$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.9

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
spargerboy
Couples
mt.airy n.c.
May 20, 2013

dont stay at crown reef

rooms were dirty,ac didnt work,looks nothing like pics,dirty silverware. Do your own dishes, jacuzzi tub and toliet about 4" apart. Our stay sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damons

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCostin
Couples
Kenansville, NC
May 20, 2013

Very nice place to stay

My wife and I had a wonderful stay! Plenty of parking. The room was comfortable. The view was awesome! We booked a last minute weekend away and then discovered we were heading down to Myrtle Beach during BIKE WEEK! "Uh Oh" I thought...but the stay was nice. Our room had two queen beds street-side, which was a bit noisy, so we opted to sleep on the Ocean-side of the room on the Murphy Bed. The staff was super nice. If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton, keep looking, but if you're looking a nice place with clean rooms and great view, you've found your place! I would definitely advise you to check and see if it's one of the sever Bike Weeks however. Pool and Lazy River were also very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

This is on the south end of Myrtle Beach...I would highly recommend you utilize the Grissom Parkway to come down versus just taking Hwy 17 Business if you are coming from a northerly location.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BetlynElizabeth
Couples
Zanesville, Ohio
May 18, 2013

Not Worth the trip

It was not worth the trip the pools were dirty, the lazy river was filthy and not working the hot tubs were dirty.People throwing stuff from other rooms and spitting in the baby pool. Had to go after everything I need like toliet paper, towels, coffee and also had to tell them to sweep the carpet and change the beds. Not my idea of a good time. Will never good back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Larmguy
Couples
Andrews, NC
May 8, 2013

Nice ocean view

It was a place to sleep, we may have had a better time if the weather was warm and it wasn't so early in the season, but we found Myrtle Beach to be devoid of anything fun to do, the boardwalk was cool, but you get badgered by the time share salesmen by just going out for a walk. But I bet the extra $18 the resort charges you when you get there having already PAID for the room, that extra $18 wouldn't have made that much difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damons restaurant is right next door. Get some ribs!

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MAD98
Family
Kernersville,NC
May 6, 2013

Bummer

Beds were uncomfortable and worn out. Rug was dirty. My socks were filled with dirt after walking on the rugs. Swimming pools are outdoors and not heated. Building was pretty on the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rdrn
Friends
lancaster; ohio
Apr 30, 2013

judged a book by its cover

Went on four day getaway with friends. Good price online but when I got to the room, its was VERY unkept! The out outside of the kkitchen appliances were filthy and rusted. Walking across the carpet turned our feet black and was moist to touch. Even though it was non smoking; every blanket hhe'd burns through them. The balcony had ash and char marks where cigarettes had been put out on the walls. I will say however; the outdoor areas and pools were in great shape. The location was perfect for our trip; just not the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby Murrell's Inlet. Nice dining and music on the waterfront.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Icequeen120866
Family
Ballston Spa, NY
Apr 9, 2013

Old and outdated

Not what I expected at all. The pictures must have been taken many years ago. This facility is old and shows many, many signs of age. The carpets are pulling back from the walls. The wall paper was falling off, discolored and just plain old. The halls smell old and musty. The cabinets paint was bubbling. The springs in the mattresses were broken. Everything is old and I was embarrassed to bring my family here. I now know why I got a discount on this facility. The only positive thing I can say is that the staff were very nice and friendly. We would NEVER stay here again and would certainly never recommend this facility to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Joe 54
Couples
Charleston, SC
Apr 8, 2013

long Weekend getaway

Water hammer in pipes above our room was like a jack hammer and woke us up at 4:30 in the morning and lasted about 20 minutes. It sounded like a war zone, so loud we could not talk over it. most of the "amenities" closed, non existant or a poor attempt. Happy hour at "lounge" was full of children because it is located by the "arcade"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie Sexylicious
Family
Crown Reef, South Carolina
Apr 8, 2013

Fantastic Family Getaway

They gave me the wrong room. Didn't have the room I paid for available/cleaned. The rooms are very small (especially kitchen area)! OLD & RUNDOWN!!!!!!!!!! Won't ever come here again. I paid for King and got queen! BRING LYSOL, CLOROX FOR SURE....... I'll never consider staying her again!!!! $140 a night, my brother went to the hotel next door $80 a night and got to use our pools, and hot tubs.... Need an upgrade and oil burners in each room. Horrible smell. NEVER AGAIN K.C. & C.J.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

THORNY"S STEAKHOUSE

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deisel dog
Family
waterford mi
Apr 6, 2013

family vacation

did not like the room, beds freaked me out. would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top