$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Dayton House Resort

3 stars
2400 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
Clean and convenient

Great central location - walk to the Boardwalk. Close to beachwear shops, pancake houses and mini... See full review

  • luvthebeach2014
  • Apr 9, 2014
No Problems

Dayton House always meets my expectations. Right on the beach and easy walking distance to the... See full review

  • Tank Daddy
  • Jul 26, 2014
Swimming pool and oceanfront lawn with picnic tables in Myrtle Beach

Dayton House Resort guests enjoy picnics and soak up the tropical views before returning to the walk-in pool, one of multiple water features at the property. A lazy river keeps the pace nice and slow, while two restaurants -- one open seasonally -- were made for casual dining. Rooms were made for extended stays, boasting full kitchens or kitchenettes and balconies for indulging in the beachside setting.

Highlights
  • Family-friendly efficiencies and suites
  • The largest oceanfront lawn in Myrtle Beach
  • Walk-in swimming pool, plus a lazy river and children's pool
  • Seasonal poolside bar
  • Game room and fitness center
Rooms
Groups find the residential amenities -- full kitchens, kitchenettes and sofas depending on the room -- welcome conveniences. Private balconies invite Dayton House Resort guests to enjoy ocean or city views.
Dining
Dayton House Resort guests take advantage of in-room kitchenettes and full kitchens or eat breakfast and lunch at Uncle John's Restaurant. The eatery is open from 5:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Yella Umbrella, a poolside bar serves light bites and drinks during the summer.
Recreation
A wide oceanfront lawn -- the largest in Myrtle Beach -- invites visitors to dine outside under yellow umbrellas at picnic tables. The free-form pool holds the distinction of being the area's first walk-in pool and adds to the wealth of other water features -- like a lazy river, children's pool, indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzis. An arcade shows appreciation for the retro with air hockey and video games parked alongside rocking chairs. The fitness center is equipped with cardio and weight machines plus a sauna.
Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (4 mi./6.4 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.1 mi./17.9 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.2 mi./2 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.9 mi./3.1 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.9 mi./6.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.8 mi./7.7 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (6.4 mi./10.2 km)
Business
  • More than 2,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Catering services
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center with computer, print and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Children and single adults under 25 must be accompanied by parents at the resort

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dayton House Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Dayton House Resort Rooms

Standard
Oceanfront Efficiency 2 Queens - Oceanfront efficiency with two queen beds and kitchen with large refrigerator stove and range and microwave and a private balcony directly facing the ocean.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanview King Efficiency - Angle Oceanview King Efficiency with a king bed and a love seat sofa kitchen with a large refrigerator stove/range and microwave oven and a private wrap around balcony angled 45 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
Angle Oceanview Efficiency 2 Queens - Oceanview Efficiency with two queen beds and kitchen with a large refrigerator stove and range and microwave and a private balcony angled 45 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
West Side View Efficiency 2 Queens-With two queen beds and kitchen with large refrigerator. Stove and range and microwave. This unit is across the street from the ocean with a partial ocean view from a private balcony angled 90 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
Side View Efficiency 2 Queens-Side View Efficiency with 2 queen beds. Kitchen w/ large refrigerator. Stove and range and microwave. This unit is in an oceanfront building with a limited oceanview from a private balcony of an 90 degree angle to the ocean.
Suite
Oceanfront 2 Room Double Suite-With a BD with 2 double beds. TV and phone. Kitchen with full-size refrigerator and stove and microwave. Living room w/double wall bed. Love seat sofa. TV. Phone and dining table and a private balcony w/full oceanfront view.
Suite
Oceanview 2 Room Queen Suite-Suite with bedroom with a queen bed. TV and phone. Kitchen with full sized refrigerator and range/stove and microwave. Living room with double wallbed. Dining table and a private balcony full angle oceanview.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
News stand
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.3 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 5.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 5.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 5.4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Johns Restaurant
Open Daily 5.30am-3pm Mar-Nov 5.30am-2pm Dec-Feb Adjacent to the resort Uncle Johns is a clean family style restaurant with a causal atmosphere.
Sea Captain House
Open daily 7am-10pm An award winning oceanfront restaurant specializing in seafood and steaks.Every seat has an oceanview.
Bunz Beach Bar
Open daily 11am-1am An oceanfront bar-restaurant with an open airy atmosphere with food and drink specials daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Dayton House Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love2Travelalot
Business
Ashland, Kentucky
Mar 22, 2012

Administrative incompetence

We arrived after 4 pm to enter our room to find it Empty of Beds , only frames in the floor with a room prepaired to be painted and NOT Rented, wall socket and burners on the stove where all missing removed. Drawers pulled out and sitting in the empty bed frames. after a quick phone call and a short wait the management did come to us with another room that was ready. however a lack of maintainence checking on the turnover workers completion of a job and and management not doing a walkthrew of rooms that are suppose to be ready, AND WHERE NOT shows some below performance standards. The Hotel was so close to perfect but it was not on the beach as we had hoped in fact the room we where given was in a third building across the road. In light of this Our Stay was GREAT the hotel was VERY NICE, what we did not learn was the heated pool in the fornt hotel was also availabe to us since it rained the day we where their. we still manage to have a blast and the free breakfast we recieved for the room Mess up was Great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of dining with in walking distance of hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Number3TrophyBoy
Business
South Carolina
May 23, 2012

Everything I Needed

I stayed in the Suites building on the 16th floor, awesome views and the suite was more like a condo everything you need is there including dishes, cookware, etc... Check-in was a breeze under 5 min. and staff was polite and accommodating. Best part parking under the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atlanta Travel Couple
Business
Atlanta
Jul 5, 2012

Fun trip

Good location and the room was very spacious. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beachlover2
Business
Georgia
Jul 20, 2012

Great place to stay!

We've stayed here for years and love it. Rooms are clean, ocean front lawn with chairs and umbrellas is perfect, and the staff is friendly. One reason we stay here is that we prefer the family atmosphere and there is used to be a strict no-noise after 11pm policy. However, this year there was a good bit of noise late at night (up until 1am and after) by the elevators near our room. I think simply posting signs about this policy might be enough to remind most guests to keep the noise down late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxed Lisa
Business
Pa
Jul 22, 2012

Returning customer

This is our 3rd year staying at the Dayton House and once again our stay was wonderful. The staff is always helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. The outdoor area is spacious and you're not fighting for a poolside seat. Looking forward to next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wags07
Business
Garden City, michigan
Jun 11, 2012

1st Vacation

2 miles from the airport $20.. cab ride, Fast check-in and out. Room was clean and plenty of dishes, Staff was Great especially Clara ( Great Job ). Umbrella Bar Employees were also Very friendly..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MYWP
Business
NC
Aug 20, 2012

Good resort

Just returned from a 3 night stay. Room was somewhat dated but all the facilities were extremely clean. Staff was friendly and courteous. This is the second time we have stayed at this resort and would definitely return. The only complaint was that our room was located next to the elevators and the noise was extremely loud and disruptive. Other than that - there is nothing negative to say. Nice place overall for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerseygirl25
Business
Oldwick, New Jersey
Aug 18, 2012

Great location

We had a great time at this hotel. I loved being able to walk downstairs and right onto the beach. It is also centrally located to some shops and bars/restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kirk's ice cream is practically around the corner. Great, old-fashioned ice cream parlor and yummy ice cream!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ret47
Business
Sumter, SC
Jan 24, 2013

Nice Stay

This was a quick trip to the beach so we did not spend much time at the hotel. Overall it was excellent, great location right in town on the beach. The grounds wewre spotless with ample chairs and pools. Very friendly and helpful staff and the room was very nice, clean and spacious with a great view. We will stay here again and hope to have more time to enjoy a very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is near most of the main attractions and is right on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Ca
Business
Columbia, SC, USA
Feb 20, 2013

Repeat Customer

Dayton House is my personal favorite to spend the weekend at Myrtle Beach because of the total package. The Package: Room Cleanliness, Value, Room Comfort and Location (in that order). I am not a typist, so I would just like to say that I would highly recommend this place to all of my friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top