$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
203 reviews
Tatalicious Crew

This hotel was the best it was clean the staff was very helpful and informative the location was... See full review

  • TATALICIOUS
  • Sep 8, 2014
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with a four-story tall waterpark, pools, dining and more

Relax with a private balcony facing the Atlantic Ocean in one of more than 500 newly renovated units at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark in Myrtle Beach, SC. Featuring a new, four-story tall waterpark with two giant slides, a silly sub, water play area and kiddie slide, Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark provides hours of year-round fun. Enjoy time on the beach or have a fun afternoon at the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where in addition to the waterpark, the pool deck features pools, hot tubs and lounge chairs. Meander down the longest oceanfront lazy river in Myrtle Beach at 575 feet, unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights
  • Four-story tall waterpark featuring a body slide, tube slide, kiddie slide and more, which is free for resort guests and open year-round
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long lazy river
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or efficiencies and suites with newly remodeled kitchens for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the Boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef are newly renovated and feature a private balcony. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Rooms feature a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, TV, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains. The main event is the new $2 million oceanfront waterpark. The hotel also features the Town Center Dining, Entertainment and Fun Zone, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. Located on the lobby level in the Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak offers lunch, dinner and late-night with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and a casual beach style, while Swirl Ice Cream and Sweet Shop offers guest cold treats and candy options. Guests can also catch breakfast, a light afternoon snack or a cup of coffee at Grab n' Go Grill and Coffee Bar, also located at the Town Center, with oceanfront views. For outdoor seasonal dining, the Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks just steps away from the oceanfront pools. Dining is plentiful at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark!

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Guests booking must be 21 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6616 -78.9154
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport (3 miles), Charleston International Airport (100 miles), Wilmington, NC International Airport (83 miles), Florence Regional Airport (70 miles)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bluesman2013
Rock hill sc
Jan 1, 2013

One year anniversy

I enjoyed the stay at crown reef resort. Everyone is friendly. Beautiful rooms, and clean ones at that. I will be staying again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bughead
Business
Kernersville, NC, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Crown Reef could use some TLC

The bathroom and beds were clean but the room was in need of repairs. The finish was coming off the cabinets in the kitchenette and the carpet was damp. It appeared the carpet may have been cleaned and not allowed to dry. You had to wear your shoes in the room because you got black on your feet from the wetness in the carpet. We were there 3 nights and our trash was not emptied until our last night. We had to ask for clean towels and toilet paper on the second day. I think the hotel may be in the process of doing some remodeling for the Summer season. I hope this is the case because I have always liked this hotel in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damon's Restaurant has wonderful food. It is a bit pricey but worth the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John EL
Business
Virginia
May 15, 2012

Senior week

Hotel was likely very nice 20 years ago, but is now an empty building. out of three 10 floor towers, there were likely 30 rooms. filled. Certainly not a hotel for 20's. Do have a lot a pools and a nice lazy river. Hotel right on the beach. Decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damon's next door has good food, especially bbq. good price and happy hour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GangstaGreg
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
May 24, 2012

Not what we expected

We were blown away by the website but when we got there it was not to our liking. The pools were broken even when their website bragged about how many pools they have. The restuarant they advertised selling breakfast, lunch, and dinner was only open for breakfast. Other than that we were still able to stay and enjoy our time away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mozarti
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 29, 2012

Needs Updating, Bad!

From the pictures on the website, this place looks great. When I opened my room, the place looked like a dump. While it wasn't dirty, it was old and falling a part. A rusty lamp on the dresser. Cupboards that had seen much use. A bathroom that looked dirty, but was just old, rusty and falling apart, The grounds were in a similar state of age. The elevators were stinky and you could barely see the numbers from the rust and decay. I guess it's ok for a place to sleep, but if you are looking for something special, look somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pirate Voyage was great. Just get there early and get a drink before you sit down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GangstaGreg
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
Jul 25, 2012

Not what we expected

Nothing was up and running, didnt look like the pictures. Didnt spoil our time, just not what we were looking forward to staying at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Broadway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dee Dee workaholic
Business
Summerville, SC
Oct 1, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Reserved a king room and got a room with 2 queen beds. Very outdated fixtures, bed was hard. Got burnt from the shower, hot water was way to hot. It was worth the price for the off season, I would never pay the peak season price for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gemdia24
Business
myrtle beach, south carolina
Dec 4, 2012

Not a great vacation:(

This was not a good experience for our family. We always visit Myrtle Beach every chance we get. But as far as staying at this hotel again, i personally don't think it will happen. The staff was GREAT though!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FamilyP12
Business
Burlington NC
Dec 27, 2012

Not worth the money

This hotel looks like a palace on the outside which I'm sure is why they normally charge the big bucks to stay but our room was no better than your regular not impressed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast cafe is awesome and you can get breakfast for $4.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tmy002
Business
Greensboro,NC
Mar 18, 2013

My Opinion

My experience was very good, although I was expecting a little nicer room then what it was. The room was very out dated and was not worth the price that we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JLCSC
Business
Anderson, SC
Mar 26, 2013

Just OK

The indoor pool was the best thing about the hotel, especially for the time of the year we went. The outside pool area looked nice as well. However, the room left a lot to be desired. There were about 5 burn holes in the comforter on the bed. The room was just outdated and we did not like there were three separate towers you could not connect to without going outside and going into another tower and not through the hotel. This place was probably really nice in the late 80's early 90's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top