$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Crown Reef Resort

3 stars
View map of 2913 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crown Reef Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JASON M. SMITH
COLUMBIA S.C.
Jul 30, 2012

Hotel

Every thing was great. All the shopping and dining is in the hotel. Makes it great when you dont have to load your kids and everyone up to find something to eat. We did not even leave the resort once we checked in. That's great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kpc777
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 1, 2013

NOT customer oriented

I can forgive the fact that there was very little within walking distance to the hotel (that's not their fault#, but there are certain problems I cannot forgive. For one, it took a full FIFTY MINUTES to check into this hotel -- an that's just to get through the first line where I had to re-enter everything that had already been entered on the computer through the booking agency (why do they need me and every other customer to fill out several pages worth of time-consuming paperwork in the age of computers?) After I made it through this line, the receptionist told me to stand in another line to get my parking pass -- apparently this was so that they could up-sell me some tourist stuff I didn't need! Very unprofessional and very NON-CUSTOMER ORIENTED. It's almost as if they have no intention of gaining repeat customers. What a mind-bogglingly frustrating way to start a vacation, especially after a long drive! And to top all of this off, the entire hotel has a run-down feel to it. There is no reason simple maintenance can't be done to make the place look a bit more presentable. Again, I am convinced they are not concerned about repeat customers. The only saving grace for the hotel was their restaurant staff was very friendly and went out of their way to ensure we had a good meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Myrtle Beach,SC
Jun 28, 2013

Do Not Stay Here

This hotel is filthy and disgusting.....the rooms, the pools, the hot tubs.......NOTHING is clean. I will never stay here again and do not recommend for others to choose this hotel either........Myrtle Beach is a great place and has lots to offer so keep looking and don't stay at Crown Reef

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Upset Penn Mann
Business
Martinsville,Va.
Jun 28, 2013

Disappointed

The hotel is in need of an upgrade, I was very disappointed in the rating of the hotel. The beds are old, the carpet is old, the décor is out dated. The grounds needs upkeep and the concrete around the hotel is all cracked up and in need of repair. We do not plan on staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Common Market, we enjoyed the dinning an the shopping.

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JASON M. SMITH
Business
COLUMBIA S.C.
Jun 27, 2013

YUK!!!

Yuk!!! This place is very nasty, needs better up keeping. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daisydoo78
Business
South Carolina
Jun 27, 2013

Have been there before but won't be back...

I have stayed at the Crown Reef before for buisness conferences and for personal family vacations but this last stay (June 2013) was awful!! We stayed in Tower 1 and the elevators didn't work, the overall apperance of the hotel was nasty and outdated and smelled of mildew, the room left a lot to be desired although the view was amazing. The pools were visibly dirty and cloudy and the kids pool wasn't even open. Sorry I will be taking my money elsewhere on the strand for future visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krtw
Business
Lansing, MI
Jun 26, 2013

Family get away

Not bad place for the family, but the kitchen and room could be a little cleaner and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DreamGirl1
Business
South Carolina
Jun 25, 2013

Wonderful Trip

I really enjoyed my stay, The room was beautiful and comfortable, the view was awesome. The staff was amazing!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PattyBob
Business
Virginia
Jun 23, 2013

Not Happy

This hotel does not live up to its billing ! The room was not very clean - hair in the sink and dirt on the floor. This was to be a special weekend for my wife's Birthday, and we were very disappointed upon arrival. Parking is also a nightmare. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stick58
Business
Roanoke VA
Jun 22, 2013

SLIMEY CRUD

Let me see-- where do I start-- We basically lost 2 days of our vacation which was suppose to be fun.. Upon checking in-- 1st of all--It took quite a long time.. After we finally got checked in, we got to our room finally after climbing 9 flights of stairs because only one of the elevators worked in a 3 tower resort.. We asked for a lower room because of the elevators.. They give us a room on the second floor only for us to find out that evening that the air condition did not work.. (good thing we had a fan with us) that helped us survive the night of sweating.. Trying to get some air, we took a tour of the whole place.. SLIMEY!! Looking at the many pools and hot tubs that they had-- most of them was slimy-- green and again-- SLIMEY.. bugs crawling all over the place outside, stinky and crud everywhere.. I was sick to my stomach at this point. No staff on duty to clean at all, and not maintenance to fix the ac.. Needless to say, we packed the car up at 7am and finally got checked out 9am.. Then another day wasted trying to find another resort to stay, which we did, but couldn't check in until 4pm.. So 2 days wasted of a 4 day vacation.. I gave a 1 star for amenities only because they have lots of them, but nothing in even good condition. I'm asking you for a refund of the nights stay at CRR..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crown Reef Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Overall87
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Jun 18, 2013

Understaffed, Rude, and VEry late check in times

I got there at 11am was told I couldn't check in until 4pm. Went to check in at 4pm and there was a line all the way out the door with only 2 staff members there to help everybody. The staff was rude and was in no hurry to get everyone out of there. The hotel is old and not very well maintained. I would not recomend this hotel it is definitely not worth the price. If you can get it for about $70 a night then go for it but other than that find somewhere else in North myrtle beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Boardwalk

Back to menu Return to top