$206 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
235 reviews
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Great for Families!

The pools, the lazy river, the convenience to the highway... Perfect for my family! See full review

  • nctsiawd
  • Aug 22, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with more than 20 pools, tubs and fountains

Relax with a private balcony and views onto the Atlantic Ocean at Crown Reef Hotel in Myrtle Beach. Set on the sand, guests enjoy the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where more than 20 swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains dot the landscape. Meander down a 575-foot-long "lazy river," unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights

                                                                                   

  • Perfect sunrises and panoramic ocean views from Crown Reef guest rooms, all facing the Atlantic
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long "lazy river"
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or rooms with kitchen facilities for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef feature a private balcony and breathtaking Atlantic Ocean and sunrise views. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, a TV with HBO, a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains, plus pools for kids only. The main event is a "lazy river" that winds across the sundeck area, an enormous 575 feet long. The hotel also features an oceanfront fitness center and video game room, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. At Crown Cafe, guests can enjoy an affordable breakfast, lunch or dinner, or order room service. Treasure Chest serves easy-going breakfast and lunch dishes. The seasonal Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks. And, the oceanfront Cloud 9 Lounge puts the "happy" in happy hour.

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi in every guest room
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Guests booking must be 23 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6616 -78.9154
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport (3 miles), Charleston International Airport (100 miles), Wilmington, NC International Airport (83 miles), Florence Regional Airport (70 miles)

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering a full menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner as well as a breakfast buffet. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Treasure Chest
The Treasure Chest express cafe is the alternative to full service dining. This cafe is located oceanfront and provides prompt service and tasty food. Open Seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 235
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.8

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missing beach already
Griffin, Georgia
Jun 8, 2014

Fantastic Beach Getaway

We had a wonderful time at the resort. Room was clean and comfy. Pool and lazy river area was fun with many activities (music and kid activities). Staff was friendly and helpful. Will for sure return for another stay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hollister
NC
May 20, 2014

Disappointed

Definitely not like the pictures online. I expected it to be a fun place with huge pools, a nice room, etc (like the pictures) but I got the complete opposite. The room was decent, none of the furniture matched but that’s not really a big deal. The carpet was wet from the air conditioner which was kind of gross. What I was most displeased with was the tower we were placed in. We were in tower 3 which looked like the only tower at this resort that hasn’t been renovated yet. Towers one and two looked much better than ours. Our elevators were broken the whole weekend so we had to walk up and down 9 flights of stairs. Luckily we found the staff elevator but it was clanky and dirty. There were no signs telling you where to go or what elevators to take since they were renovating the place. We ran into a bunch of dead ends and construction areas and had to turn all the way around. The pools advertised that they closed at 11 but when we got down there Thursday night at 8:30 they were already closed and the hot tubs were freezing. The pools were not indoors at all and were too cold to enjoy. The only thing I liked about our stay was the friendly staff and the Loco Gecko restaurant. I was expecting a lot more, very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daniel cross
south Carolina
Mar 21, 2014

was not good at they should have let it be known that they was under renovation

I will not go back they never said anything about being under renovation and the have charged my card for over 100 dollars gave it back and now that I'm home I see where they have charged me over 100 dollars again has been by far the worst time I ever had with any hotel now I guess I got to call them and see about getting the money the hotel keeps charging me back I never thought I would have to worry about paying the hotel over 100 dollars but with that said they will never get me again I will look and check into the hotels a lot closer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Puckett52
North Carolina
Feb 26, 2014

Unsatisfactory conditions

The following is our list of complaints regarding our stay at Crown Reef from 2/21/2014 – 2/23/2014 • Our non-smoking room had a light smell of stale smoke which permeated our clothes when hung in closet • Elevator dirty with floor tiles cracked; emergency phone missing and inspection was out of date • Walked on dirt floor over wires and yellow power cords to get to pools • Massive construction was our view from balcony • Breakfast was across street • Maid service consisted of emptying our trash. • VMB card wouldn't scan We were not informed of this massive ongoing construction either on Crown Reef website or upon checking in. We found this place to be dirty and hazardous with very few of the amenities mentioned online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elizabeth W
sc
Jan 3, 2014

great getaway

Room didn't have microwave but was still fine and little restaurant has great breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Air Force Girlfriend
Washington DC
Sep 3, 2013

Great hotel, not so great staff.

I stayed here labor day weekend. The location, the hotel itself was amazing! The only downside was that on our floor the hallway where the vending machines was flooded. When I stepped into the room, I immediately slipped and fell injuring my knee. Two employees walked past me as I was crying and did nothing. It took a third employee to ask if I was okay. Then when I spoke to the manager she couldn't have cared any less. Not all of the employees were this rude. The guest services representative, Matthew was extremely kind and caring. Other than that issue, the hotel was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrspooda
sc
Aug 22, 2013

it was ok

The hotel needs some serious upgrading for.the money they charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cyrebus54
Lexington, SC
Aug 19, 2013

Great Getaway

My wife and I were looking for somewhere nice but not extravagant for a short getaway. This place was a little older property but clean with a very helpful and fun staff. Great bartender Sam and housekeeping personnel were very pleasant and courteous. if you a lot of bang for your buck this is the place. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Week getaway
Upstate, SC
Aug 17, 2013

Much better than expected.

Been to the beach before and wasnt expecting much. The hotel was nice, the front desk clerk even let us check in early after driving all night. The setup took a couple hours to get used to with the checkin and office across the road, but once we settled in, we found that we did not need anything. The room was very spacious. the king jacuzzi suite had 2 seperate bedrooms, and a split bathroom with FULL kitchen. WAS NOT EXPECTING THAT! the split rooms was great because it allowed privacy both between us and our travel guest, and allowed us each to independantly watch tv and control our comfort with the AC :) Its at the end of Ocean Blvd, which is the major downside, but a short drive north and enjoyable scenery made that a minor point. The only two downsides I seen was the king suite was not on the balcony side of the unit. (murphy bed and sleeper sofa was in balcony room, king bed in entry bedroom) I would have swapped them for the ability to keep balcony open and listen to the ocean at night. and #2, they were having elevator issues while there. Of the 3 elevators in our building 2, one was down the entire week. However elevator techs were there all week working on each one, so maybe they are improving. Very comfortable stay, room was clean. We didnt even get a chance to check out all they have to offer, many many many pools, lounges, resturants. Definately a repeat stayin the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Pirate Voyage Dinner show was fantastic. Well worth the money.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mannie Sue
South Carolina
Aug 8, 2013

Weekend getaway

The hotel was really an awesome experience for us. We had less than a 2 minute wait to check in, the parking was conveniently located in the parking garage underneath the hotel & the South location had almost no hotel traffic. The stay was wonderful. We had a fully stocked kitchen with coffee maker which we used because they provided coffee, creamer, sugar & cups. The bathroom was spotless. The staff came and cleaned up on regular basis & if we needed anything they brought it right up. We got to stay on the very top floor, 11th, and the oceanfront view was spectacular at sunrise. The lazy river and pool was great & very clean. The room had a beachy feel. The walls was a peach color, beach pictures were hanging on walls, the bed was clean & it had a beachthemed color pattern. We had a flat screen on wall, dresser with mirror and provided hangers in closet. Plus we had an iron, ironing board & a safe! At the day of checkout, it didnt take 1 minute to get us checked out! The experience was the best we have ever had & I couldn't ask for a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top