$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
235 reviews
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Great for Families!

The pools, the lazy river, the convenience to the highway... Perfect for my family! See full review

  • nctsiawd
  • Aug 22, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with more than 20 pools, tubs and fountains

Relax with a private balcony and views onto the Atlantic Ocean at Crown Reef Hotel in Myrtle Beach. Set on the sand, guests enjoy the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where more than 20 swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains dot the landscape. Meander down a 575-foot-long "lazy river," unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights

                                                                                   

  • Perfect sunrises and panoramic ocean views from Crown Reef guest rooms, all facing the Atlantic
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long "lazy river"
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or rooms with kitchen facilities for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef feature a private balcony and breathtaking Atlantic Ocean and sunrise views. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, a TV with HBO, a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains, plus pools for kids only. The main event is a "lazy river" that winds across the sundeck area, an enormous 575 feet long. The hotel also features an oceanfront fitness center and video game room, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. At Crown Cafe, guests can enjoy an affordable breakfast, lunch or dinner, or order room service. Treasure Chest serves easy-going breakfast and lunch dishes. The seasonal Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks. And, the oceanfront Cloud 9 Lounge puts the "happy" in happy hour.

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi in every guest room
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Guests booking must be 23 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

33.6616 -78.9154
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport (3 miles), Charleston International Airport (100 miles), Wilmington, NC International Airport (83 miles), Florence Regional Airport (70 miles)

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 25, 2010

Just ok for the price

Starting off with check in, which you have to do across the street not at the hotel. The rooms were okay and were clean. However the water pressure was not so good. Showers were terrible since there was hardly any water coming out. It didn't have enough elevators and the ones they had were not very sanitary. We spent most of our time at the ocean and the pools. There were not many chairs in the pool area so that led us to the beach most of the time. Also there were no bathrooms in the pool area so that was not convenient at all. You had to go to the 3rd floor to get towels for the pool instead of just having them near the pool. There was no entertainment at all at the hotel. There was no advertising for any activities in the area. We had to discover things on our own. You definetly need to rent a car since there was nothing within walking distance. Overall the hotel was okay we did enjoy ourselves just the same and the view was gorgeous. One great thing is that all the rooms are facing the ocean so no matter what you get the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Bengamin's Seafood Buffet was absolutely delicious.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gemdia24
myrtle beach, south carolina
Dec 4, 2012

Not a great vacation:(

This was not a good experience for our family. We always visit Myrtle Beach every chance we get. But as far as staying at this hotel again, i personally don't think it will happen. The staff was GREAT though!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bughead
Kernersville, NC, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Crown Reef could use some TLC

The bathroom and beds were clean but the room was in need of repairs. The finish was coming off the cabinets in the kitchenette and the carpet was damp. It appeared the carpet may have been cleaned and not allowed to dry. You had to wear your shoes in the room because you got black on your feet from the wetness in the carpet. We were there 3 nights and our trash was not emptied until our last night. We had to ask for clean towels and toilet paper on the second day. I think the hotel may be in the process of doing some remodeling for the Summer season. I hope this is the case because I have always liked this hotel in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damon's Restaurant has wonderful food. It is a bit pricey but worth the cost.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mimi266666
St Josep,h Michigan
Jul 23, 2013

disappointed

Well when I arrived, which was around 9:45, I went to go check into my room but was tolkd I could not check in early due to the fact that check in is at 4pm? So, I had to sit around and wait until 4pm with my luggage until my room was ready. Then once I got to the room, it was not clean, the bathroom needed to be wiped down and the floors needed to be swept. So, I basically waited to get into a dirty room. The hotel is beach from but no real attractions. I suggest you purchase a hotel more North Myrtle beach off of Ocean blvd, there is a whole lot more to do than just the beach amenities and pools at the resort. Other than that, my stay was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want live entertainment and things for the family to do, I would not recommend this hotel. Go more north.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rdrn
lancaster; ohio
Apr 30, 2013

judged a book by its cover

Went on four day getaway with friends. Good price online but when I got to the room, its was VERY unkept! The out outside of the kkitchen appliances were filthy and rusted. Walking across the carpet turned our feet black and was moist to touch. Even though it was non smoking; every blanket hhe'd burns through them. The balcony had ash and char marks where cigarettes had been put out on the walls. I will say however; the outdoor areas and pools were in great shape. The location was perfect for our trip; just not the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby Murrell's Inlet. Nice dining and music on the waterfront.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wendyb63
Winder GA
May 20, 2013

Better than nothing ~

The view was extraordinary ~ loved it! The outside of the Hotel @ night was quite impressive ~ but that did nothing to account for the cleanliness of the bathroom and floors! The carpeting had a couple big stains by the bed ~ ick ~ what could it have been?! The bathroom floor was dirty and the tub had someone else's hair in it! Not to mention the in-room fridge did not work! Paid too much for a room to have a nasty bathroom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We are Yankees and were excited to see a Friendly Ice Cream that we could walk to!

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Carolina
Apr 19, 2011

2 night stay

Crown Reef look wonderful on the oustide but need some work on the inside. This motel need to do some up to date work for the money that is charged. Also when we requested some toilet paper did not get it until the last morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dee Dee workaholic
Summerville, SC
Oct 1, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Reserved a king room and got a room with 2 queen beds. Very outdated fixtures, bed was hard. Got burnt from the shower, hot water was way to hot. It was worth the price for the off season, I would never pay the peak season price for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
SC
Aug 19, 2010

Not bad

There was a puddle in front of door of my room due to rain. the hotel seems not to care a passage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FamilyP12
Burlington NC
Dec 27, 2012

Not worth the money

This hotel looks like a palace on the outside which I'm sure is why they normally charge the big bucks to stay but our room was no better than your regular not impressed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast cafe is awesome and you can get breakfast for $4.00

Back to menu Return to top