$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
203 reviews
Tatalicious Crew

This hotel was the best it was clean the staff was very helpful and informative the location was... See full review

  • TATALICIOUS
  • Sep 8, 2014
great family resort

Everything was as expected. Our room was on the 11th floor. I usually like to stay a little lower... See full review

  • Runaway Grandma
  • Sep 17, 2013
Oceanfront in Myrtle Beach with a four-story tall waterpark, pools, dining and more

Relax with a private balcony facing the Atlantic Ocean in one of more than 500 newly renovated units at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark in Myrtle Beach, SC. Featuring a new, four-story tall waterpark with two giant slides, a silly sub, water play area and kiddie slide, Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark provides hours of year-round fun. Enjoy time on the beach or have a fun afternoon at the ultimate oceanfront playground -- as well as the hotel itself, where in addition to the waterpark, the pool deck features pools, hot tubs and lounge chairs. Meander down the longest oceanfront lazy river in Myrtle Beach at 575 feet, unwind with a cocktail at the Pool Bar and Grill, work out in the fitness center, experience dining at several restaurants and cafes on-site, or chill out in the video arcade. 

Highlights
  • Four-story tall waterpark featuring a body slide, tube slide, kiddie slide and more, which is free for resort guests and open year-round
  • Countless on-site pools, including a 575-foot-long lazy river
  • Several on-site dining and cocktail destinations, or efficiencies and suites with newly remodeled kitchens for home cooking

Location

Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark sits on the beachfront just south of the center of Myrtle Beach. Walk to Myrtle Beach State Park, or head up to the Boardwalk, less than three miles away.

Rooms

Each of the 514 smoke-free rooms and suites at Crown Reef are newly renovated and feature a private balcony. Each is tailored to provide the comforts of home -- with selected suites offering a Jacuzzi. Rooms feature a mini refrigerator, a hair-dryer, TV, a coffee-maker and more. Some rooms also feature kitchen facilities, including a stove and utensils.

Features

The hotel adds extra fun to its beachfront location with more than 20 oceanfront swimming pools, hot tubs and fountains. The main event is the new $2 million oceanfront waterpark. The hotel also features the Town Center Dining, Entertainment and Fun Zone, plus an activity program for kids in summer.

Dining

Crown Reef Resort makes dining easy with several restaurants and cafes to choose from. Located on the lobby level in the Town Center, Loco Gecko Beach Shak offers lunch, dinner and late-night with breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and a casual beach style, while Swirl Ice Cream and Sweet Shop offers guest cold treats and candy options. Guests can also catch breakfast, a light afternoon snack or a cup of coffee at Grab n' Go Grill and Coffee Bar, also located at the Town Center, with oceanfront views. For outdoor seasonal dining, the Pool Bar and Grill pairs burgers and more with great drinks just steps away from the oceanfront pools. Dining is plentiful at Crown Reef Resort and Waterpark!

Transportation


  • Myrtle Beach International Airport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Hotel offers free airport shuttle service

Attractions

  • Myrtle Beach State Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Skywheel (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Broadway at the Beach (5 mi/8.1 km)

Business
  • Offers 11,500 square feet of meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
  • Catering services and personalized menus (fees apply)
Policies and fees

  • Guests booking must be 21 years of age and older to rent a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crown Reef Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Crown Reef Resort Rooms

Oceanfront King Efficiency
Sleeps 4 Max, 1 king bed, 1 sleeper sofa, fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfront Queen Deluxe Suite
Sleeps 8 Max, 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen.
Oceanfron King Jacuzzi Suite
Sleeps 6 Max. 1 King bed, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper Sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Queen Jacuzzi Suite
Oceanfront Queen jacuzzi Suite. Sleeps 8 Max. 2 Queen beds, 1 Murphy bed, 1 Sleeper sofa, 2 TV's. Fully equipped kitchen, garden tub with jets.
Oceanfront Deluxe Queen
Oceanfront Room Sleeps Max 4, 2 queen beds, compact refrigerator.
Oceanfront Efficiency Room
Oceanfront Room w/ Private Balcony - two queen beds, stove, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, safe, and TV w/ free HBO.

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Springmaid Pier: 0.3 mi
  • Franklin G. Burroughs - Simeon B. Chapin Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach State Park: 1.3 mi
  • Family Kingdom Amusement Park: 2 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Boardwalk: 2.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It of Not: 3 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Sky Wheel: 3.1 mi
  • Myrtle Beach Convention Center: 3.8 mi
  • The Children's Museum of South Carolina: 3.9 mi
  • Ticketreturn.com Field: 4 mi
  • Palace Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Le Grande Cirque: 4.2 mi
  • MagiQuest: 4.2 mi
  • WonderWorks: 4.2 mi
  • Ripley's Aquarium: 4.4 mi
  • Legends in Concert: 4.6 mi
  • Nascar SpeedPark Myrtle Beach: 6.2 mi
  • Waccatee Zoo: 7.8 mi
  • King's North at Myrtle Beach National: 9.4 mi
  • The Carolina Opry: 9.4 mi
  • Good Vibrations: 9.4 mi

Dining

Crown Cafe
The Crown Cafe is a full service restaurant offering breakfast. For those who prefer to eat in the comfort of their oceanfront room, room service is available. Open Seasonally.
Loco Gecko Beach Shak
Loco Gecko Beach Shak is located oceanfront in the Town Center. Serving up burgers, salads, pizzas and wraps, it is a popular dining option for lunch, dinner and late-night.
Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop
Located at the Town Center, Swirl Ice Cream & Sweet Shop is a place where you can grab an ice cream cone, have a shake made or get a bag of candy to enjoy.
Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar
The Grab n' Go Grill & Coffee Bar is located at the Town Center. Featuring light breakfast and grill items as well as coffee, it is open throughout the day for your quick dining needs.
Pool Bar & Grill
The Pool Bar & Grill is located on the pooldeck offering cold drink options for a hot day as well as items off the grill.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center has over 12,000 square feet of meeting space, which includes an executive boardroom and ample prefunction space. Groups of up to 1200 can convene in this facility. The ballroom can divide into eight sections providing the opportunity to have breakout rooms in addition to general sessions. The meeting rooms can accommodate a variety of seating configurations for any event. The resort and conference center are equipped with high-speed Internet access and complimentary parking is available for conference guests. Host a party poolside or an oceanfront luau under the stars! The popular oceanfront gazebo and spacious pool deck is available for small group events and weddings. The Crown Reef is home to the most dedicated Sales and Catering team on the Grand Strand, who will assist with planning your event and will customize any menu to meet your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.8

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
spargerboy
Business
mt.airy n.c.
May 20, 2013

dont stay at crown reef

rooms were dirty,ac didnt work,looks nothing like pics,dirty silverware. Do your own dishes, jacuzzi tub and toliet about 4" apart. Our stay sucked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damons

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCostin
Business
Kenansville, NC
May 20, 2013

Very nice place to stay

My wife and I had a wonderful stay! Plenty of parking. The room was comfortable. The view was awesome! We booked a last minute weekend away and then discovered we were heading down to Myrtle Beach during BIKE WEEK! "Uh Oh" I thought...but the stay was nice. Our room had two queen beds street-side, which was a bit noisy, so we opted to sleep on the Ocean-side of the room on the Murphy Bed. The staff was super nice. If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton, keep looking, but if you're looking a nice place with clean rooms and great view, you've found your place! I would definitely advise you to check and see if it's one of the sever Bike Weeks however. Pool and Lazy River were also very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

This is on the south end of Myrtle Beach...I would highly recommend you utilize the Grissom Parkway to come down versus just taking Hwy 17 Business if you are coming from a northerly location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BetlynElizabeth
Business
Zanesville, Ohio
May 18, 2013

Not Worth the trip

It was not worth the trip the pools were dirty, the lazy river was filthy and not working the hot tubs were dirty.People throwing stuff from other rooms and spitting in the baby pool. Had to go after everything I need like toliet paper, towels, coffee and also had to tell them to sweep the carpet and change the beds. Not my idea of a good time. Will never good back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Larmguy
Business
Andrews, NC
May 8, 2013

Nice ocean view

It was a place to sleep, we may have had a better time if the weather was warm and it wasn't so early in the season, but we found Myrtle Beach to be devoid of anything fun to do, the boardwalk was cool, but you get badgered by the time share salesmen by just going out for a walk. But I bet the extra $18 the resort charges you when you get there having already PAID for the room, that extra $18 wouldn't have made that much difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Damons restaurant is right next door. Get some ribs!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MAD98
Business
Kernersville,NC
May 6, 2013

Bummer

Beds were uncomfortable and worn out. Rug was dirty. My socks were filled with dirt after walking on the rugs. Swimming pools are outdoors and not heated. Building was pretty on the outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rdrn
Business
lancaster; ohio
Apr 30, 2013

judged a book by its cover

Went on four day getaway with friends. Good price online but when I got to the room, its was VERY unkept! The out outside of the kkitchen appliances were filthy and rusted. Walking across the carpet turned our feet black and was moist to touch. Even though it was non smoking; every blanket hhe'd burns through them. The balcony had ash and char marks where cigarettes had been put out on the walls. I will say however; the outdoor areas and pools were in great shape. The location was perfect for our trip; just not the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby Murrell's Inlet. Nice dining and music on the waterfront.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Icequeen120866
Business
Ballston Spa, NY
Apr 9, 2013

Old and outdated

Not what I expected at all. The pictures must have been taken many years ago. This facility is old and shows many, many signs of age. The carpets are pulling back from the walls. The wall paper was falling off, discolored and just plain old. The halls smell old and musty. The cabinets paint was bubbling. The springs in the mattresses were broken. Everything is old and I was embarrassed to bring my family here. I now know why I got a discount on this facility. The only positive thing I can say is that the staff were very nice and friendly. We would NEVER stay here again and would certainly never recommend this facility to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Big Joe 54
Business
Charleston, SC
Apr 8, 2013

long Weekend getaway

Water hammer in pipes above our room was like a jack hammer and woke us up at 4:30 in the morning and lasted about 20 minutes. It sounded like a war zone, so loud we could not talk over it. most of the "amenities" closed, non existant or a poor attempt. Happy hour at "lounge" was full of children because it is located by the "arcade"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Katie Sexylicious
Business
Crown Reef, South Carolina
Apr 8, 2013

Fantastic Family Getaway

They gave me the wrong room. Didn't have the room I paid for available/cleaned. The rooms are very small (especially kitchen area)! OLD & RUNDOWN!!!!!!!!!! Won't ever come here again. I paid for King and got queen! BRING LYSOL, CLOROX FOR SURE....... I'll never consider staying her again!!!! $140 a night, my brother went to the hotel next door $80 a night and got to use our pools, and hot tubs.... Need an upgrade and oil burners in each room. Horrible smell. NEVER AGAIN K.C. & C.J.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

THORNY"S STEAKHOUSE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deisel dog
Business
waterford mi
Apr 6, 2013

family vacation

did not like the room, beds freaked me out. would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top