$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gregoryrr
Business
San Francisco ca
Sep 10, 2013

Not a good value

I have NO idea how this property was rated 3 stars. it is if no one ever actually went to this property because not even clos to 3. i would give it a half star but that isnt a choice. Staff is friendly. Outdoor areas are reasonably nice. Beach access is great. That's the good stuff. Thief hotel owners need to open up the checkbook and spend some money on this place! Paint is peeling, carpets are worn and dirty, the top of the tv in the room was partly melted, the mini refrigerator was cracked and wouldn't get cols enough to matter, bed spread was ripped and you didn't want to let it touch your skin. In short, the room was gross. This place has potential but until the rooms are upgraded, I would avoid this location. There are many places that are a much better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thunt6
Business
Lumberton, NC, USA
Dec 2, 2013

Bad experience

Substance looked like feces on door seal. Beer bottle left in the room. Bathroom semi clean. Room in need of severe upgrade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Apr 25, 2011

Easter Weekend

I thought this hotel was a huge disappointment. It looks very nice on the outside but the inside is older and not up to date. The hotel was very loud. Our Air conditioner squealed when the wind would blow b/c it was not properly sealed around the edges. They had shoved a bath towel in the crack to lessen the sound. The bathroom floor was sticky when we got there. Also we had to pay a resort fee which I know if for the amenities. All of the pools were freezing even the inside ones and the hot tubs looked nasty. The $4 breakfast downstairs smelled horrible so we went to the other place in the hotel and it was just okay and expensive. The bar was not open, which I am sure that is common for this time of year, but when we asked about it we were rudely cut off with, "um, NO theres not a bar" Very rude. We were woken up early every day with some kind of loud noises. Once something squeaking outside down by the pool and a loud person who I assumed worked there. Every time the neighbors took a shower there was a horrible squealing noise coming through our wall. And another day the maid was yelling and slamming doors on our hallway at 7:30am. Overall I just felt like it was not worth the money. It looks amazing from the road but it is very disappointing inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 27, 2007

Horror in Myrtle Beach on Memorial Day Weekend

This, by far, was the worse vacation that we wever ever on. FIRST, we were NEVER notified that this was going to Atlantic Biker Week. Our TV did not work properly in our room. Our refrigerator did not work. We could not go out of our room without being harrassed. The whole experience was discussing. This was to be a family vacation for our son. He was looking forward to a nice relaxing time away and this was the first time in 6 years that my husband was on vacation. Needless to say, neither one of them had a nice time at all. My son cried and asked if we could just leave and go home. Believe me, I could write a Horror book about our experience at this site during this time of the year. We will not hear me say one good thing about the whole situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
griff from dover
Business
dover, ohio
Jun 3, 2011

real dissapointed

first room was on the 1st floor. window has so messy couldn't see out. moved to 11th floor. balcony floor was so dirty had to wash my feet. bird poop, dirt.and than the room below had 2 chain smoker and all the smoke came up to our floor. in our 5 day stay they swept the floor in the room only twice and never touched the balcony. dirty pool. won't be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mel disappointed
Business
myrtle beach
May 27, 2011

hotel needs major updating

Starting with Delta airplane I was very upset I could not reserve my seats the same day I booked the trip but 30mis later i add another family memeber to the reservation and the airline reserved the seat for them.The hotel is nice on the outside but needs major work done on the inside. We had a room with kitchenette very old stove I would never cook on it due to fire hazard and the fridge was all rusted on the front. The room smelled like mold. The sliding door to the balcony was very hard to open. The hotel service maids did not do any cleanig for the four days not even maked beds only fresh towels.I would be booking through [@] from now on and taking spirt airlines.Very disappointedAbbruzzese

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Budgirl
Business
South Carolina
Sep 6, 2011

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND

We have stayed at this hotel for several years and this last viist was terrible. The room was ok, nothing special but the building is run down now unlike years past. Everything was in poor condition. We had to call to get our room cleaned the first day. In fact we left a day early... because of the enviroment of the hotel. We will not be going back ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We did enjoy the shopping at Broadway and Barefoot Landing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jul 27, 2010

BEWARE - Overdue for renovations

Paid over $200/night for an efficiency for 3 people to stay. Completely shocked at the first room we were assigned. German cockroaches crawing in the kitchen and bathroonm when we walked in. When we called the office to request a different room, they tried to tell me that they were just "Palmetto Bugs" - something unique to SC. First, we saw German cockroaches, not "Palmetto Bugs". Second, we're from NC (which I guess they failed to notice), so we know all about the infamous SC "Palmetto Bug" being nothing more than a SC secret term to disquise the fact it is a roach. Yes, look it up - it is a big roach - not some cute local bug. After arguing to get another room (same room so not sure why they didn't just make the change), the second was a bit cleaner and no visible bugs. But very worm out. Stained carpet, worn furniture, patched walls, peeling wallpaper, and wouldn't dare use the stove or fridge for the years/layers of grime. Buidling halls were a mess as well. Only nice thing at all was the pool and lazy river, that was until they shut the pool down to clean it after someone took a dump in the pool during the middle of the day. So, apparently the current clientele are right at home with all the filth. Never stay here again. What a rip for the price. Beware as it does look nice from the outside, loby, etc...but it's all just a pretty facade. Ask to see a room and walk around before you stay and I promise you'll find a ton of other places to spend your money more wisely. Really sad as we stayed here two years ago and it was quite descent...totally worm out now though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chestnut Hill Resturant - great local food and atmosphere. Never miss a chance to eat there when we're in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sunnycat
Business
myrtle beach,sc
Sep 22, 2014

Nightmare resort at MB

this hotel was not even close to a remodel we have stayed in Myrtle Beach for years at different locations and I think over all this was the worst. The room was not really redone it had closet doors and no mirrors except in bathroom no pictures on the wall and horrible mustard color wall an old table with non matching chairs looked worse than a flea market find and no clock radio or clock except one on stove kitchen was new but walls were not redone and nothing matched up carpet was the old carpet and very dirty there holes in carpet at closet where door should have been it was very gloomy who wants to go the beach and see that old gloomy room! elevators where worse filthy! they finally hung up moving blankets with ties they had so many complaints! the water slides were fun but pool areas had lots of mold on the edges not very maintained they had lots of tiles missing and you could see all the pumps etc while riding the lazy river and there were wires exposed in several areas I am surprised OSHA had not written them up for that! I was very disappointed as they had sent information that it was completely redone and had spent million at least but nothing was finished I think they mislead a lot of people as I talked to other quest they also had all the same problems and concerns and disappointed as we were! I also had ask for so dish soap after 4 days there and a clean dish towel (they only gave you a half bottle of a sample size) they threw away the note and left nothing! also we ask for a wake up call to go on shelling excursion and no wake call!! the phone in the room was the 60's not all the parts were there finally got it working just needed to call the desk but what a nightmare this place turned out to be the worst we ever had at Myrtle Beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

rover lighthouse and shelling excursion great time and very reasonable pricing guide and captain were great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Savannah L.
Business
Spartanburg
Apr 9, 2015

Keep looking, better hotels.

Made the mistake of trying to check in at the hotel instead of across the street at guest services. Waited in line for 30 minutes only to be told my room still wasn't ready. The hotel is partially renovated, like they ran out of money half way through. Inside pools were filthy and crowded. The waterpark section was the only remotely good thing about this hotel. I would advise looking elsewhere to stay, there are far better options for the money than this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top