$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Dayton House Resort

3 stars
2400 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
Clean and convenient

Great central location - walk to the Boardwalk. Close to beachwear shops, pancake houses and mini... See full review

  • luvthebeach2014
  • Apr 9, 2014
No Problems

Dayton House always meets my expectations. Right on the beach and easy walking distance to the... See full review

  • Tank Daddy
  • Jul 26, 2014
Swimming pool and oceanfront lawn with picnic tables in Myrtle Beach

Dayton House Resort guests enjoy picnics and soak up the tropical views before returning to the walk-in pool, one of multiple water features at the property. A lazy river keeps the pace nice and slow, while two restaurants -- one open seasonally -- were made for casual dining. Rooms were made for extended stays, boasting full kitchens or kitchenettes and balconies for indulging in the beachside setting.

Highlights
  • Family-friendly efficiencies and suites
  • The largest oceanfront lawn in Myrtle Beach
  • Walk-in swimming pool, plus a lazy river and children's pool
  • Seasonal poolside bar
  • Game room and fitness center
Rooms
Groups find the residential amenities -- full kitchens, kitchenettes and sofas depending on the room -- welcome conveniences. Private balconies invite Dayton House Resort guests to enjoy ocean or city views.
Dining
Dayton House Resort guests take advantage of in-room kitchenettes and full kitchens or eat breakfast and lunch at Uncle John's Restaurant. The eatery is open from 5:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Yella Umbrella, a poolside bar serves light bites and drinks during the summer.
Recreation
A wide oceanfront lawn -- the largest in Myrtle Beach -- invites visitors to dine outside under yellow umbrellas at picnic tables. The free-form pool holds the distinction of being the area's first walk-in pool and adds to the wealth of other water features -- like a lazy river, children's pool, indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzis. An arcade shows appreciation for the retro with air hockey and video games parked alongside rocking chairs. The fitness center is equipped with cardio and weight machines plus a sauna.
Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (4 mi./6.4 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.1 mi./17.9 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.2 mi./2 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.9 mi./3.1 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.9 mi./6.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.8 mi./7.7 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (6.4 mi./10.2 km)
Business
  • More than 2,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Catering services
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center with computer, print and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Children and single adults under 25 must be accompanied by parents at the resort

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dayton House Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Dayton House Resort Rooms

Standard
Oceanfront Efficiency 2 Queens - Oceanfront efficiency with two queen beds and kitchen with large refrigerator stove and range and microwave and a private balcony directly facing the ocean.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanview King Efficiency - Angle Oceanview King Efficiency with a king bed and a love seat sofa kitchen with a large refrigerator stove/range and microwave oven and a private wrap around balcony angled 45 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
Angle Oceanview Efficiency 2 Queens - Oceanview Efficiency with two queen beds and kitchen with a large refrigerator stove and range and microwave and a private balcony angled 45 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
West Side View Efficiency 2 Queens-With two queen beds and kitchen with large refrigerator. Stove and range and microwave. This unit is across the street from the ocean with a partial ocean view from a private balcony angled 90 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
Side View Efficiency 2 Queens-Side View Efficiency with 2 queen beds. Kitchen w/ large refrigerator. Stove and range and microwave. This unit is in an oceanfront building with a limited oceanview from a private balcony of an 90 degree angle to the ocean.
Suite
Oceanfront 2 Room Double Suite-With a BD with 2 double beds. TV and phone. Kitchen with full-size refrigerator and stove and microwave. Living room w/double wall bed. Love seat sofa. TV. Phone and dining table and a private balcony w/full oceanfront view.
Suite
Oceanview 2 Room Queen Suite-Suite with bedroom with a queen bed. TV and phone. Kitchen with full sized refrigerator and range/stove and microwave. Living room with double wallbed. Dining table and a private balcony full angle oceanview.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
News stand
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.3 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 5.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 5.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 5.4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Johns Restaurant
Open Daily 5.30am-3pm Mar-Nov 5.30am-2pm Dec-Feb Adjacent to the resort Uncle Johns is a clean family style restaurant with a causal atmosphere.
Sea Captain House
Open daily 7am-10pm An award winning oceanfront restaurant specializing in seafood and steaks.Every seat has an oceanview.
Bunz Beach Bar
Open daily 11am-1am An oceanfront bar-restaurant with an open airy atmosphere with food and drink specials daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Dayton House Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 86
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tank Daddy
Business
Raeford, NC
Jul 26, 2014

No Problems

Dayton House always meets my expectations. Right on the beach and easy walking distance to the convention center which saves $ on parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCU New Mom
Business
Overland Park KS
Jul 20, 2014

College orientation weekend

The staff were pleasant and helpful, especially when we unexpectedly had to check-in after midnight. The room was very comfortable and the view gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Soho restaurant 3 blocks from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KAYLUVZOCEAN
Business
SC
Jul 15, 2014

Mediocre

besides having a room near the elevator, a hard to open balcony door and a bath tub that wouldn't plug so my kids could take a bath instead of a shower, it was an ok stay. Fast check-in and checkout but bad parking. Parking garage is far distance, so inconvenient. The air conditioner was leaking water all over the balcony making it slippery. If I was to come back to this hotel it'd HAVE to be a better oceanfront room. The picnic area was nice and the pools were warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

John's restaurant was YUCK and poor food quality...stale french fries and the kids grilled cheese on rye bread, c'mon guys!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cola. Traveler
Business
South Carolina
Jun 27, 2014

Convenient, basic hotel with great amenities for value

Hotel is well located between activities in N Myrtle Beach area and those right in main area. Hotel is a good value with basic cleanliness and comfort-nothing fancy in terms of the rooms. Definite positive that there is minimal noise carry-over between rooms. But the view is nice, the lawn in front of the beach is a great feature for being outside without being in the sand the whole time-nice relaxing zone! There is a restaurant across the street that delivers and gives discount to hotel guests; also an ice cream shop and fancier dinner-out restaurants in walking distance. Staff was helpful throughout stay as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sea Captain's house is a walk down the beach or streetside (North of hotel)---a MB staple for family, friend, and romantic dinners.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tanner's mommy
Business
Middlesex,North Carolina
Feb 25, 2014

Great weekend getaway

The part if the hotel we stated in was a little dated. But overall, for a weekend getaway it was suitable. Very convenient to Pavillion area and Broadway at the Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SMNash
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 29, 2013

Pretty Good, not the best

Location was wonderful; oceanfront views were exactly what was advertised on the website. The room layout lends to privacy or group interaction. The bedding was clean and the mattresses were comfortable. The only thing I have to complain about is the cleanliness. There was a huge cobweb on the curtains that showed how long it 's been since those draperies were vaccumed, beaten, or washed. Overall, the room could use a thourough cleaning and the bathrooms could stand a scrubbing and bleaching. They were not dirty (other than the extra large cobweb) just not as clean as they could have been. Other than that, there's nothing more you could ask for in a 3 star oceanfront room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReyAlonso
Business
Englewood, NJ
Mar 10, 2013

great for the price

The efficiency apartment was great. Clean room with plates, silverware. Balcony. Could not get better for the price. Not all the buildings are on the beach though. We were across the street. Next time I would try and get a room on their beachfront buildings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pier 41 restaurant and the Slywheel. Must do but best at sunset. Can't see as much after nightfall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
petey the bench warmer
Business
long island,ny
Feb 25, 2013

great room,view,clean for the price

any questions we had were answered promptly. locatiion was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Ca
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Feb 20, 2013

Repeat Customer

Dayton House is my personal favorite to spend the weekend at Myrtle Beach because of the total package. The Package: Room Cleanliness, Value, Room Comfort and Location (in that order). I am not a typist, so I would just like to say that I would highly recommend this place to all of my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachlover2
Business
Georgia
Jul 20, 2012

Great place to stay!

We've stayed here for years and love it. Rooms are clean, ocean front lawn with chairs and umbrellas is perfect, and the staff is friendly. One reason we stay here is that we prefer the family atmosphere and there is used to be a strict no-noise after 11pm policy. However, this year there was a good bit of noise late at night (up until 1am and after) by the elevators near our room. I think simply posting signs about this policy might be enough to remind most guests to keep the noise down late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top