$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Bryant
Jamestown, NC
Nov 26, 2012

A Thanksgiving Getaway To Remember

This hotel was extravegant.., the room was on point very nice and clean and the hotel was beautiful.., the staff was very friendly my overall stay was one of the best i have every experienced...will definetely go back and will be staying there for fun and relaxation...,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesterfield, SC 29709, USA
Nov 7, 2011

weekend getway

Hotel needs complete overhall, showing its age.Will stay some where else in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damons ,Great Ribs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bughead
Business
Kernersville, NC, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Crown Reef could use some TLC

The bathroom and beds were clean but the room was in need of repairs. The finish was coming off the cabinets in the kitchenette and the carpet was damp. It appeared the carpet may have been cleaned and not allowed to dry. You had to wear your shoes in the room because you got black on your feet from the wetness in the carpet. We were there 3 nights and our trash was not emptied until our last night. We had to ask for clean towels and toilet paper on the second day. I think the hotel may be in the process of doing some remodeling for the Summer season. I hope this is the case because I have always liked this hotel in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damon's Restaurant has wonderful food. It is a bit pricey but worth the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John EL
Business
Virginia
May 15, 2012

Senior week

Hotel was likely very nice 20 years ago, but is now an empty building. out of three 10 floor towers, there were likely 30 rooms. filled. Certainly not a hotel for 20's. Do have a lot a pools and a nice lazy river. Hotel right on the beach. Decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damon's next door has good food, especially bbq. good price and happy hour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GangstaGreg
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
May 24, 2012

Not what we expected

We were blown away by the website but when we got there it was not to our liking. The pools were broken even when their website bragged about how many pools they have. The restuarant they advertised selling breakfast, lunch, and dinner was only open for breakfast. Other than that we were still able to stay and enjoy our time away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mozarti
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 29, 2012

Needs Updating, Bad!

From the pictures on the website, this place looks great. When I opened my room, the place looked like a dump. While it wasn't dirty, it was old and falling a part. A rusty lamp on the dresser. Cupboards that had seen much use. A bathroom that looked dirty, but was just old, rusty and falling apart, The grounds were in a similar state of age. The elevators were stinky and you could barely see the numbers from the rust and decay. I guess it's ok for a place to sleep, but if you are looking for something special, look somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pirate Voyage was great. Just get there early and get a drink before you sit down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GangstaGreg
Business
Columbia, South Carolina
Jul 25, 2012

Not what we expected

Nothing was up and running, didnt look like the pictures. Didnt spoil our time, just not what we were looking forward to staying at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Broadway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dee Dee workaholic
Business
Summerville, SC
Oct 1, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Reserved a king room and got a room with 2 queen beds. Very outdated fixtures, bed was hard. Got burnt from the shower, hot water was way to hot. It was worth the price for the off season, I would never pay the peak season price for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gemdia24
Business
myrtle beach, south carolina
Dec 4, 2012

Not a great vacation:(

This was not a good experience for our family. We always visit Myrtle Beach every chance we get. But as far as staying at this hotel again, i personally don't think it will happen. The staff was GREAT though!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FamilyP12
Business
Burlington NC
Dec 27, 2012

Not worth the money

This hotel looks like a palace on the outside which I'm sure is why they normally charge the big bucks to stay but our room was no better than your regular not impressed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast cafe is awesome and you can get breakfast for $4.00

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tmy002
Business
Greensboro,NC
Mar 18, 2013

My Opinion

My experience was very good, although I was expecting a little nicer room then what it was. The room was very out dated and was not worth the price that we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top