [...]and then the breakfast was so expensive it should be considered a hidden fee. With no other plausible options (since we didn't have a car) we ended up paying $25 for a very simple buffet breakfast for two. There are two waffle makers, though, always a plus.Finally, the room just made us melt out of comfort. Incredibly comfortable.Overall, it was fantastic and I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Melting Pot is a relatively expensive and business casual type place, but totally worth it! It was tons of fun as we had never done fondue before. Try it out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exp'd traveler
Business
Summerville, SC
Apr 25, 2009

Nice stay but

While the location and the room itself were great and I would recomend for a family get away indoor pools with water sildes etc be wary that when they saw I had booked with Orbitz my room # was changed. I still had ocean view balcony room on the first floor BUT was moved right next to the hotel kitchen and the laundry room which made for a noisy stay and at 5:30 you could smell them preparing for the breakfast buffet. They also have great access to the beach. The staff was not rude but they were not friendly either. Parking is across the street in a parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Indoor pools and water sildes this would be great place to stay with tweens and younger if you want both the beach and pool time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazy with 3 boys!!!
Business
durham NC
Jun 22, 2009

what a wonderful family vacation

I am a single mother with 3 children. My kids had a wonderful time!Believe it or not, it was very restful for me because of the water slides! I felt very safe and I felt safe leaving my children to play!! I was there by the pool if they needed me but they were so entertained, they didn't need me!!! Wow I got to relax!!! Great room and close to everything,but yet not too busy with crowds!!! My only complaint! I didn't like the price for the valet parking!! When you come back after a long day at the beach, the last thing you want to do is carry a 4 yr old that is tired and crumpy! But other than that it was a great time for the money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

Ok for Family trip

It's an okay place to stay, If you want to be close to downtown 54th ave N is too far. I was told I would be in walking distance to the shopping mall and on the strip, yeah only if you planned on power walking. Overall nice hotel if you want to take a family vacation for the pool and water park, you cant go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fast food and Bars are close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dunes Village Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fmily with toddler
Business
Detroit
May 18, 2014

Great place with a few downsides

This hotel is actually very good but it had a few downsides that I disliked. I would still come back and suggest it. Pros: Nice, comfortable, big rooms, great facilities and water park, great beach, great value for the price. Cons: The restaurant is not kids friendly as they do not allow high chairs on the patio. In order to eat outside we had to go elsewhere They allow smoking on the balcony. For us as non-smokers it was pretty disgusting to smell the smoke from other balconies in the evening. They only change sheets every three days even when they are dirty unless you explicitly request it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top