$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Dayton House Resort

3 stars
2400 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
120 reviews
Clean and convenient

Great central location - walk to the Boardwalk. Close to beachwear shops, pancake houses and mini... See full review

  • luvthebeach2014
  • Apr 9, 2014
College orientation weekend

The staff were pleasant and helpful, especially when we unexpectedly had to check-in after... See full review

  • CCU New Mom
  • Jul 20, 2014
Swimming pool and oceanfront lawn with picnic tables in Myrtle Beach

Dayton House Resort guests enjoy picnics and soak up the tropical views before returning to the walk-in pool, one of multiple water features at the property. A lazy river keeps the pace nice and slow, while two restaurants -- one open seasonally -- were made for casual dining. Rooms were made for extended stays, boasting full kitchens or kitchenettes and balconies for indulging in the beachside setting.

Highlights
  • Family-friendly efficiencies and suites
  • The largest oceanfront lawn in Myrtle Beach
  • Walk-in swimming pool, plus a lazy river and children's pool
  • Seasonal poolside bar
  • Game room and fitness center
Rooms

Groups find the residential amenities -- full kitchens, kitchenettes and sofas depending on the room -- welcome conveniences. Private balconies invite Dayton House Resort guests to enjoy ocean or city views.

Dining

Dayton House Resort guests take advantage of in-room kitchenettes and full kitchens or eat breakfast and lunch at Uncle John's Restaurant. The eatery is open from 5:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Yella Umbrella, a poolside bar serves light bites and drinks during the summer.

Recreation

A wide oceanfront lawn -- the largest in Myrtle Beach -- invites visitors to dine outside under yellow umbrellas at picnic tables. The free-form pool holds the distinction of being the area's first walk-in pool and adds to the wealth of other water features -- like a lazy river, children's pool, indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzis.

 

An arcade shows appreciation for the retro with air hockey and video games parked alongside rocking chairs. The fitness center is equipped with cardio and weight machines plus a sauna.

Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (4 mi./6.4 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.1 mi./17.9 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.2 mi./2 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.9 mi./3.1 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.9 mi./6.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.8 mi./7.7 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (6.4 mi./10.2 km)
Business
  • More than 2,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Catering services
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center with computer, print and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Children and single adults under 25 must be accompanied by parents at the resort

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.7037 -78.8672
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 5.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dayton House Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Dayton House Resort Rooms

Standard
Oceanfront Efficiency 2 Queens - Oceanfront efficiency with two queen beds and kitchen with large refrigerator stove and range and microwave and a private balcony directly facing the ocean.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanview King Efficiency - Angle Oceanview King Efficiency with a king bed and a love seat sofa kitchen with a large refrigerator stove/range and microwave oven and a private wrap around balcony angled 45 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
Angle Oceanview Efficiency 2 Queens - Oceanview Efficiency with two queen beds and kitchen with a large refrigerator stove and range and microwave and a private balcony angled 45 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
West Side View Efficiency 2 Queens-With two queen beds and kitchen with large refrigerator. Stove and range and microwave. This unit is across the street from the ocean with a partial ocean view from a private balcony angled 90 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
Side View Efficiency 2 Queens-Side View Efficiency with 2 queen beds. Kitchen w/ large refrigerator. Stove and range and microwave. This unit is in an oceanfront building with a limited oceanview from a private balcony of an 90 degree angle to the ocean.
Suite
Oceanfront 2 Room Double Suite-With a BD with 2 double beds. TV and phone. Kitchen with full-size refrigerator and stove and microwave. Living room w/double wall bed. Love seat sofa. TV. Phone and dining table and a private balcony w/full oceanfront view.
Suite
Oceanview 2 Room Queen Suite-Suite with bedroom with a queen bed. TV and phone. Kitchen with full sized refrigerator and range/stove and microwave. Living room with double wallbed. Dining table and a private balcony full angle oceanview.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
News stand
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.3 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 5.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 5.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 5.4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Johns Restaurant
Open Daily 5.30am-3pm Mar-Nov 5.30am-2pm Dec-Feb Adjacent to the resort Uncle Johns is a clean family style restaurant with a causal atmosphere.
Sea Captain House
Open daily 7am-10pm An award winning oceanfront restaurant specializing in seafood and steaks.Every seat has an oceanview.
Bunz Beach Bar
Open daily 11am-1am An oceanfront bar-restaurant with an open airy atmosphere with food and drink specials daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Dayton House Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 120
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxed Lisa
Pa
Jul 19, 2014

Couples getaway

Great experience once again at the Dayton House, only real issue is they need more employee presence at the pool, too many unattended children not following the rules

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steelo
Atlanta
Jul 1, 2014

Nice hotel not to bad at all

Hotel room was very nice clean and spacious. We had the double queen bed with kitchenette. Only thing is we we were booked for a side view room and it was more like a street view room on the 2nd floor, witch of of course we couldn't see the ocean to we'll. Location was fine and pool area nice as well. Staff were ok, just make sure you let the maid clean your room the first time she comes, because she will not come back. Everything was pretty clean and organized. Not a bad hotel for further price, just make secure to Donna research for the best available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Carolinas

Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Douglas'
Georgia
Jun 16, 2014

Dayton House Resorts

The location was excellent! The rooms are a little dated. We enjoyed our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr smooth
effingham, il
Mar 29, 2014

cold week

we stayed across the street... the room was a bit dated ~ but it was clean, safe & quiet .... & a very good deal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KandiKane
Evans, GA
Sep 23, 2013

The room was alright. Too bad we couldn't sleep!

The room was clean, but the bathroom smelled like a wet dog. Teenagers partied outside our door until 5 am, and it was VERY difficult to sleep. The staff was not interested in getting involved AT ALL. We made a call to the front desk that went unanswered, and we complained upon checkout, but nothing was done. In total, my husband and I had 2 hours of sleep. The hot tub looks impressive, but it is freezing cold. We were told that it was at performing correctly. Overall, the hotel was clean (other than the smell), and safe, but it lacked qualities found at SO MANY other hotels on Myrtle Beach in the same price range. My family frequently visits Myrtle beach, but we will not stay at the Dayton house again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
just4funsc29
Orangeburg
Jun 12, 2013

Needs another Counter clerk

When we first check in we were regretting our decision to stay here. The desk clerk was very rude and unhelpful. I have a recent back injury and had just had shots in my back and hip and was not aware that we were booked across the road in a smal addition to the hotel. She made no attempt to help even with my back issue. She mad a smart comment regarding the value we got the hotel room for! The parking was a good walk from the hotel. My poor husband was stuck carrying all the luggage because there were no carts available in the addition. Thankfully the room was clean and comfortable. The room was quiet and everything worked. Nice place to stay but you should be aware of the fact that you may not stay in the main hotel and will have to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
just4funsc29
Orangeburg
Mar 25, 2013

Great but rude staff

The hotel was great aznd very clean. I was very happy with everything but the rude front desk staff. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ret47
Sumter, SC
Jan 24, 2013

Nice Stay

This was a quick trip to the beach so we did not spend much time at the hotel. Overall it was excellent, great location right in town on the beach. The grounds wewre spotless with ample chairs and pools. Very friendly and helpful staff and the room was very nice, clean and spacious with a great view. We will stay here again and hope to have more time to enjoy a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is near most of the main attractions and is right on the beach.

Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johnnywho
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 4, 2013

Just normal

They have a nice staff and everything was just normal. It was nothing spectacular, but not bad at all. I recommend it as it is cheap and good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigdaddyfred
north carolina
Jan 2, 2013

Great New years night

Great hotel for value!!!! It was perfect for a new years get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to all dining, and entertainment

Back to menu Return to top