$180 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
235 reviews
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Great for Families!

The pools, the lazy river, the convenience to the highway... Perfect for my family! See full review

  • nctsiawd
  • Aug 22, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with more than 20 pools, tubs and fountains

Relax with a private balcony and views onto the Atlantic Ocean at Crown Reef Hotel in Myrtle Beach. Set on the sand, guests enjoy the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where more than 20 swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains dot the landscape. Meander down a 575-foot-long "lazy river," unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights

                                                                                   

  • Perfect sunrises and panoramic ocean views from Crown Reef guest rooms, all facing the Atlantic
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long "lazy river"
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or rooms with kitchen facilities for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef feature a private balcony and breathtaking Atlantic Ocean and sunrise views. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, a TV with HBO, a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains, plus pools for kids only. The main event is a "lazy river" that winds across the sundeck area, an enormous 575 feet long. The hotel also features an oceanfront fitness center and video game room, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. At Crown Cafe, guests can enjoy an affordable breakfast, lunch or dinner, or order room service. Treasure Chest serves easy-going breakfast and lunch dishes. The seasonal Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks. And, the oceanfront Cloud 9 Lounge puts the "happy" in happy hour.

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi in every guest room
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Guests booking must be 23 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6616 -78.9154
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport (3 miles), Charleston International Airport (100 miles), Wilmington, NC International Airport (83 miles), Florence Regional Airport (70 miles)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering a full menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner as well as a breakfast buffet. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Treasure Chest
The Treasure Chest express cafe is the alternative to full service dining. This cafe is located oceanfront and provides prompt service and tasty food. Open Seasonally.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 235
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.8

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bigbill2966
st petersburg,fl
Jun 4, 2012

the hotel under construction

well we were there to look at property to move to sc the hotel didnt have alot of the ammenties that i originally saw on there web site when we got there there was nobody there i honeslty didnt understand that the halls were dirty the hotel was under construction next door the rooms were nice but only got room service one day the other days we were out and came back and rooms were the same none of the lights by the pool were working and the bar wwas only open on weekends it was definitley very big and when you dowwn stairs i like being in the basement of a jail house very weird to me and was uncomfortable the whole time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thomasyne
Manning, South Carolina
Jul 23, 2012

Waste of Vacation Time at Check-In

I would NOT recommend this hotel at any cost! 6 of us set out on a Saturday to check into a 2 queen, murphy bed, and a pull out sleeper sofa on the beach. 1:30pm- Arrived to the hotel check-in on Saturday because I called ahead 2 times just to be sure we could use the pools before check-in at 3pm. 1:45pm- Got to the reservation counter. The front desk clerk asked me when I made the reservation, and I told her a month and a half before the date of my stay. She then told me to hold on just a few minutes and that she'd be right back. 2:00pm- Clerk returns from a back room. Tells me they did not have my reservation and that the hotel has no vacancy. Told me to call The Travel Agency and sort it out while she checked in other customers. 2:10pm- The Travel Agency called the front desk and faxed over the information about my reservation. Was told to take a seat and they would call me back up there in a moment. 2:30pm- Manager called me over and told me the only thing they had available was a King efficiency suite on the beach at no extra cost and that it was available right now. We agreed that this was fine and he told us he would be right back with our check in information. 3:00pm- I am frustrated and standing at the counter waiting for the manager to return from the back room. Finally at this point I interrupted a clerk and asked for the manager because he said our room was ready and that he was going to get our info and it has been 30 minutes and we haven't seen him. She went and got him and he told us he figured one of the clerks would have helped me close out my check in. 3:20pm - Yes, 20 minutes later, because apparently it takes them FOREVER to check anyone into their hotels, we headed to the resort. 3:45pm- Only 1 of their elevators work and it is an 11 story building. We finally piled into the elevator and headed to our room. 4:00pm- As we arrived the maid was still in our room cleaning. So we waited and then entered the room once she was finished. Let me list the issues we then faced. 1. Weird stale smell. 2. Stains on the walls. 3. Flat screen tv was skipping. 4. Carpet was stained. 5. Lamps and light switches did not work. 6. Outlets did not work as well. 7. Weird smell on telephone receiver. 4:10pm- We decided this was not worth the price so we were not staying. I called down to the front desk and said that we were not happy with the room at all, and he quickly told me that he understood and that I was to go back to registration and get my refund and to call The Travel Agency and tell them to refund my payment. The travel agency said no problem and then the very nice lady offered to search for hotels in the same area. No luck because everything was booked up so we sent half of our group out to go from hotel to hotel trying to find us another one. Which they did. 4:25pm- Meanwhile, I stood outside of our room for 15 mins waiting on the elevator to eventually reach our floor, only to skip it and go to the top floor and then come back to us after another 5 minutes. 4:30pm- Arrived at front desk, there is a line of 40 or so people waiting to check in. I know it is rude, but I passed all of them and went to the front and explained that I have waited and wasted more than enough of my vacation at this hotel and that all I want is to return the room keys and to check out and get my refund. 4:45pm- I had my refund and I left with glee to head to the other hotel we found! The resort website has photos but I have no idea where those rooms are because ours looked NOTHING like them! I would not stay here ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truthseeker
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 6, 2013

the place is awful

Awful The.place was dirty and the elevators did not work. The pools were dirty and the guys that kept the outside clean did not do anything. The beach is very nice.The Do not go there!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
peabridge1967
Myrtle Beach, SC
Jun 15, 2013

Leaving More Stressed and Exhausted

It is with great disappointment that I send this email to you. Im sending this email the next morning after my initial disappointment with Crown Reef. I decided after completing the last week of teaching for the school year, that I would treat myself to a very nice quick get away at your resort. I booked this reservation after talking to an agent who recommended your resort. This is my first visit. I arrived at Check-in at 7:48 pm, last night (6-14-13). After a long day at work, a two hour drive, I stood in line for 51 minutes before reaching the front desk. I watched about 25 guests check-in, angered, upset at this prolonged process. No one tried to speed it up, the manager walked away from the front desk leaving two clerks. 51 minutes after checking in, I am in so much back pain and knee pain, that if I could I would have cancelled and returned home. To prevent loosing my money, I proceeded with check-out, and paying an additional $6.06 local fee. I never even got an apology for my concern, the clerk was very nice spoken. All I got was, "well, all of us are here to check in as quickly as possible". No sympathy for my wait, nor the pain, I was in. I got to my room, 845, only to find it was not the room I reserved. I called the front desk and was told that I was upgraded to a King Suite. Well, I reserved a qeen suite because a colleague came with me and we both wanted to have a queen size bed and ocean front room. Well, I my colleague slept in the king size bed, while I slept on a pull down bed. I was not happy. Once we arrived to our room, we got off the elevator to a pile of about 10 or 12 full trash bags, that had been thrown next to the wall of our room. At this point, I am just ill and disgusted. Needing to get off my feet, I simply sat on the couch, tried to relax and feel better. I needed to leave to find some dinner and to pick up some Tylernol for my discomfort. I have been up since 6:14 am, unable to rest all night long and sleep in. So today, I am returning home after sending this email, in worse physical and mental state than I was when I arrived. Needless to say, this is my first visit to your facility and my last. I have been coming to Myrtle Beach all my life, simply because of the ocean view and closeness to home. Its my favorite spot. To have come to Myrtle Beach, to enjoy such a beautiful creation, your facility was completely unacceptable, at the low price of $193.06. I can not give a good review, I just have to be honest. I trust you will find some way of resolving this issue for future guests. A stressed out fourth grade teacher, who returns home more stressed and more tired!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Overall87
Fayetteville, NC
Jun 18, 2013

Understaffed, Rude, and VEry late check in times

I got there at 11am was told I couldn't check in until 4pm. Went to check in at 4pm and there was a line all the way out the door with only 2 staff members there to help everybody. The staff was rude and was in no hurry to get everyone out of there. The hotel is old and not very well maintained. I would not recomend this hotel it is definitely not worth the price. If you can get it for about $70 a night then go for it but other than that find somewhere else in North myrtle beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Boardwalk

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Not a good place to stay for the money

After driving 5 hours to get there we were really looking foward to a smooth checkin and just getting into the room and relaxing for a little while. well it took forever to check in the line was really long and the staff was slow. after about 45 min of waiting to check in we finally got into the room. i was expecting something really nice, but we walk in and it was a normal room. as far as the outside looks its gorgeous. the pool was great but thats about it. the beds were not comfortable the shower wasnt all that great. it was clean but i really dont have many good things to say about this hotel for the price. my advice is to find somewhere else cheaper and im sure it will be nicer than this place. i will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Not a good place to stay for the money

After driving 5 hours to get there we were really looking foward to a smooth checkin and just getting into the room and relaxing for a little while. well it took forever to check in the line was really long and the staff was slow. after about 45 min of waiting to check in we finally got into the room. i was expecting something really nice, but we walk in and it was a normal room. as far as the outside looks its gorgeous. the pool was great but thats about it. the beds were not comfortable the shower wasnt all that great. it was clean but i really dont have many good things to say about this hotel for the price. my advice is to find somewhere else cheaper and im sure it will be nicer than this place. i will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rdrn
lancaster; ohio
Apr 30, 2013

judged a book by its cover

Went on four day getaway with friends. Good price online but when I got to the room, its was VERY unkept! The out outside of the kkitchen appliances were filthy and rusted. Walking across the carpet turned our feet black and was moist to touch. Even though it was non smoking; every blanket hhe'd burns through them. The balcony had ash and char marks where cigarettes had been put out on the walls. I will say however; the outdoor areas and pools were in great shape. The location was perfect for our trip; just not the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby Murrell's Inlet. Nice dining and music on the waterfront.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John EL
Virginia
May 15, 2012

Senior week

Hotel was likely very nice 20 years ago, but is now an empty building. out of three 10 floor towers, there were likely 30 rooms. filled. Certainly not a hotel for 20's. Do have a lot a pools and a nice lazy river. Hotel right on the beach. Decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damon's next door has good food, especially bbq. good price and happy hour

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tmy002
Greensboro,NC
Mar 18, 2013

My Opinion

My experience was very good, although I was expecting a little nicer room then what it was. The room was very out dated and was not worth the price that we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top