$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.9

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marie Penn
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 9, 2013

Stay Away

We were so disappointed with this place. Paid way too much. Trust me, this place is literally a dump. The room was shabby and everything you touched was sticky. Would not walk on the floors in my bare feet. The glass balcony doors were foggy and the very small balcony was filled with bird dirt. It's a shame this hotel has been neglected for years. The noise from the people in rooms on either side of us kept us up into the wee hours of the morning. There are many other hotels along Ocean Blvd. and I'm sorry I didn't research this further.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Conniehoney
Family
Commerce Ga.
Jul 28, 2013

Not Happy

Room not clean . Chairs and table out side had mold on them. 409 and Clorox would take care of that. Floor did not look like it had been cleaned for a while. Bathroom door Handel was very bad I clean it with soap . When I booked the room it said all rooms had a microwave it did not . A bowling lane and a Starbucks not. When I call to complain I was told they needed to up date there site. I could have had a better room at hotel 6. Not worth the money. Would not stay again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
parkranger420
Couples
walkertown nc
Jul 28, 2013

Will not stay again

Trash on walkways by rooms, cigarette butts overflowing trash cans pizza boxes etc. and this was the entire week. Pile of cigarette butts on floor by elevator NEVER CLEANED UP! Room dated and cramped. WiFi was so weak could not log on. Elevators were very slow, expect a long wait. On the day of check out waited 45 mins for elevator ended up carrying luggage down 6 flights of stairs. Pool was extremely dirty. Will never stay there again. Folks I ain't exaggerating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KCoop
Family
Anderson SC
Aug 8, 2013

summer vacation

Horrible experience with check-in. Took over one hour and then room not ready. Unable to get in room until 6:30pm. Elevators either broken or took 30 minutes to get, so took stairs entire week. Unable to locate luggage cart or get staff assistance with this. Carried all luggage up stairs to room. Once in room, cleanliness OK but no shower curtain and not enough towels. Unable to get staff assistance for several hours. Restaurants in building not open at convenient hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Courtney Weekend getaway
Family
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 19, 2013

Disappointing experience.

This hotel was no where near worth what I paid. It takes 5-10 just for the elevators to arrive. The parking garage was overly crowded and horribly setup. Overall, the hotel was not very clean either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JEnglish
Single
EL Paso, TX
Aug 26, 2013

BEach room

The location was far away from all the excitement of Myrtle beach but close to the airport. The beach front experience was great... great views!!. However, my room was horrible! There was mold, horrible smell, Fridge did not work and the room was just not good!! The hotel was also very old! I did not like the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truthseeker
Friends
Winston-Salem, NC
Sep 6, 2013

the place is awful

Awful The.place was dirty and the elevators did not work. The pools were dirty and the guys that kept the outside clean did not do anything. The beach is very nice.The Do not go there!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gregoryrr
San Francisco ca
Sep 10, 2013

Not a good value

I have NO idea how this property was rated 3 stars. it is if no one ever actually went to this property because not even clos to 3. i would give it a half star but that isnt a choice. Staff is friendly. Outdoor areas are reasonably nice. Beach access is great. That's the good stuff. Thief hotel owners need to open up the checkbook and spend some money on this place! Paint is peeling, carpets are worn and dirty, the top of the tv in the room was partly melted, the mini refrigerator was cracked and wouldn't get cols enough to matter, bed spread was ripped and you didn't want to let it touch your skin. In short, the room was gross. This place has potential but until the rooms are upgraded, I would avoid this location. There are many places that are a much better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Thunt6
Family
Lumberton, NC, USA
Dec 2, 2013

Bad experience

Substance looked like feces on door seal. Beer bottle left in the room. Bathroom semi clean. Room in need of severe upgrade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Raleigh, NC
Apr 25, 2011

Easter Weekend

I thought this hotel was a huge disappointment. It looks very nice on the outside but the inside is older and not up to date. The hotel was very loud. Our Air conditioner squealed when the wind would blow b/c it was not properly sealed around the edges. They had shoved a bath towel in the crack to lessen the sound. The bathroom floor was sticky when we got there. Also we had to pay a resort fee which I know if for the amenities. All of the pools were freezing even the inside ones and the hot tubs looked nasty. The $4 breakfast downstairs smelled horrible so we went to the other place in the hotel and it was just okay and expensive. The bar was not open, which I am sure that is common for this time of year, but when we asked about it we were rudely cut off with, "um, NO theres not a bar" Very rude. We were woken up early every day with some kind of loud noises. Once something squeaking outside down by the pool and a loud person who I assumed worked there. Every time the neighbors took a shower there was a horrible squealing noise coming through our wall. And another day the maid was yelling and slamming doors on our hallway at 7:30am. Overall I just felt like it was not worth the money. It looks amazing from the road but it is very disappointing inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top