$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
203 reviews
very nice

Very spacious hotels and very clean. There was plenty of parking and service was great. Very... See full review

  • kevin a.
  • Jul 2, 2015
mothers day vacation

I loved everything about it.this is my hotel for now on out.saving up for next year already. See full review

  • keith L.
  • May 14, 2015

Relax with a private balcony facing the Atlantic Ocean in one of more than 500 newly renovated units at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark in Myrtle Beach, SC. Featuring a new, four-story tall waterpark with two giant slides, a silly sub, water play area and kiddie slide, Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark provides hours of year-round fun. Enjoy time on the beach or have a fun afternoon at the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where in addition to the waterpark, the pool deck features pools, hot tubs and lounge chairs. Meander down the longest oceanfront lazy river in Myrtle Beach at 575 feet, unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Location

Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the Boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. Located on the lobby level in the Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak offers lunch, dinner and late-night with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and a casual beach style, while Swirl Ice Cream and Sweet Shop offers guest cold treats and candy options. Guests can also catch breakfast, a light afternoon snack or a cup of coffee at Grab n' Go Grill and Coffee Bar, also located at the Town Center, with oceanfront views. For outdoor seasonal dining, the Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks just steps away from the oceanfront pools. Dining is plentiful at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark!

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef are newly renovated and feature a private balcony. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Rooms feature a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, TV, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Property features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains. The main event is the new $2 million oceanfront waterpark. The hotel also features the Town Center Dining, Entertainment and Fun Zone, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Highlights
  • Four-story tall waterpark featuring a body slide, tube slide, kiddie slide and more, which is free for resort guests and open year-round
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long lazy river
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or efficiencies and suites with newly remodeled kitchens for home cooking

Nearby attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)
Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Policies

  • Guests booking must be 21 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★
$69
3.3 / 5 172 reviews
★★★
$119
3.3 / 5 550 reviews
★★★
$64
3.9 / 5 186 reviews
★★★★
$90
4.3 / 5 275 reviews
★★★
$54
3.6 / 5 148 reviews
★★★
$89
3.5 / 5 107 reviews
★★
$69
3.6 / 5 26 reviews
★★
$52
2.6 / 5 33 reviews
★★★
$96
4.2 / 5 33 reviews

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 203
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Puckett52
Couples
North Carolina
Feb 26, 2014

Unsatisfactory conditions

The following is our list of complaints regarding our stay at Crown Reef from 2/21/2014 – 2/23/2014 • Our non-smoking room had a light smell of stale smoke which permeated our clothes when hung in closet • Elevator dirty with floor tiles cracked; emergency phone missing and inspection was out of date • Walked on dirt floor over wires and yellow power cords to get to pools • Massive construction was our view from balcony • Breakfast was across street • Maid service consisted of emptying our trash. • VMB card wouldn't scan We were not informed of this massive ongoing construction either on Crown Reef website or upon checking in. We found this place to be dirty and hazardous with very few of the amenities mentioned online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daniel cross
Couples
south Carolina
Mar 21, 2014

was not good at they should have let it be known that they was under renovation

I will not go back they never said anything about being under renovation and the have charged my card for over 100 dollars gave it back and now that I'm home I see where they have charged me over 100 dollars again has been by far the worst time I ever had with any hotel now I guess I got to call them and see about getting the money the hotel keeps charging me back I never thought I would have to worry about paying the hotel over 100 dollars but with that said they will never get me again I will look and check into the hotels a lot closer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
highrockkid
Couples
lexington nc
Nov 29, 2011

worst trip ever

This was my worst trip ever booking with ya`ll. My oceanfront room consisted of palm trees with a very little break in them to see the ocean and a gazebo with everyone looking into our room and constant talking and yelling from other guest , not much privacy. After numerous calls to office about WiFi in didn `t work or it worked for a few minutes and then lost its connection , could not not get work done for my job.The water pipes sounded like a jack hammer in the bathroom every morning and was woke up before 6 am from this, the hot water was not regulated int he shower it went from cold to very hot to cold.I was very dissappointed , I spent alot of money for this trip and very very disappointed. Me and my husband both have booked several times with this company , hate to say it my be my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PASSOVER
Couples
North Carolina, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Please don't waste your money!!!!!

We arrived February 17 - 19, 2012 in the evening. Check in was fast and smooth going. My room was in tower 3 on the six floor. When we entered the room it was not what we asked 4. We requested a room with a King size bed 4 the same price. That was not the case 2 queen bed with a fold out bed was too much for just us two. The water stood in the tube while we showered, it took like ten minutes or more for the water to go down the drain. The room also had a smell to it as well,I guess because of the pigeons on the balcony. It only had 1 flat screen in the bed room that would hook up to the DVD player. Housekeeping did a half job on cleaning the room she or he did not vacuum the room. If I must say I have learned if there is not a lot of pictures on there site I will pass it up from now on. I will take my money to a place where I will feel comfortable and can relax. Value is not always the way to go. I WILL NOT BE BACK TO STAY HERE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TKudico
Couples
Warren, MI
Jun 11, 2012

Crow Reef-not Crown Reef

The hotel didn't have anybody to run the shuttle so we had to pay a taxi and then get reimbursed. The room was decent but the carpet was filthy as my feet turned black everyday just walking in the room. The balcony was covered in bird droppings - not very sanitary. None of the pools are heated and the spa was only warm. The restaurants must be only seasonal since 1 was only open for breakfast. The pool bar wasn't operational and most of the time staff members were not seen. The housekeeping staff is the only thing that gets kudos from me as they at least stopped by every day with fresh towels for us. This place SUCKED! I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SoniaandBobby Trip
Couples
Belmont NC
Sep 4, 2012

Worst Place to stay ever

This hotel was horrible. The rooms were the worst I have ever stayed at when at the beach. The plumbing did not work in the room and they did not refund us a night for the sink and tub stopping up when we took a shower. The kitchen applicances were falling apart. We went down to the pool and someone had vomitted in the pool and we told security and they acted like they did not care and it was never cleaned out of the pool for the couple days were there which is nasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Damon's on the Beach

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Larry retired military
Couples
Sumter, SC
Oct 9, 2012

Stay Away!

After entering our room, we looked around. There were potato chips at the head of the bed and under the fold down bed. The refrigerator was rusting from leaks, the Jacuzzi was filthy with a film in it, the TV in the sitting room was an old model and you couldn't see the picture because it was so faded. To top it off, when we woke up in the morning, the mattress on the king bed actually slid about a foot to the side overnight. We wanted to save some money but this was ridiculous. Next time we'll stay further north and in a name hotel. Never again will I visit this resort. O***** was a good experience but the hotel was definitely not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Denvervistor
Couples
Denver
Nov 3, 2012

Very poor

The only redeeming quality here is the view, even though the windows where so dirty that you had to open the door for an ocean view. Elevators not working, noisy repairs were in progress and access from garage to hotel awkward

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beachbum in NC
Couples
Wilmington, NC, USA
Nov 3, 2012

Not a good place to stay

This hotel has been around a long time and it shows. If they want people to stay there and pay for it, they should make it a half way decent place to stay. The room was so old, dirty, smelly, and out dated I will never stay there again. I didn't even want to touch the buttons in the elevator, that smelled like urine, dirty and walls were filthy. I wouldn't stay here again even if it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is close to the mall, eating places and shopping in surfside beach.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
djpowers
Couples
lumberton nc
Dec 3, 2012

weekend getaway

was the worse ive stayd in at myrtle beach bird poo all over balcony wrong size room and jaccuzi didnt work right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top