$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daisydoo78
Business
South Carolina
Jun 27, 2013

Have been there before but won't be back...

I have stayed at the Crown Reef before for buisness conferences and for personal family vacations but this last stay (June 2013) was awful!! We stayed in Tower 1 and the elevators didn't work, the overall apperance of the hotel was nasty and outdated and smelled of mildew, the room left a lot to be desired although the view was amazing. The pools were visibly dirty and cloudy and the kids pool wasn't even open. Sorry I will be taking my money elsewhere on the strand for future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krtw
Business
Lansing, MI
Jun 26, 2013

Family get away

Not bad place for the family, but the kitchen and room could be a little cleaner and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DreamGirl1
Business
South Carolina
Jun 25, 2013

Wonderful Trip

I really enjoyed my stay, The room was beautiful and comfortable, the view was awesome. The staff was amazing!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PattyBob
Business
Virginia
Jun 23, 2013

Not Happy

This hotel does not live up to its billing ! The room was not very clean - hair in the sink and dirt on the floor. This was to be a special weekend for my wife's Birthday, and we were very disappointed upon arrival. Parking is also a nightmare. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stick58
Business
Roanoke VA
Jun 22, 2013

SLIMEY CRUD

Let me see-- where do I start-- We basically lost 2 days of our vacation which was suppose to be fun.. Upon checking in-- 1st of all--It took quite a long time.. After we finally got checked in, we got to our room finally after climbing 9 flights of stairs because only one of the elevators worked in a 3 tower resort.. We asked for a lower room because of the elevators.. They give us a room on the second floor only for us to find out that evening that the air condition did not work.. (good thing we had a fan with us) that helped us survive the night of sweating.. Trying to get some air, we took a tour of the whole place.. SLIMEY!! Looking at the many pools and hot tubs that they had-- most of them was slimy-- green and again-- SLIMEY.. bugs crawling all over the place outside, stinky and crud everywhere.. I was sick to my stomach at this point. No staff on duty to clean at all, and not maintenance to fix the ac.. Needless to say, we packed the car up at 7am and finally got checked out 9am.. Then another day wasted trying to find another resort to stay, which we did, but couldn't check in until 4pm.. So 2 days wasted of a 4 day vacation.. I gave a 1 star for amenities only because they have lots of them, but nothing in even good condition. I'm asking you for a refund of the nights stay at CRR..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Overall87
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Jun 18, 2013

Understaffed, Rude, and VEry late check in times

I got there at 11am was told I couldn't check in until 4pm. Went to check in at 4pm and there was a line all the way out the door with only 2 staff members there to help everybody. The staff was rude and was in no hurry to get everyone out of there. The hotel is old and not very well maintained. I would not recomend this hotel it is definitely not worth the price. If you can get it for about $70 a night then go for it but other than that find somewhere else in North myrtle beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoAnne Pal
Business
Bethlehem, PA
Jun 17, 2013

Awesome hotel for the price

Clean, great pools, nice room and view - I will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tiny f
Business
Burlington NC United States
Jun 17, 2013

great for our romantic vacation

When we got there we had to wait on our room but they gave us a free night. The room was great and clean. I love the lights when its dark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The honeymooners 2013
Business
Myrtle Beach Sc
Jun 17, 2013

Misleading a terrible honeymoon

This was my honeymoon and this hotel was disappointing .very dated had very smelly room had roaches , fire detector all were taken off called guest services only one out of three were put back up . Coffee pot didn't work. Me and my new husband were truly disappointed.Not worth the money we had to pay. This was very dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
peabridge1967
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Jun 15, 2013

Leaving More Stressed and Exhausted

It is with great disappointment that I send this email to you. Im sending this email the next morning after my initial disappointment with Crown Reef. I decided after completing the last week of teaching for the school year, that I would treat myself to a very nice quick get away at your resort. I booked this reservation after talking to an agent who recommended your resort. This is my first visit. I arrived at Check-in at 7:48 pm, last night (6-14-13). After a long day at work, a two hour drive, I stood in line for 51 minutes before reaching the front desk. I watched about 25 guests check-in, angered, upset at this prolonged process. No one tried to speed it up, the manager walked away from the front desk leaving two clerks. 51 minutes after checking in, I am in so much back pain and knee pain, that if I could I would have cancelled and returned home. To prevent loosing my money, I proceeded with check-out, and paying an additional $6.06 local fee. I never even got an apology for my concern, the clerk was very nice spoken. All I got was, "well, all of us are here to check in as quickly as possible". No sympathy for my wait, nor the pain, I was in. I got to my room, 845, only to find it was not the room I reserved. I called the front desk and was told that I was upgraded to a King Suite. Well, I reserved a qeen suite because a colleague came with me and we both wanted to have a queen size bed and ocean front room. Well, I my colleague slept in the king size bed, while I slept on a pull down bed. I was not happy. Once we arrived to our room, we got off the elevator to a pile of about 10 or 12 full trash bags, that had been thrown next to the wall of our room. At this point, I am just ill and disgusted. Needing to get off my feet, I simply sat on the couch, tried to relax and feel better. I needed to leave to find some dinner and to pick up some Tylernol for my discomfort. I have been up since 6:14 am, unable to rest all night long and sleep in. So today, I am returning home after sending this email, in worse physical and mental state than I was when I arrived. Needless to say, this is my first visit to your facility and my last. I have been coming to Myrtle Beach all my life, simply because of the ocean view and closeness to home. Its my favorite spot. To have come to Myrtle Beach, to enjoy such a beautiful creation, your facility was completely unacceptable, at the low price of $193.06. I can not give a good review, I just have to be honest. I trust you will find some way of resolving this issue for future guests. A stressed out fourth grade teacher, who returns home more stressed and more tired!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top