$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JLCSC
Business
Anderson, SC
Mar 26, 2013

Just OK

The indoor pool was the best thing about the hotel, especially for the time of the year we went. The outside pool area looked nice as well. However, the room left a lot to be desired. There were about 5 burn holes in the comforter on the bed. The room was just outdated and we did not like there were three separate towers you could not connect to without going outside and going into another tower and not through the hotel. This place was probably really nice in the late 80's early 90's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Budget Traveler Mom
Business
New York
Apr 3, 2013

You get what you pay for...

If you can afford to spend a little extra $$ DO and book a better hotel. The Crown Reef has seen better days and the rooms need a make-over. The rooms were clean however, outdated, beds not so comfortable and the grounds need some TLC as well. On a scale of 1-5 I'd give it a 2!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The food was far better in the locally owned rest. than the chain rest. Although Olive Garden is worth the wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NC GA girl
Business
Charlotte
Apr 4, 2013

Family spring break getaway

The overall experience was average. The hotel needs some renovations. The staff was wonderful. I probably will not stay again due to the old rooms and the beds were not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Joe 54
Business
Charleston, SC
Apr 8, 2013

long Weekend getaway

Water hammer in pipes above our room was like a jack hammer and woke us up at 4:30 in the morning and lasted about 20 minutes. It sounded like a war zone, so loud we could not talk over it. most of the "amenities" closed, non existant or a poor attempt. Happy hour at "lounge" was full of children because it is located by the "arcade"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Icequeen120866
Business
Ballston Spa, NY
Apr 9, 2013

Old and outdated

Not what I expected at all. The pictures must have been taken many years ago. This facility is old and shows many, many signs of age. The carpets are pulling back from the walls. The wall paper was falling off, discolored and just plain old. The halls smell old and musty. The cabinets paint was bubbling. The springs in the mattresses were broken. Everything is old and I was embarrassed to bring my family here. I now know why I got a discount on this facility. The only positive thing I can say is that the staff were very nice and friendly. We would NEVER stay here again and would certainly never recommend this facility to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie Sexylicious
Business
Crown Reef, South Carolina
Apr 8, 2013

Fantastic Family Getaway

They gave me the wrong room. Didn't have the room I paid for available/cleaned. The rooms are very small (especially kitchen area)! OLD & RUNDOWN!!!!!!!!!! Won't ever come here again. I paid for King and got queen! BRING LYSOL, CLOROX FOR SURE....... I'll never consider staying her again!!!! $140 a night, my brother went to the hotel next door $80 a night and got to use our pools, and hot tubs.... Need an upgrade and oil burners in each room. Horrible smell. NEVER AGAIN K.C. & C.J.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

THORNY"S STEAKHOUSE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rdrn
Business
lancaster; ohio
Apr 30, 2013

judged a book by its cover

Went on four day getaway with friends. Good price online but when I got to the room, its was VERY unkept! The out outside of the kkitchen appliances were filthy and rusted. Walking across the carpet turned our feet black and was moist to touch. Even though it was non smoking; every blanket hhe'd burns through them. The balcony had ash and char marks where cigarettes had been put out on the walls. I will say however; the outdoor areas and pools were in great shape. The location was perfect for our trip; just not the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby Murrell's Inlet. Nice dining and music on the waterfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wendyb63
Business
Winder GA
May 20, 2013

Better than nothing ~

The view was extraordinary ~ loved it! The outside of the Hotel @ night was quite impressive ~ but that did nothing to account for the cleanliness of the bathroom and floors! The carpeting had a couple big stains by the bed ~ ick ~ what could it have been?! The bathroom floor was dirty and the tub had someone else's hair in it! Not to mention the in-room fridge did not work! Paid too much for a room to have a nasty bathroom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We are Yankees and were excited to see a Friendly Ice Cream that we could walk to!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PattyBob
Business
Virginia
Jun 23, 2013

Not Happy

This hotel does not live up to its billing ! The room was not very clean - hair in the sink and dirt on the floor. This was to be a special weekend for my wife's Birthday, and we were very disappointed upon arrival. Parking is also a nightmare. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Upset Penn Mann
Business
Martinsville,Va.
Jun 28, 2013

Disappointed

The hotel is in need of an upgrade, I was very disappointed in the rating of the hotel. The beds are old, the carpet is old, the décor is out dated. The grounds needs upkeep and the concrete around the hotel is all cracked up and in need of repair. We do not plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Common Market, we enjoyed the dinning an the shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top