$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

Dayton House Resort

3 stars
2400 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
85 reviews
Clean and convenient

Great central location - walk to the Boardwalk. Close to beachwear shops, pancake houses and mini... See full review

  • luvthebeach2014
  • Apr 9, 2014
No Problems

Dayton House always meets my expectations. Right on the beach and easy walking distance to the... See full review

  • Tank Daddy
  • Jul 26, 2014
Swimming pool and oceanfront lawn with picnic tables in Myrtle Beach

Dayton House Resort guests enjoy picnics and soak up the tropical views before returning to the walk-in pool, one of multiple water features at the property. A lazy river keeps the pace nice and slow, while two restaurants -- one open seasonally -- were made for casual dining. Rooms were made for extended stays, boasting full kitchens or kitchenettes and balconies for indulging in the beachside setting.

Highlights
  • Family-friendly efficiencies and suites
  • The largest oceanfront lawn in Myrtle Beach
  • Walk-in swimming pool, plus a lazy river and children's pool
  • Seasonal poolside bar
  • Game room and fitness center
Rooms
Groups find the residential amenities -- full kitchens, kitchenettes and sofas depending on the room -- welcome conveniences. Private balconies invite Dayton House Resort guests to enjoy ocean or city views.
Dining
Dayton House Resort guests take advantage of in-room kitchenettes and full kitchens or eat breakfast and lunch at Uncle John's Restaurant. The eatery is open from 5:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Yella Umbrella, a poolside bar serves light bites and drinks during the summer.
Recreation
A wide oceanfront lawn -- the largest in Myrtle Beach -- invites visitors to dine outside under yellow umbrellas at picnic tables. The free-form pool holds the distinction of being the area's first walk-in pool and adds to the wealth of other water features -- like a lazy river, children's pool, indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzis. An arcade shows appreciation for the retro with air hockey and video games parked alongside rocking chairs. The fitness center is equipped with cardio and weight machines plus a sauna.
Transportation
  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (4 mi./6.4 km)
  • Grand Strand Airport (11.1 mi./17.9 km)
Attractions
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • Children's Museum (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Pavilion Amusement Park (1.2 mi./2 km)
  • Palace Theatre (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • NASCAR SpeedPark (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Grand Strand (1.9 mi./3.1 km)
  • Freestyle Music Park (3.9 mi./6.2 km)
  • Myrtle Beach State Park (4.8 mi./7.7 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (6.4 mi./10.2 km)
Business
  • More than 2,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Catering services
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center with computer, print and fax services
Policies and fees
  • Children and single adults under 25 must be accompanied by parents at the resort

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.7037 -78.8672
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach AFB/Intl Airport, (MYR), 5.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dayton House Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Dayton House Resort Rooms

Standard
Oceanfront Efficiency 2 Queens - Oceanfront efficiency with two queen beds and kitchen with large refrigerator stove and range and microwave and a private balcony directly facing the ocean.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Oceanview King Efficiency - Angle Oceanview King Efficiency with a king bed and a love seat sofa kitchen with a large refrigerator stove/range and microwave oven and a private wrap around balcony angled 45 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
Angle Oceanview Efficiency 2 Queens - Oceanview Efficiency with two queen beds and kitchen with a large refrigerator stove and range and microwave and a private balcony angled 45 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
West Side View Efficiency 2 Queens-With two queen beds and kitchen with large refrigerator. Stove and range and microwave. This unit is across the street from the ocean with a partial ocean view from a private balcony angled 90 degrees to the ocean.
Standard
Side View Efficiency 2 Queens-Side View Efficiency with 2 queen beds. Kitchen w/ large refrigerator. Stove and range and microwave. This unit is in an oceanfront building with a limited oceanview from a private balcony of an 90 degree angle to the ocean.
Suite
Oceanfront 2 Room Double Suite-With a BD with 2 double beds. TV and phone. Kitchen with full-size refrigerator and stove and microwave. Living room w/double wall bed. Love seat sofa. TV. Phone and dining table and a private balcony w/full oceanfront view.
Suite
Oceanview 2 Room Queen Suite-Suite with bedroom with a queen bed. TV and phone. Kitchen with full sized refrigerator and range/stove and microwave. Living room with double wallbed. Dining table and a private balcony full angle oceanview.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
News stand
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.3 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 0.9 mi
  • MagiQuest: 1 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 1.1 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 1.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 1.3 mi
  • WonderWorks: 1.3 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 1.4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 1.5 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 1.5 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 4.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 5.3 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 5.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 5.4 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 5.7 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 8.3 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 10.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Johns Restaurant
Open Daily 5.30am-3pm Mar-Nov 5.30am-2pm Dec-Feb Adjacent to the resort Uncle Johns is a clean family style restaurant with a causal atmosphere.
Sea Captain House
Open daily 7am-10pm An award winning oceanfront restaurant specializing in seafood and steaks.Every seat has an oceanview.
Bunz Beach Bar
Open daily 11am-1am An oceanfront bar-restaurant with an open airy atmosphere with food and drink specials daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Dayton House Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 11, 2007

A great place to stay

The Dayton House was very comfortable. It was a very nice experience. Tservice was excellant. The housekeeping staff was excellant, they kept it clean and free of all that sand. Overall a very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

It's close to food,shopping and night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 8, 2007

ok in a pinch

The Dayton House is an older, no frills hotel lacking in many amenities that are common to most beach front resort hotels. No Wi-Fi, small rooms, noisy AC,off-site parking and snarly housekeeping staff makes it less attractive than many other properties in the same price range The large Beach front/pool side yard is a plus if you are looking for a place to unwind, but don't look for any poolside service. All in all,spend a few dollars more and skip this relic from the 70's

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilmington, NC
May 20, 2007

Good value

The hotel had a beautiful view of the strand. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. However, renovations would make it more appealing to the eye, as furnishings were worn and outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Broadway At the Beach which features numerous restaurants, nightclubs, aquarium, IMAX theater, and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 20, 2007

I hope you dont ride a motorcycle

I went to MB SC during bike week and rode my motorcycle. There were several of us who rode bikes and they made us park in public pay parking, rather than allowing us to park on the hotel property. I understand they dont want people with loud bikes parking in the parking under the hotel, but I do not understand why they would not allow us to park in the very large parking lot across from the hotel. Also when we checked in they were very rude when we pulled up in the check in area and would not let us check in then park, we had to park in public parking and then walk 2 block with all our gear to the hotel. The hotel itself was very nice and I would stay there again, just not during bike week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

awesome beach view, beach location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
May 19, 2007

My review of Dayton House Resort

The Dayton House Resort was very comfortable and in a great location within the area. Restaurant and all retail shopping is within minutes of walk. One of their building have an extensive beach front. their rooms are large and comfortable with all kind of amenities. I am looking foward to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The caf? next door has the best breakfast in town. Make sure you try the southern breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton House Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
May 18, 2007

Good value for the money, Amenities Lacking

The room was very nice, and it's great having a kitchen; but their gift shop (very small) closed early - 2pm, and no grocery store in easy walking distance to stock the kitchen; no room service or other on-site dining option. Very disappointed there was no internet service offered in the room, although 2 workstations were available in the lobby. I've become very used to wireless internet service in all hotels now and found that to be a problem, as I had brought some work with me. Also, very basic cable offered, with no on-screen checkout options, premium channels or pay-per-view options. However, I could not fault the cleanliness of the room or the helpfulness of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Boardwalk on the Beach, which is very fun for daytime shopping and night-time dancing. However, too far to walk; you'll need a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search