$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 14, 2014 Check-out: Oct 16, 2014

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
203 reviews
Tatalicious Crew

This hotel was the best it was clean the staff was very helpful and informative the location was... See full review

  • TATALICIOUS
  • Sep 8, 2014
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with a four-story tall waterpark, pools, dining and more

Relax with a private balcony facing the Atlantic Ocean in one of more than 500 newly renovated units at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark in Myrtle Beach, SC. Featuring a new, four-story tall waterpark with two giant slides, a silly sub, water play area and kiddie slide, Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark provides hours of year-round fun. Enjoy time on the beach or have a fun afternoon at the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where in addition to the waterpark, the pool deck features pools, hot tubs and lounge chairs. Meander down the longest oceanfront lazy river in Myrtle Beach at 575 feet, unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights
  • Four-story tall waterpark featuring a body slide, tube slide, kiddie slide and more, which is free for resort guests and open year-round
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long lazy river
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or efficiencies and suites with newly remodeled kitchens for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the Boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef are newly renovated and feature a private balcony. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Rooms feature a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, TV, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains. The main event is the new $2 million oceanfront waterpark. The hotel also features the Town Center Dining, Entertainment and Fun Zone, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. Located on the lobby level in the Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak offers lunch, dinner and late-night with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and a casual beach style, while Swirl Ice Cream and Sweet Shop offers guest cold treats and candy options. Guests can also catch breakfast, a light afternoon snack or a cup of coffee at Grab n' Go Grill and Coffee Bar, also located at the Town Center, with oceanfront views. For outdoor seasonal dining, the Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks just steps away from the oceanfront pools. Dining is plentiful at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark!

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Guests booking must be 21 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6616 -78.9154
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport (3 miles), Charleston International Airport (100 miles), Wilmington, NC International Airport (83 miles), Florence Regional Airport (70 miles)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bluesman2013
Rock hill sc
Jan 1, 2013

One year anniversy

I enjoyed the stay at crown reef resort. Everyone is friendly. Beautiful rooms, and clean ones at that. I will be staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
highrockkid
lexington nc
Nov 29, 2011

worst trip ever

This was my worst trip ever booking with ya`ll. My oceanfront room consisted of palm trees with a very little break in them to see the ocean and a gazebo with everyone looking into our room and constant talking and yelling from other guest , not much privacy. After numerous calls to office about WiFi in didn `t work or it worked for a few minutes and then lost its connection , could not not get work done for my job.The water pipes sounded like a jack hammer in the bathroom every morning and was woke up before 6 am from this, the hot water was not regulated int he shower it went from cold to very hot to cold.I was very dissappointed , I spent alot of money for this trip and very very disappointed. Me and my husband both have booked several times with this company , hate to say it my be my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bigbill2966
st petersburg,fl
Jun 4, 2012

the hotel under construction

well we were there to look at property to move to sc the hotel didnt have alot of the ammenties that i originally saw on there web site when we got there there was nobody there i honeslty didnt understand that the halls were dirty the hotel was under construction next door the rooms were nice but only got room service one day the other days we were out and came back and rooms were the same none of the lights by the pool were working and the bar wwas only open on weekends it was definitley very big and when you dowwn stairs i like being in the basement of a jail house very weird to me and was uncomfortable the whole time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kpc777
Raleigh, NC
Jul 1, 2013

NOT customer oriented

I can forgive the fact that there was very little within walking distance to the hotel (that's not their fault#, but there are certain problems I cannot forgive. For one, it took a full FIFTY MINUTES to check into this hotel -- an that's just to get through the first line where I had to re-enter everything that had already been entered on the computer through the booking agency (why do they need me and every other customer to fill out several pages worth of time-consuming paperwork in the age of computers?) After I made it through this line, the receptionist told me to stand in another line to get my parking pass -- apparently this was so that they could up-sell me some tourist stuff I didn't need! Very unprofessional and very NON-CUSTOMER ORIENTED. It's almost as if they have no intention of gaining repeat customers. What a mind-bogglingly frustrating way to start a vacation, especially after a long drive! And to top all of this off, the entire hotel has a run-down feel to it. There is no reason simple maintenance can't be done to make the place look a bit more presentable. Again, I am convinced they are not concerned about repeat customers. The only saving grace for the hotel was their restaurant staff was very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a good meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thomasyne
Manning, South Carolina
Jul 23, 2012

Waste of Vacation Time at Check-In

I would NOT recommend this hotel at any cost! 6 of us set out on a Saturday to check into a 2 queen, murphy bed, and a pull out sleeper sofa on the beach. 1:30pm- Arrived to the hotel check-in on Saturday because I called ahead 2 times just to be sure we could use the pools before check-in at 3pm. 1:45pm- Got to the reservation counter. The front desk clerk asked me when I made the reservation, and I told her a month and a half before the date of my stay. She then told me to hold on just a few minutes and that she'd be right back. 2:00pm- Clerk returns from a back room. Tells me they did not have my reservation and that the hotel has no vacancy. Told me to call The Travel Agency and sort it out while she checked in other customers. 2:10pm- The Travel Agency called the front desk and faxed over the information about my reservation. Was told to take a seat and they would call me back up there in a moment. 2:30pm- Manager called me over and told me the only thing they had available was a King efficiency suite on the beach at no extra cost and that it was available right now. We agreed that this was fine and he told us he would be right back with our check in information. 3:00pm- I am frustrated and standing at the counter waiting for the manager to return from the back room. Finally at this point I interrupted a clerk and asked for the manager because he said our room was ready and that he was going to get our info and it has been 30 minutes and we haven't seen him. She went and got him and he told us he figured one of the clerks would have helped me close out my check in. 3:20pm - Yes, 20 minutes later, because apparently it takes them FOREVER to check anyone into their hotels, we headed to the resort. 3:45pm- Only 1 of their elevators work and it is an 11 story building. We finally piled into the elevator and headed to our room. 4:00pm- As we arrived the maid was still in our room cleaning. So we waited and then entered the room once she was finished. Let me list the issues we then faced. 1. Weird stale smell. 2. Stains on the walls. 3. Flat screen tv was skipping. 4. Carpet was stained. 5. Lamps and light switches did not work. 6. Outlets did not work as well. 7. Weird smell on telephone receiver. 4:10pm- We decided this was not worth the price so we were not staying. I called down to the front desk and said that we were not happy with the room at all, and he quickly told me that he understood and that I was to go back to registration and get my refund and to call The Travel Agency and tell them to refund my payment. The travel agency said no problem and then the very nice lady offered to search for hotels in the same area. No luck because everything was booked up so we sent half of our group out to go from hotel to hotel trying to find us another one. Which they did. 4:25pm- Meanwhile, I stood outside of our room for 15 mins waiting on the elevator to eventually reach our floor, only to skip it and go to the top floor and then come back to us after another 5 minutes. 4:30pm- Arrived at front desk, there is a line of 40 or so people waiting to check in. I know it is rude, but I passed all of them and went to the front and explained that I have waited and wasted more than enough of my vacation at this hotel and that all I want is to return the room keys and to check out and get my refund. 4:45pm- I had my refund and I left with glee to head to the other hotel we found! The resort website has photos but I have no idea where those rooms are because ours looked NOTHING like them! I would not stay here ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
griff from dover
dover, ohio
Jun 3, 2011

real dissapointed

first room was on the 1st floor. window has so messy couldn't see out. moved to 11th floor. balcony floor was so dirty had to wash my feet. bird poop, dirt.and than the room below had 2 chain smoker and all the smoke came up to our floor. in our 5 day stay they swept the floor in the room only twice and never touched the balcony. dirty pool. won't be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Courtney Weekend getaway
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 19, 2013

Disappointing experience.

This hotel was no where near worth what I paid. It takes 5-10 just for the elevators to arrive. The parking garage was overly crowded and horribly setup. Overall, the hotel was not very clean either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
meme da best
charlotte nc
Mar 31, 2013

not worth the money

I was very unpleased with the room and the jacuzzi jets didnt work ughhh i will not be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truthseeker
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 6, 2013

the place is awful

Awful The.place was dirty and the elevators did not work. The pools were dirty and the guys that kept the outside clean did not do anything. The beach is very nice.The Do not go there!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
my2boys
cle ohio
Jul 30, 2012

i had to buy lysol and cleaning products

Wouldn't recommended this hotel... very dirty pictures are deceiving.... would never go back..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sunnycat
myrtle beach,sc
Sep 22, 2014

Nightmare resort at MB

this hotel was not even close to a remodel we have stayed in Myrtle Beach for years at different locations and I think over all this was the worst. The room was not really redone it had closet doors and no mirrors except in bathroom no pictures on the wall and horrible mustard color wall an old table with non matching chairs looked worse than a flea market find and no clock radio or clock except one on stove kitchen was new but walls were not redone and nothing matched up carpet was the old carpet and very dirty there holes in carpet at closet where door should have been it was very gloomy who wants to go the beach and see that old gloomy room! elevators where worse filthy! they finally hung up moving blankets with ties they had so many complaints! the water slides were fun but pool areas had lots of mold on the edges not very maintained they had lots of tiles missing and you could see all the pumps etc while riding the lazy river and there were wires exposed in several areas I am surprised OSHA had not written them up for that! I was very disappointed as they had sent information that it was completely redone and had spent million at least but nothing was finished I think they mislead a lot of people as I talked to other quest they also had all the same problems and concerns and disappointed as we were! I also had ask for so dish soap after 4 days there and a clean dish towel (they only gave you a half bottle of a sample size) they threw away the note and left nothing! also we ask for a wake up call to go on shelling excursion and no wake call!! the phone in the room was the 60's not all the parts were there finally got it working just needed to call the desk but what a nightmare this place turned out to be the worst we ever had at Myrtle Beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

rover lighthouse and shelling excursion great time and very reasonable pricing guide and captain were great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top