$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
198 reviews
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Great for Families!

The pools, the lazy river, the convenience to the highway... Perfect for my family! See full review

  • nctsiawd
  • Aug 22, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with more than 20 pools, tubs and fountains

Relax with a private balcony and views onto the Atlantic Ocean at Crown Reef Hotel in Myrtle Beach. Set on the sand, guests enjoy the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where more than 20 swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains dot the landscape. Meander down a 575-foot-long "lazy river," unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights

                                                                                   

  • Perfect sunrises and panoramic ocean views from Crown Reef guest rooms, all facing the Atlantic
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long "lazy river"
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or rooms with kitchen facilities for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef feature a private balcony and breathtaking Atlantic Ocean and sunrise views. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, a TV with HBO, a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains, plus pools for kids only. The main event is a "lazy river" that winds across the sundeck area, an enormous 575 feet long. The hotel also features an oceanfront fitness center and video game room, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. At Crown Cafe, guests can enjoy an affordable breakfast, lunch or dinner, or order room service. Treasure Chest serves easy-going breakfast and lunch dishes. The seasonal Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks. And, the oceanfront Cloud 9 Lounge puts the "happy" in happy hour.

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi in every guest room
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Guests booking must be 23 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

33.6616 -78.9154
Area served
Myrtle Beach
Nearby airports
Myrtle Beach International Airport (3 miles), Charleston International Airport (100 miles), Wilmington, NC International Airport (83 miles), Florence Regional Airport (70 miles)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
wisconsin
Aug 2, 2011

the good, the bad, the ugly!

did not meet expectations, room not cleaned, hallways dirty.elevators loud and slow, staff incompetent, no follow up from management, undesclosed charge of $6.00 per day for pool upkeep, not able to get show reservations from hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

don't stay here!

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Pie
Oak Forest, IL
Aug 1, 2011

Excellent location

The facility was adequate, but a bit run-down, which was surprising considering its size and location. Elevators reeked, and were never cleaned during our stay. They might want to repair the sign on the tower so it says "Crown Reef" not "Crow Reef" - it is the name of the place -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damon's Stak House was exceptional, within walking distance of the Crown Reef.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Icequeen120866
Ballston Spa, NY
Apr 9, 2013

Old and outdated

Not what I expected at all. The pictures must have been taken many years ago. This facility is old and shows many, many signs of age. The carpets are pulling back from the walls. The wall paper was falling off, discolored and just plain old. The halls smell old and musty. The cabinets paint was bubbling. The springs in the mattresses were broken. Everything is old and I was embarrassed to bring my family here. I now know why I got a discount on this facility. The only positive thing I can say is that the staff were very nice and friendly. We would NEVER stay here again and would certainly never recommend this facility to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mozarti
Raleigh, NC
May 29, 2012

Needs Updating, Bad!

From the pictures on the website, this place looks great. When I opened my room, the place looked like a dump. While it wasn't dirty, it was old and falling a part. A rusty lamp on the dresser. Cupboards that had seen much use. A bathroom that looked dirty, but was just old, rusty and falling apart, The grounds were in a similar state of age. The elevators were stinky and you could barely see the numbers from the rust and decay. I guess it's ok for a place to sleep, but if you are looking for something special, look somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Pirate Voyage was great. Just get there early and get a drink before you sit down.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NC GA girl
Charlotte
Apr 4, 2013

Family spring break getaway

The overall experience was average. The hotel needs some renovations. The staff was wonderful. I probably will not stay again due to the old rooms and the beds were not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Budget Traveler Mom
New York
Apr 3, 2013

You get what you pay for...

If you can afford to spend a little extra $$ DO and book a better hotel. The Crown Reef has seen better days and the rooms need a make-over. The rooms were clean however, outdated, beds not so comfortable and the grounds need some TLC as well. On a scale of 1-5 I'd give it a 2!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The food was far better in the locally owned rest. than the chain rest. Although Olive Garden is worth the wait.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Jul 28, 2010

Decent place

I just needed a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monroe, NC
Apr 19, 2011

Rundown resort in need of remodeling

The room was clean but the carpet was stained, the wall paper was coming loose and the refrigerator was rusty and noisy. The bathroom was clean and functioned well. The total resort needs to be remodeled. Elevators and hot tubs were not working. Paint is pealing thorough out the facility. We loved the location and access to the beach is easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hollister
NC
May 20, 2014

Disappointed

Definitely not like the pictures online. I expected it to be a fun place with huge pools, a nice room, etc (like the pictures) but I got the complete opposite. The room was decent, none of the furniture matched but that’s not really a big deal. The carpet was wet from the air conditioner which was kind of gross. What I was most displeased with was the tower we were placed in. We were in tower 3 which looked like the only tower at this resort that hasn’t been renovated yet. Towers one and two looked much better than ours. Our elevators were broken the whole weekend so we had to walk up and down 9 flights of stairs. Luckily we found the staff elevator but it was clanky and dirty. There were no signs telling you where to go or what elevators to take since they were renovating the place. We ran into a bunch of dead ends and construction areas and had to turn all the way around. The pools advertised that they closed at 11 but when we got down there Thursday night at 8:30 they were already closed and the hot tubs were freezing. The pools were not indoors at all and were too cold to enjoy. The only thing I liked about our stay was the friendly staff and the Loco Gecko restaurant. I was expecting a lot more, very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gemdia24
myrtle beach, south carolina
Dec 4, 2012

Not a great vacation:(

This was not a good experience for our family. We always visit Myrtle Beach every chance we get. But as far as staying at this hotel again, i personally don't think it will happen. The staff was GREAT though!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search