$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
203 reviews
Tatalicious Crew

This hotel was the best it was clean the staff was very helpful and informative the location was... See full review

  • TATALICIOUS
  • Sep 8, 2014
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with a four-story tall waterpark, pools, dining and more

Relax with a private balcony facing the Atlantic Ocean in one of more than 500 newly renovated units at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark in Myrtle Beach, SC. Featuring a new, four-story tall waterpark with two giant slides, a silly sub, water play area and kiddie slide, Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark provides hours of year-round fun. Enjoy time on the beach or have a fun afternoon at the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where in addition to the waterpark, the pool deck features pools, hot tubs and lounge chairs. Meander down the longest oceanfront lazy river in Myrtle Beach at 575 feet, unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights
  • Four-story tall waterpark featuring a body slide, tube slide, kiddie slide and more, which is free for resort guests and open year-round
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long lazy river
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or efficiencies and suites with newly remodeled kitchens for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the Boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef are newly renovated and feature a private balcony. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Rooms feature a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, TV, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains. The main event is the new $2 million oceanfront waterpark. The hotel also features the Town Center Dining, Entertainment and Fun Zone, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. Located on the lobby level in the Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak offers lunch, dinner and late-night with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and a casual beach style, while Swirl Ice Cream and Sweet Shop offers guest cold treats and candy options. Guests can also catch breakfast, a light afternoon snack or a cup of coffee at Grab n' Go Grill and Coffee Bar, also located at the Town Center, with oceanfront views. For outdoor seasonal dining, the Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks just steps away from the oceanfront pools. Dining is plentiful at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark!

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Guests booking must be 21 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6616 -78.9154
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport (3 miles), Charleston International Airport (100 miles), Wilmington, NC International Airport (83 miles), Florence Regional Airport (70 miles)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 203
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.7

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
S. Bo
Business
Greensboro, NC
Nov 5, 2011

You get what you pay for!

When we first arrived and were given a room, it was absolutely terrible! The wallpaper was peeling off the walls, there was a lot of water damage on the cabinetry, the floors were black (the tile was light gray but covered with mildew), the bedding was stained, they provided twin size blankets for queen sized beds, and the heat/AC unit was disgusting. When we called and asked for another room, seeing as they were practically empty with it being off season you would have thought they would have put us in a "newly renovated room" to begin with. They finally transferred us to a better room. We went down to view one of their many "indoor" pools only to have a raccoon run out at us, because all of the glass for the indoor/outdoor dividers was missing. The pools themselves were filthy, some even had mold floating in them. The tile was chipped and there was rust in nearly all of them. The staff was very nice and efficient once we told them about the problems. Otherwise, stay away! It was a deal too good to be true!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Apparently in a garbage dump
Jun 29, 2012

All I can say is WOW... Run AWAY!

If you have reservations here cancel them now and go elsewhere. I arrived on Tuesday - a walk in - I thought i was getting a deal at a great resort I was wrong. After waiting for 5 hours for them to get a room ready for me because it had to be "inspected" before they could show it to us, we walked in to our suite.... There were still fingerprints on the window to the balcony - enough to where you could not see from knee down, and a substance of unknown orgin on the bathroom wall. After waiting 5 hours to see the room and not being able to check for other rooms in the area I was pretty much stuck with this or not staying on the beach.... so we got the room and housekeeping was at the room cleaning it when we got back to the room... After a trip to buy cleaning supplies and air freshener to erase the armpit smell the room was tolerable at best. Day 2 - Wife stepped on a glass bottle in front of the hotel on the beach... cant blame them but still.... also no housekeeping came by. We simply thought we had missed them and we had enough towels to get us by so no big deal .... called downstairs housekeeping runs from 10 to 3. When walking to our room we smelled what can best be described as funk.... The trash chute room was left open in front of our room and of course we now know where the smell in the room was coming from. Day 3 - We were out of the room for 5 hours from 10 - 3 - came back to the room - no housekeeping. Called downstairs they said someone would be right up. 1.5 hours later housekeeping arrived and we left. The room looked OK. When we went to bed we discovered they didnt even pull up the sheets ... they only pulled the covers up over the bed... seriously... a small thing but still.... oh yeah and the trash chute was still open.... Day 4 - We were gone from 10 - 3 again - again no housekeeping ... housekeeping knocked on the door at 5:30 we asked them to come back in 15 minutes so we could finish showering and leave. They said OK after drying off with washcloths we left.... This time when we came back we were greeted by a vacuum cleaner still left at our door, along with all of our trash and our neighbors. I went down to complain at the guest services and they said they would have someone up to clean it up. After a 1.5 hour walk on the beach the trash was still there. I then went across the street to complain ... I was informed i should call when housekeeping is in house as they cannot do anything now and there is no manager on duty i can complain to. In summary ... Save your money - or go somewhere else. They are doing the bare minimum to be called a "resort", and are failing at the basic services that even a motel would provide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you decide to stay here Big Lots is a short drive away for cleaning supplies and air freshener.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brownie Mom
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 9, 2012

Extremely disappointed!!!!

It was extremely dirty. Our phones in the room did not work and we had a broken bed. The hallways always had garbage on the floors and the elevators wreaked. We had a beautiful view to the ocean front, but nothing in the hotel worked!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Emjayshort4Mojo
Business
Alexandria VA
Jul 11, 2012

Stay Away !!!

Horrible Hotel. Time to gut and remodel!!! This is not where anyone should spend $190.00 per night!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway on Boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
my2boys
Business
cle ohio
Jul 30, 2012

i had to buy lysol and cleaning products

Wouldn't recommended this hotel... very dirty pictures are deceiving.... would never go back..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A T W
Business
Lancaster, SC
Aug 7, 2012

Very Dissatisfied

I was utterly disappointed in my recent stay at Crown Reef. The stove that was in the unit should be in a dumpster. It was literally falling apart. The carpet had an odor of urine. This was first and last time staying at Crown Reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed WE Traveler
Business
North Carolina
Aug 21, 2012

Bad Low budget hotel at resort prices

Rusty interior, bad/old and in some instances non-working elevators, poor parking, lack of paint, strange layout and apparently missing real managment and short of adequate staffing. SAVE YOUR MONEY$ and stay someone else. Upon arrival, I noticed that the parking lanes in the parking deck were very narrow. Upon arrival in the room it became very apparent that the rooms had not been updated in possibly a decade or two. Although the online pictures depict a resort, the experience was nothing less than a road-side low budget hotel. I only stayed one night at a unfortunately at a rate of almost $200 and later booked a non-oceanfront room in a reputable establishment for the remainder of my visit. Honestly, this place should be sold to another owner that "genuinely" cares about its guests and/or condemned and closed down until all appropriate maintenance and updates are made. This place was nothing short of "FALSE" advertising. I highly do not recommend this place to anyone at any price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HudsonFamily
Business
Lancaster, SC
Sep 10, 2012

NEVER AGAIN!

I never write bad reviews, but this place turned my stomach. Our dishes were filthy, with red ... something on them. Our bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned. (Never.) The wallpaper was patched, DIRTY, and peeling. I could go on and on. It was disgusting. And when we complained, the front desk guy said that he would "pass our concerns to housekeeping." NEVER AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eight
Business
Johnson City, TN
Apr 4, 2013

Junk Sailor

Drunk Sailor or High school Beach Trip, but not family and kids. Rusted frig,micro wave and stove. Bed needed duct tape to keep it together. Carpet was old but not as old as the beds, hey but the bath was ok. Staff was friendly, even showed me a few other rooms, but nothing any better than what we had plus we would have to pack up and move. We were only there for three days, Thank God.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deisel dog
Business
waterford mi
Apr 6, 2013

family vacation

did not like the room, beds freaked me out. would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top