$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
212 out of 212
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Larmguy
Business
Andrews, NC
May 8, 2013

Nice ocean view

It was a place to sleep, we may have had a better time if the weather was warm and it wasn't so early in the season, but we found Myrtle Beach to be devoid of anything fun to do, the boardwalk was cool, but you get badgered by the time share salesmen by just going out for a walk. But I bet the extra $18 the resort charges you when you get there having already PAID for the room, that extra $18 wouldn't have made that much difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damons restaurant is right next door. Get some ribs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MAD98
Business
Kernersville,NC
May 6, 2013

Bummer

Beds were uncomfortable and worn out. Rug was dirty. My socks were filled with dirt after walking on the rugs. Swimming pools are outdoors and not heated. Building was pretty on the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rdrn
Business
lancaster; ohio
Apr 30, 2013

judged a book by its cover

Went on four day getaway with friends. Good price online but when I got to the room, its was VERY unkept! The out outside of the kkitchen appliances were filthy and rusted. Walking across the carpet turned our feet black and was moist to touch. Even though it was non smoking; every blanket hhe'd burns through them. The balcony had ash and char marks where cigarettes had been put out on the walls. I will say however; the outdoor areas and pools were in great shape. The location was perfect for our trip; just not the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby Murrell's Inlet. Nice dining and music on the waterfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Icequeen120866
Business
Ballston Spa, NY
Apr 9, 2013

Old and outdated

Not what I expected at all. The pictures must have been taken many years ago. This facility is old and shows many, many signs of age. The carpets are pulling back from the walls. The wall paper was falling off, discolored and just plain old. The halls smell old and musty. The cabinets paint was bubbling. The springs in the mattresses were broken. Everything is old and I was embarrassed to bring my family here. I now know why I got a discount on this facility. The only positive thing I can say is that the staff were very nice and friendly. We would NEVER stay here again and would certainly never recommend this facility to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Joe 54
Business
Charleston, SC
Apr 8, 2013

long Weekend getaway

Water hammer in pipes above our room was like a jack hammer and woke us up at 4:30 in the morning and lasted about 20 minutes. It sounded like a war zone, so loud we could not talk over it. most of the "amenities" closed, non existant or a poor attempt. Happy hour at "lounge" was full of children because it is located by the "arcade"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie Sexylicious
Business
Crown Reef, South Carolina
Apr 8, 2013

Fantastic Family Getaway

They gave me the wrong room. Didn't have the room I paid for available/cleaned. The rooms are very small (especially kitchen area)! OLD & RUNDOWN!!!!!!!!!! Won't ever come here again. I paid for King and got queen! BRING LYSOL, CLOROX FOR SURE....... I'll never consider staying her again!!!! $140 a night, my brother went to the hotel next door $80 a night and got to use our pools, and hot tubs.... Need an upgrade and oil burners in each room. Horrible smell. NEVER AGAIN K.C. & C.J.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

THORNY"S STEAKHOUSE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deisel dog
Business
waterford mi
Apr 6, 2013

family vacation

did not like the room, beds freaked me out. would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eight
Business
Johnson City, TN
Apr 4, 2013

Junk Sailor

Drunk Sailor or High school Beach Trip, but not family and kids. Rusted frig,micro wave and stove. Bed needed duct tape to keep it together. Carpet was old but not as old as the beds, hey but the bath was ok. Staff was friendly, even showed me a few other rooms, but nothing any better than what we had plus we would have to pack up and move. We were only there for three days, Thank God.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NC GA girl
Business
Charlotte
Apr 4, 2013

Family spring break getaway

The overall experience was average. The hotel needs some renovations. The staff was wonderful. I probably will not stay again due to the old rooms and the beds were not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harry1989
Business
Gastonia NC
Apr 4, 2013

Good Family getaway

Good for the price. the appliances were a little outdated and the bathroom was tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top