$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
S.Carolina
Jul 14, 2010

It was pretty good

No free breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Jul 8, 2011

alright hotel

It was a nice room and had a nice view of the beach. I didn't like how the hotel associates had their drama right Outside my room. It felt to me very unprofessional. Some of their associates weren't very friendly either. For the money I spent on that room, they could have smiled or something. Also, there was still beach sand on the beds when we first arrived. Other than that, experience was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville KY
Jun 26, 2010

beach vacation review 2010

This was a nice place to stay and was clean would have preferred something closer to the heart of town without having to pay to park to do everything. Also the bathroom was rather small for a resort and blowdryer was terrible. However after 2 days we called and they were quick to install one that worked better. Was not able to enjoy last night due to the package and the early flight out. Also we were quoted a package and did not realize we would be charged an additional resort fee on check in. With all that being said it was a clean place and fairly quiet with a good view of the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoyed dining at the Seacaptain's House on the ocean, it was fabulous very good seafood and a spectacular view of the ocean. They also had a parking lot for the customers. One of the few places right in Myrtle beach where we did not have to pay to park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Apr 20, 2011

Crown Reef Review

OK hotel for the price. Currently renovating, but I was not in one of those rooms. The staff was very friendly. Great location. One of the best restaurants in town is right next door, Damon's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For awesome food, go to Damon's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweet Mama
Business
Hampton, VA
Aug 5, 2014

Great Weekend Vacay!!!

Our room was clean and spacious. The staff was very polite and accommodating. Lots of dining, shopping and entertainment near hotel. Being right on the beach was a plus, even though it rained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Broadway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vieda Wedding Attendant
Business
North Carolina
Sep 15, 2014

Lacking that resort status special something

Staff very friendly but unable to assist with purchasing attraction tickets. Sent us elsewhere to purchase tickets. Once there, the ticket office's computer was down. Air condition unit seemed to be malfunctioning, either too cold or too warm. Coffee pot in rooms was dirty. Room and bathroom was clean. Comfortable beds. The cafe was under par charging $4.00 for two cups of coffee. Pool area and water slide affords lots of fun. Family friendly. Did not expect ocean view to be behind water slide tubs. Lol.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daemon's really nice menu. Great meal. Hotel close to many shopping and common-need stores. Very quiet at night. Family friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark o.
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

weekend getaway

Real impressed with the resort could tell that it had been recently updated. Price was very good and the staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and nicely updated. Liked the quite end of the beach and restaurant next door was amazing. Will be planning a stay back there in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesterfield, SC 29709, USA
Nov 7, 2011

weekend getway

Hotel needs complete overhall, showing its age.Will stay some where else in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damons ,Great Ribs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bughead
Business
Kernersville, NC, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Crown Reef could use some TLC

The bathroom and beds were clean but the room was in need of repairs. The finish was coming off the cabinets in the kitchenette and the carpet was damp. It appeared the carpet may have been cleaned and not allowed to dry. You had to wear your shoes in the room because you got black on your feet from the wetness in the carpet. We were there 3 nights and our trash was not emptied until our last night. We had to ask for clean towels and toilet paper on the second day. I think the hotel may be in the process of doing some remodeling for the Summer season. I hope this is the case because I have always liked this hotel in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damon's Restaurant has wonderful food. It is a bit pricey but worth the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John EL
Business
Virginia
May 15, 2012

Senior week

Hotel was likely very nice 20 years ago, but is now an empty building. out of three 10 floor towers, there were likely 30 rooms. filled. Certainly not a hotel for 20's. Do have a lot a pools and a nice lazy river. Hotel right on the beach. Decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damon's next door has good food, especially bbq. good price and happy hour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top