$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
203 reviews
Tatalicious Crew

This hotel was the best it was clean the staff was very helpful and informative the location was... See full review

  • TATALICIOUS
  • Sep 8, 2014
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with a four-story tall waterpark, pools, dining and more

Relax with a private balcony facing the Atlantic Ocean in one of more than 500 newly renovated units at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark in Myrtle Beach, SC. Featuring a new, four-story tall waterpark with two giant slides, a silly sub, water play area and kiddie slide, Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark provides hours of year-round fun. Enjoy time on the beach or have a fun afternoon at the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where in addition to the waterpark, the pool deck features pools, hot tubs and lounge chairs. Meander down the longest oceanfront lazy river in Myrtle Beach at 575 feet, unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights
  • Four-story tall waterpark featuring a body slide, tube slide, kiddie slide and more, which is free for resort guests and open year-round
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long lazy river
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or efficiencies and suites with newly remodeled kitchens for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the Boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef are newly renovated and feature a private balcony. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Rooms feature a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, TV, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains. The main event is the new $2 million oceanfront waterpark. The hotel also features the Town Center Dining, Entertainment and Fun Zone, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. Located on the lobby level in the Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak offers lunch, dinner and late-night with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and a casual beach style, while Swirl Ice Cream and Sweet Shop offers guest cold treats and candy options. Guests can also catch breakfast, a light afternoon snack or a cup of coffee at Grab n' Go Grill and Coffee Bar, also located at the Town Center, with oceanfront views. For outdoor seasonal dining, the Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks just steps away from the oceanfront pools. Dining is plentiful at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark!

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Guests booking must be 21 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6616 -78.9154
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport (3 miles), Charleston International Airport (100 miles), Wilmington, NC International Airport (83 miles), Florence Regional Airport (70 miles)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hollister
Business
NC
May 20, 2014

Disappointed

Definitely not like the pictures online. I expected it to be a fun place with huge pools, a nice room, etc (like the pictures) but I got the complete opposite. The room was decent, none of the furniture matched but that’s not really a big deal. The carpet was wet from the air conditioner which was kind of gross. What I was most displeased with was the tower we were placed in. We were in tower 3 which looked like the only tower at this resort that hasn’t been renovated yet. Towers one and two looked much better than ours. Our elevators were broken the whole weekend so we had to walk up and down 9 flights of stairs. Luckily we found the staff elevator but it was clanky and dirty. There were no signs telling you where to go or what elevators to take since they were renovating the place. We ran into a bunch of dead ends and construction areas and had to turn all the way around. The pools advertised that they closed at 11 but when we got down there Thursday night at 8:30 they were already closed and the hot tubs were freezing. The pools were not indoors at all and were too cold to enjoy. The only thing I liked about our stay was the friendly staff and the Loco Gecko restaurant. I was expecting a lot more, very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Apr 19, 2011

2 night stay

Crown Reef look wonderful on the oustide but need some work on the inside. This motel need to do some up to date work for the money that is charged. Also when we requested some toilet paper did not get it until the last morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Aug 19, 2010

Not bad

There was a puddle in front of door of my room due to rain. the hotel seems not to care a passage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 25, 2010

Just ok for the price

Starting off with check in, which you have to do across the street not at the hotel. The rooms were okay and were clean. However the water pressure was not so good. Showers were terrible since there was hardly any water coming out. It didn't have enough elevators and the ones they had were not very sanitary. We spent most of our time at the ocean and the pools. There were not many chairs in the pool area so that led us to the beach most of the time. Also there were no bathrooms in the pool area so that was not convenient at all. You had to go to the 3rd floor to get towels for the pool instead of just having them near the pool. There was no entertainment at all at the hotel. There was no advertising for any activities in the area. We had to discover things on our own. You definetly need to rent a car since there was nothing within walking distance. Overall the hotel was okay we did enjoy ourselves just the same and the view was gorgeous. One great thing is that all the rooms are facing the ocean so no matter what you get the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Bengamin's Seafood Buffet was absolutely delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Twoputts
Business
Charlotte,NC
Jul 18, 2010

Great Location Hotel Needs Update

Ok location but hotel needs to be updated. Very outdated based on other hotels in area. Room isn't worth the rate they are charging right now.Run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Aug 8, 2010

Birthday Getaway

I've stayed at Crown Reef in the past but, this was the first time I was greatly disappointed.[...] First, the we had trouble finding our way to Tower One from the parking deck. Very confusing. Next, the room was smaller and older than I expected. The room was damp and musty and there was pigeon feces all over the balcony. Housekeeping finally came in and swept the area. (Glad I brought Lysol). Next, there was only one elevator working in that tower and the wait was incredibly long. The elevator didn't have air conditioning and it was extremely crowded.The only thing that made the stay tolerable was the housekeeping attendant. She went out of her way to make sure my husband and I were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Request a room or suite in the newer towers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Not a good place to stay for the money

After driving 5 hours to get there we were really looking foward to a smooth checkin and just getting into the room and relaxing for a little while. well it took forever to check in the line was really long and the staff was slow. after about 45 min of waiting to check in we finally got into the room. i was expecting something really nice, but we walk in and it was a normal room. as far as the outside looks its gorgeous. the pool was great but thats about it. the beds were not comfortable the shower wasnt all that great. it was clean but i really dont have many good things to say about this hotel for the price. my advice is to find somewhere else cheaper and im sure it will be nicer than this place. i will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Pie
Business
Oak Forest, IL
Aug 1, 2011

Excellent location

The facility was adequate, but a bit run-down, which was surprising considering its size and location. Elevators reeked, and were never cleaned during our stay. They might want to repair the sign on the tower so it says "Crown Reef" not "Crow Reef" - it is the name of the place -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damon's Stak House was exceptional, within walking distance of the Crown Reef.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin
Aug 2, 2011

the good, the bad, the ugly!

did not meet expectations, room not cleaned, hallways dirty.elevators loud and slow, staff incompetent, no follow up from management, undesclosed charge of $6.00 per day for pool upkeep, not able to get show reservations from hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

don't stay here!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Jul 28, 2010

Decent place

I just needed a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top