$230 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 6, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The honeymooners 2013
Business
Myrtle Beach Sc
Jun 17, 2013

Misleading a terrible honeymoon

This was my honeymoon and this hotel was disappointing .very dated had very smelly room had roaches , fire detector all were taken off called guest services only one out of three were put back up . Coffee pot didn't work. Me and my new husband were truly disappointed.Not worth the money we had to pay. This was very dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
peabridge1967
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Jun 15, 2013

Leaving More Stressed and Exhausted

It is with great disappointment that I send this email to you. Im sending this email the next morning after my initial disappointment with Crown Reef. I decided after completing the last week of teaching for the school year, that I would treat myself to a very nice quick get away at your resort. I booked this reservation after talking to an agent who recommended your resort. This is my first visit. I arrived at Check-in at 7:48 pm, last night (6-14-13). After a long day at work, a two hour drive, I stood in line for 51 minutes before reaching the front desk. I watched about 25 guests check-in, angered, upset at this prolonged process. No one tried to speed it up, the manager walked away from the front desk leaving two clerks. 51 minutes after checking in, I am in so much back pain and knee pain, that if I could I would have cancelled and returned home. To prevent loosing my money, I proceeded with check-out, and paying an additional $6.06 local fee. I never even got an apology for my concern, the clerk was very nice spoken. All I got was, "well, all of us are here to check in as quickly as possible". No sympathy for my wait, nor the pain, I was in. I got to my room, 845, only to find it was not the room I reserved. I called the front desk and was told that I was upgraded to a King Suite. Well, I reserved a qeen suite because a colleague came with me and we both wanted to have a queen size bed and ocean front room. Well, I my colleague slept in the king size bed, while I slept on a pull down bed. I was not happy. Once we arrived to our room, we got off the elevator to a pile of about 10 or 12 full trash bags, that had been thrown next to the wall of our room. At this point, I am just ill and disgusted. Needing to get off my feet, I simply sat on the couch, tried to relax and feel better. I needed to leave to find some dinner and to pick up some Tylernol for my discomfort. I have been up since 6:14 am, unable to rest all night long and sleep in. So today, I am returning home after sending this email, in worse physical and mental state than I was when I arrived. Needless to say, this is my first visit to your facility and my last. I have been coming to Myrtle Beach all my life, simply because of the ocean view and closeness to home. Its my favorite spot. To have come to Myrtle Beach, to enjoy such a beautiful creation, your facility was completely unacceptable, at the low price of $193.06. I can not give a good review, I just have to be honest. I trust you will find some way of resolving this issue for future guests. A stressed out fourth grade teacher, who returns home more stressed and more tired!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marie Penn
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 9, 2013

Stay Away

We were so disappointed with this place. Paid way too much. Trust me, this place is literally a dump. The room was shabby and everything you touched was sticky. Would not walk on the floors in my bare feet. The glass balcony doors were foggy and the very small balcony was filled with bird dirt. It's a shame this hotel has been neglected for years. The noise from the people in rooms on either side of us kept us up into the wee hours of the morning. There are many other hotels along Ocean Blvd. and I'm sorry I didn't research this further.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sugamommy
Business
Camden, sc
Jun 3, 2013

Not good at all

Very dissatised, old and out dated, couch was worn down, counter top needed replaced, faucet in restroom was terrible had to hold it down just to cut it on lol,pullout couch uncomfortable , not pleased at all will never sty again. Want to scream and shot but too tired after having to go across the street to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philaviametro
Business
Philly
May 31, 2013

Family Getaway

Really enjoy my stay and can't wait til I reutrn. There wee minor issues but overall service was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Conceirge

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ATL Georgia
May 28, 2013

Hotel was nice and in a good location right on the beach !!!! Loved my stay wish I could've stayed l

Location location location loved my stay her at this hotel would recommend it to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sepko west
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 21, 2013

great getaway for two

I was a little put off at first with the front desk, but after I got the attendant to speak to us a little he was fine. The room was fabulous. We booked the night before we checked in and was pleasantly surprised. I enjoyed all the amenities. The water in the pool was cold but I didn't expect it to be warm this early in the season. I will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wendyb63
Business
Winder GA
May 20, 2013

Better than nothing ~

The view was extraordinary ~ loved it! The outside of the Hotel @ night was quite impressive ~ but that did nothing to account for the cleanliness of the bathroom and floors! The carpeting had a couple big stains by the bed ~ ick ~ what could it have been?! The bathroom floor was dirty and the tub had someone else's hair in it! Not to mention the in-room fridge did not work! Paid too much for a room to have a nasty bathroom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We are Yankees and were excited to see a Friendly Ice Cream that we could walk to!

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savvy Blonde
Business
Asheville, NC
May 20, 2013

Great weekend getaway

Great location! Rooms were good, but kitchen and living room could use some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want a great seafood dinner i would recommend the Giant Crab restaurant in North Myrtle Beach.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lauralee123
Business
Roanoke, VA
May 20, 2013

Fine for a quick trip

We received a good deal on this room when we decided to take a weekend trip at the last minute. The rooms were dated but clean, and we did not have any issues with customer service. Would stay again for a short trip where we were not in the room at lot, for a long vacation we would probably stay somewhere that was more updated and had more amenities. Pools, etc. were clean and appeared to be well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top