$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Linda complainer
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
May 20, 2013

Should have read the reviews

Our room ,444, needs a good cleaning. As I sat in the tub, I could see that the commode rim had not been cleaned in quiet a while. It was black! I needed to use a blanket so I got one out of the closet. It was nasty. They looked like they had not been washed. The staff was friendly. The view was great. The refrigerator was rusty and needed to be washed on the inside too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sun and sand lover
Business
SC
May 20, 2013

Mother's day getaway

Room, pools and grounds were clean. Room was located on ground floor next to parking deck. Noisy at night with vehicles and motorcycles coming and going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
spargerboy
Business
mt.airy n.c.
May 20, 2013

dont stay at crown reef

rooms were dirty,ac didnt work,looks nothing like pics,dirty silverware. Do your own dishes, jacuzzi tub and toliet about 4" apart. Our stay sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damons

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCostin
Business
Kenansville, NC
May 20, 2013

Very nice place to stay

My wife and I had a wonderful stay! Plenty of parking. The room was comfortable. The view was awesome! We booked a last minute weekend away and then discovered we were heading down to Myrtle Beach during BIKE WEEK! "Uh Oh" I thought...but the stay was nice. Our room had two queen beds street-side, which was a bit noisy, so we opted to sleep on the Ocean-side of the room on the Murphy Bed. The staff was super nice. If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton, keep looking, but if you're looking a nice place with clean rooms and great view, you've found your place! I would definitely advise you to check and see if it's one of the sever Bike Weeks however. Pool and Lazy River were also very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

This is on the south end of Myrtle Beach...I would highly recommend you utilize the Grissom Parkway to come down versus just taking Hwy 17 Business if you are coming from a northerly location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BetlynElizabeth
Business
Zanesville, Ohio
May 18, 2013

Not Worth the trip

It was not worth the trip the pools were dirty, the lazy river was filthy and not working the hot tubs were dirty.People throwing stuff from other rooms and spitting in the baby pool. Had to go after everything I need like toliet paper, towels, coffee and also had to tell them to sweep the carpet and change the beds. Not my idea of a good time. Will never good back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Larmguy
Business
Andrews, NC
May 8, 2013

Nice ocean view

It was a place to sleep, we may have had a better time if the weather was warm and it wasn't so early in the season, but we found Myrtle Beach to be devoid of anything fun to do, the boardwalk was cool, but you get badgered by the time share salesmen by just going out for a walk. But I bet the extra $18 the resort charges you when you get there having already PAID for the room, that extra $18 wouldn't have made that much difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damons restaurant is right next door. Get some ribs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MAD98
Business
Kernersville,NC
May 6, 2013

Bummer

Beds were uncomfortable and worn out. Rug was dirty. My socks were filled with dirt after walking on the rugs. Swimming pools are outdoors and not heated. Building was pretty on the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rdrn
Business
lancaster; ohio
Apr 30, 2013

judged a book by its cover

Went on four day getaway with friends. Good price online but when I got to the room, its was VERY unkept! The out outside of the kkitchen appliances were filthy and rusted. Walking across the carpet turned our feet black and was moist to touch. Even though it was non smoking; every blanket hhe'd burns through them. The balcony had ash and char marks where cigarettes had been put out on the walls. I will say however; the outdoor areas and pools were in great shape. The location was perfect for our trip; just not the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby Murrell's Inlet. Nice dining and music on the waterfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Icequeen120866
Business
Ballston Spa, NY
Apr 9, 2013

Old and outdated

Not what I expected at all. The pictures must have been taken many years ago. This facility is old and shows many, many signs of age. The carpets are pulling back from the walls. The wall paper was falling off, discolored and just plain old. The halls smell old and musty. The cabinets paint was bubbling. The springs in the mattresses were broken. Everything is old and I was embarrassed to bring my family here. I now know why I got a discount on this facility. The only positive thing I can say is that the staff were very nice and friendly. We would NEVER stay here again and would certainly never recommend this facility to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Joe 54
Business
Charleston, SC
Apr 8, 2013

long Weekend getaway

Water hammer in pipes above our room was like a jack hammer and woke us up at 4:30 in the morning and lasted about 20 minutes. It sounded like a war zone, so loud we could not talk over it. most of the "amenities" closed, non existant or a poor attempt. Happy hour at "lounge" was full of children because it is located by the "arcade"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top